We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place Not to Miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleighr
1 review
“A Place Not to Miss”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I are seasoned travelers and have a great respect for proprietors that go the extra mile for those that have chosen to stay at their property. There are plenty of other hotels in Sedona and we keep coming back to visit with Steve and Connie. We have never had better experiences than those we have had at El Portal Sedona. We visit Sedona twice per year for four to five days each trip and stay with Steve and Connie each time. It is such a comfortable, relaxing and educational experience each time. Don't make the mistake of missing El Portal. You will not forget the experience. Before you leave you will be talking about how fortunate you were to have chosen this great hotel and trying to figure out how and when you can get back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We always enjoy your visits, and appreciate the loyalty. Can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    45
    24
    18
    4
See reviews for
113
290
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall a great stay. Only issue is for the price I really don't feel paying for coffee on an honors system and also breakfast is appropriate. We are seasoned travelers and being nickeled and dimed when one is charged over $300 a night is a bit silly. Otherwise very pleased with our stay but given the choices in Sedona likely will not return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azpabarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We're sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. Coffee is only charged when had with breakfast, and refills are of course free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Each of the 12 rooms are unique and fabulous. The property is walking distance to several restaurants. The breakfasts offered each morning were excellent. This property is pet friendly and the owners were very hospitable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharmon24fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We would love to have you stay with us again! Wonderful that you loved the breakfasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wow!!!
This is all I can say. If you want to stay in an authentic, warm, cozy, outstanding boutique Arizona hotel walking distance to all amenities and fantastic shopping this is the place to stay. This hotel is a gem. The main great room is beautiful and cozy (wood beams and stone fireplace). The bedrooms (we stayed in room 12 and then in room 3) are quaint decorated with high end original arizona/mexican decor (the reason we switched rooms is because we decided to book another night last minute and couldn't get the same room). We decided to go on a day trip to Grand Canyon and Steve moved our luggage to the new room for us due to the fact that we were leaving very early in the morning. In fact we realized that we had left a Corona beer in the fridge in the old room and wondered if they would move that over for us also......he did. Every night they would make a fire in the courtyard for the guests. What a wonderful way to end the day sitting around the fire with friends having a glass of wine and meeting new friends from other parts of the world. They also had free DVD's you could borrow. This place was so cozy that when I crept down to the main great room in my barefeet and pyjama bottoms to get a coffee at 5am in the morning I felt like I was at home.
If you want to stay in a place where you feel welcome, comfortable yet pampered I recommend El Portal. I look forward to going back there time and time again.
Thanks Steve for a wonderful, memorable time.Please don't change a thing to your hotel. You have achieved what you set out to achieve.

Gianna & Gary Loader

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runningwolf43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
So happy you could stay a second night! Sorry for the moving, but it seemed to work out well. Thank you so much for your warm remarks, we love it when our guests feel so welcome, that's what we want you to do...be at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This gem place is incredible. If you are looking for a wonderful peaceful non corporate stuck up attitude place, you have found the perfect place. This place is just like home. Warm, extremely friendly and best of all, pet friendly. This place is tucked away in the heart of beautiful Sedona.

If you see a negative review from someone on this place, it would only be because they did not like the homeyness and open trust that this place believes in.

Room Tip: Rooms are excellent. Every room is designed differently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for the great comments, we appreciate our guests! And we love their pets! Our location is the best isn't it? Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

When making reservation months in advance we were told that the Inn was so booked that they had 30 day cancellation period or we loose the entire amount paid in advance for our 2 night stay. That should have been our first clue! During our 2 day stay, the Inn was nowhere near full, even tho we were told this was their high season! When we arrived there was no one to assist with luggage & not even a luggage cart! Our Rim View room was far from luxury! Pillows were flat, towels were worn to the threads! There was a chair in the room that was so disgusting we couldn't sit on it. Nothing at this Inn is complimentary! As seasoned travelers we know most high end hotels/inns provide something that says "thanks for staying here" as a special touch! The only thing we received that we didn't have to pay for was the hair found in our breakfast! The owner did not seem to care that we had this horrible experience & offered nothing to express his concern. Needless to say we did not eat there the next morning! Based on our experience & the fact that there are so many other choices in the area we will not be staying at the El Portal on our next visit to Sonoma!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoolCastles60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are sorry your stay was not up to your expectations; if we had known there was a hair in your food we would have addressed it. Our cancellation policy is 15 days, not 30. We have over 50 pillows from soft to extra firm, just let us know your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nothing corporate or bland about this jewel. While you don't get any views here, there is a palpable feeling of warmth and welcome throught the place. The owners clearly poured immense amounts of time and money into making the facility special. It shows in the no-two-rooms-alike layout, the massive wooden beams throughout, the lovely interior courtyard with firepit and grape arbor, and many other details. Breakfasts in the dining room are a cut above ordinary - forget the diet but try the El Portal omelet. A very happy place.

Room Tip: We four stayed in the big suite, perhaps called the "Governor's". Wonderful!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pax G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with El Portal Sedona Hotel. We love it when our guests "get" us - the details, and differences. Thank you!
(Oh and the El Portal Omelet, delicious wasn't it?)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Property: El Portal Sedona Hotel
Address: 95 Portal Lane, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing