We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

After reading the other reviews for El Portal, I don't know what else I could add. Ir's a wonderfully appointed hotel, in the heart of Sedona and it's art/crafts area. Our experience was magical, like the area itself. Can you think of anywhere else you've stayed where you see the owners, Steve and Bonnie, every day and can approach him with questions about the gamut of things that may interest you. Then there's the pet friendly portion. Our Golden, Honey, absolutely loved. In fact after a day she appointed herself as the official greeter of new and old guests. This was our first stay but certainly won't be our last.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We are so happy you chose El Portal! And Honey - what a honey, she was so sweet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 556 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

El Portal was a wonderful stop on our trip out west. It was a fabulous hotel and the perfect hang out for dog lovers. It was beautiful, spacious and the food was great. Steve was a terrific host and we felt so at home there. Our dog was even welcome to enjoy breakfast with us It is our go to spot every time we travel thru Sedona.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and different. We stayed twice in two different rooms and both were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

So glad you had a "perfect trip to Sedona!" And even better you chose to stay at El Portal! See you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

After a business trip in Scottsdale, AZ; my wife, my dog and I stayed at El Portal. It was such a wonderful experience. The owners Steve and Connie, really make you feel at home. It feels like you have the best of a luxury hotel and bed-n-breakfast all rolled in one. They are not only pet friendly, they are pet lovers. When we go back to Sedona, El Portal is where we will stay all the time, if I have anything to say about it.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms in this place, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTotalWellnessGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We hope you have everything to say about it!! Thank you for choosing El Portal on your visit to Sedona! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

In the fall of 2013 my wife and I were married at Steve & Connie's ranch in Oak Creek Canyon. They are the owners of El Portal and were an integral part in planning our wedding. We came across the resort by accident...roaming around Tlaquepaque village. Pure luck!! El Portal is nothing short of amazing, but the part that stands out most to us is how welcomed we felt by the owners and employees. Their knowledge of the area is incredible and they actually listen to you and provide valuable and sincere feedback. The beauty of the area is fantastic and you wont regret planning a retreat here. Just expect on coming back as there is so much to do that you can't fulfill everything in a weekend or even a week!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for making Steve & Connie and El Portal a part of your special celebration! It was beautiful!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is truly in keeping with the magical spirit of Sedona. The highlight of our day in beautiful Red Rock country was coming back to this beautiful spot. We stayed in the Juniper room which is an experience unto itself with its authentic Adobe style architecture and exposed Juniper beam ceilings. The gas fire was crackling away all night and the double shower heads made for a truly incredible shower as well!! The staff treats you like family while you are there and it is more like staying as a guest in someone's home than being in a hotel. Light snacks are served in the afternoon and there is an honor bar with beer and wine in the beautiful, homey great room. A fire crackles away in the great room, as well as a juniper fire lit in the courtyard in the evenings. The location adjacent to Tlaquerape shops and galleries as well as restaurants like The Secret Garden, Oak Creek Brewery, and Rene is convenient for an afternoon stroll. The Inn also provides passes to the resort next store, at which a gym and spa are available at no extra charge to El Portal guests. Uptown Sedona is a short stroll and incredible views are no shortage. Hotel staff is very helpful with finding local hikes and making arrangements for day trips. Go, you will love it!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very unique and authentic with a Southwest vibe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

THANK YOU!!! We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel and your stay in Sedona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I and our two dogs decided to make a weekend getaway to Sedona and we were lucky to find this hidden dog friendly gem in the middle of town. We were planning to stay one night but when we arrived and were greeted so warmly by the owner and the staff we decided to stay another night.

Our room, upstairs, was number 9 'The Rim View Room. The room is very spacious with lots of comfortable seating, a couple of cozy chairs and a nice sofa to hang out on and enjoy the views. The bed was nice and we enjoy some very quiet and relaxing resting there. The bathroom has a nice shower and a great Jacuzzi tub. All of this is located in a room made from stone, earth and reclaimed lumber salvaged from a bridge that once spanned the Great Salt Lake in Utah.

We enjoy the great breakfasts each morning in the dining room downstairs and at night it was great to sit out in the court yard by the roaring fire.

The hotel is right next to the interesting Mexican style shopping center called Tlaquepaque which is filled with great galleries to shop in and a few nice restaurants.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are great for the nice views. Our Rim View (#9) was very private and yet had gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rancher_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay at El Portal! The views are amazing aren't they? Sedona has some of the most breath-taking scenery!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife Lauren and I had the pleasure to stay at El Portal last fall. The hotel staff was outstanding and took care of all of our needs. A small property with only 12 rooms it's more like staying at a luxury guest house than an actual hotel. On top of all that the property is extremely pet friendly and even gave us a basket with a blanket to use and treats for our dog. The overall ambiance was quite romantic and relaxing. A++

Room Tip: Ask if they have any patio rooms if you are traveling with your pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheConstantRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing El Portal on your trip to Sedona last fall! We hope you stay with us on your next visit. Thank you for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
952 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Lane, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: $304 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing