We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing dog friendly find in heart of Sedona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

El Portal is a unique luxury inn with huge rustic rooms with attention to details. Owners Steve and Connie take pride in making your visit memorable. We were able to stay in room 7 with our two daughters and our golden retriever to enjoy a weekend in Sedona with plenty of room to relax and unwind. Our room had a large fireplace, spa like bathroom, and a side patio for our dog to roam. A great find for those who want to take their four legged family member on vacation with them!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Famluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for choosing El Portal for your trip to Sedona! So happy you all enjoyed your stay!! Loved your dog!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 565 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent an evening at El Portal at the early part of Sedona's busy season (Mid-March). We had some knowledge of what we would be in for before we arrived. We had no idea just how unique this charming place is until we pulled in! It's tucked into a quite, but easily accessible slice of Sedona. Near restaurants, galleries, shops and some nice day hikes it feels like a world away from the hustle and bustle. Steve's (The owner of El Portal) staff greeted us and was very kind and accommodating our whole stay. Our restaurant reservations were made for us, within minutes of our arrival. Steve is attentive and very interesting to talk to. One of the things my girlfriend and I do is TALK TO PEOPLE and El Portal is a place where can feel comfortable talking with folks if want to or just keep to yourself. It is pet friendly, so there are doggies around to pet if you want to. The arts and crafts that bestow the space will keep your eyes and mind wondering from place to place. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. We couldn't even finish all of it!

All in all, this is a great place for anyone looking for a special spot to rest your head for a while. It is not a corporate hotel and it doesn't pretend to be that. It is eclectic, casual, clean and that's what my girlfriend and I like. So, it is a place we could see coming back to and recommending to others traveling to Sedona!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for staying at El Portal. And thank you for understanding that it is an eclectic lodging experience, with wonderful treasures, antiques for enjoying. We're so happy you loved your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We recently stayed at el portal for a couple of nights while we were in Sedona. My teens loved this place as did my husband and I. It was so laid back and relaxing, the rooms were enormous by any hotel standards and we have stayed and travelled around the world. The only way to find bigger rooms is to rent a private vacation rental. They treat their guests the ways guests should want to be treated, trusting them with an honor system happy hour, offering free tea and coffee at any time of the day or night, and if anything is wrong, they make it right. While breakfast wasn't included in our room rate, they offer lovely breakfast options for a fee. If you have four legged friends, they are welcome too. The fire in the courtyard in the evening is so pleasant and most of the guests enjoy the ambience. All in all, after staying in 5 different hotels on our trip as we travelled around Arizona, including the Montelucia luxury resort in Scottsdale for 5 days, our family agreed that El Portal was our favorite. I would highly recommend El Portal for anyone wanting to get away from the "norm" of hotels. There just aren't enough places like El Portal in the world! Oh...and by the way....they are typically significantly less expensive than the "resort" hotels in the area that offer standard rooms with lots of additional "resort" fees.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for staying at El Portal Sedona Hotel! We loved having you and your family as "guests!" And you get us - you really get us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This place is incredible. No corporate structure, pet friendly, they trust all of their guess with a honest system on drinks, incredible court yard and the architect of this place is amazing. You will not see anything like this at a corporate franchise hotel chain. The wood beams, the furniture, everything about this place is amazing. Steve & Connie are such wonderful people and no one could ask for better people.

We stay here a lot. The reason why my wife and I come to El Portal is because of the beauty of the Inn, the pet friendly environment, the great company of Steve & Connie and so on.

After reading a review from this lady name Polly905, it makes me upset that someone who clearly does not appreciate beauty and non corporate structor can write such a bad review on such an excellent peaceful wonderful beautiful place. If Polly905 reads this, you owe a huge apology for your lies and its no ones fault that you paid twice as much because you chose to use a 3rd party for booking. Sounds like you have buyer remorse.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We're so happy you chose to stay at El Portal! Thank you for understanding what El Portal truly is - a home away from home - but you don't cook, clean or make beds :) We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

For over a year I have been trying to write a review of El Portal, but I could never write something that I felt did it justice (and really, I tried). Steve, Connie, Terri, Sylvia and even Boomer (their dog) made us feel like we were visiting our favorite aunt and uncle for the week; (that is if our aunt and uncle had a gorgeous property surrounded by red rocks with a huge house that had beautiful rooms and gorgeous gardens where hummingbirds roam, and had impeccable taste in everything, from furniture to art (even the key rings with your room key are beautiful). We were originally booked for 2 nights, but ended up staying 4. We had to switch rooms because ours was booked for the other nights, but we did not mind at all. Each room has its unique charm.

It was such a wonderful experience, that my husband and I are going to Utah next month, and I am working hard trying to squeeze in a 6 hour drive to Sedona just to spend one night at El Portal again.

Its just heavenly. Staying here should be in everyone's bucket list; but if you can't stay (there are only 12 rooms, come and have breakfast. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YaniQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We hope to see you in April! So happy you enjoyed your trip to Sedona and your stay at El Portal!
Thank you for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We traveled to Sedona from Scottsdale having spent three nights at the Marriott Camelback, where we paid about $500 a night for a splendid standard room which included breakfast and was situated on a beautiful property.
We are paying just over $500 for our room here at El Portal. This also does include breakfast.
However -
This is NOT a luxury hotel in any way. It is a very quirky slightly run down bed and breakfast. The grounds are not grounds. There is a small courtyard which is not very well maintained. We saw rusty chairs. It appears to be a 'showplace' for the openers personal antique selection. It is like being in the home of old relatives. The odd item is interesting, but most of it is just someone else's. taste.

The staff gushed about how we would love our room so much. I do not agree. She also was over friendly. If I wanted to feel like family I would stay with family. At $500 a night I expect to be treated like a well paying guest.

So just do your own research. There are obviously lots of people who love this place and they can't all be wrong. If you like to be pampered and experience luxury this is not the place for you either.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Polly905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We're sorry you didn't enjoy our hacienda. You booked through a third party rather than direct, we tried in earnest to get your money back but as they weren't willing to cooperate we did compensate you.
We pride ourselves in NOT being a Marriott, El Portal is a boutique hotel with antique furnishings and many other unique features. We offer an alternative to large resort lodgings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have high standards for our travel, and we love Sedona. So we were thrilled to find El Portal. El Portal is a beautiful, small, friendly, authentic home away from home. It is run by a lovely couple with a small staff. Imagine Yosemite's Ahwahnee Hotel scaled down to 10 lovely (and larger) rooms with larger bathrooms, and you've got a little of a sense of the beauty of the lodge. In the evening, they even burned juniper logs in the courtyard below our room to add a wonderful aroma to the air. Several negative reviews of the lodge were mistakenly posted for the hotel instead of the restaurant, and, since the lodge no longer serves meals other than breakfast, are not relevant. If you want fancy people swishing in and out of the hotel in fancy cars and that kind of scene, this will not be the place for you. If you want a quiet, personable, beautifully designed and decorated lodge with a sense of place (and a friendly dog or two as well), you will love this lodge. We travel on average 60 days or more each year and this is absolutely our favorite inn in the U.S.

Room Tip: The web site shows each room in detail. We were in the Greene and Greene and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HamIAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We love it when our guests "get us!" El Portal Sedona Hotel offers a unique hotel experience - we want to keep it small and personal - that's how we get to know our guests!
We're so happy you chose to stay at El Portal - thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
975 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 49 in Sedona
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Ln, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: $249 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing