We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went to Sedona last week for our 25th anniversary for 3 nights with our 2 dogs& found this dog friendly Luxury Inn online . I viewed their reviews online and rooms and found that their rooms are bigger that the hotel rooms. Check in and check out was a breeze , the rooms are big and wonderful . We feel like a guest in nice big house. Steve the owner book an adventure trip for us and the dog stayed in our room for 2 hours free dog sitting which is a plus, it's next door to Tlaquepaque with nice small shops and restaurants . At night you can't barely hear a sound even our dogs that hears every sound sleep like a baby. Overall our experience was excellent I don't have anything to complain about. I will go back and stay if we go back to Sedona.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marylou a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing El Portal Sedona to celebrate your 25th Anniversary! We hope it was all a dream come true. Thank you for your comments, they mean so much to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for El Portal Sedona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 555 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very dog friendly place. Glad we found it. Loved the room with attached doggy area. We didn't get a doggie treat basket or know about the free dog sitting. Found out they had breakfast there the 2nd day of our stay. Wished we had booked a jeep trip with them but didn't know about that either. Overall a very good experience. We will come back now that we know what is offered.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellofrommesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

So sorry you missed breakfast the first day, and a jeep jeep tour - they are FUN! Next time you come, talk to Steve and he will help with day trips, planning and pet sitting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

So glad we found this spot. We were there at the end of July and brought our very large Mastif with us. It was so nice to be so welcomed with our dog. The location is central right next to tlaquepaque. Some short dirt paths for walking dogs. Owner is kind enough to watch your dog if you want to go out for a few hours. Setting is quaint and charming. Breakfast Heuvos Rancheros are delicious, fantastic Salsa, home made. Thanks for a wonderful experience and for recommending Buddha beach :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

So glad you found us, and had a dog! Happy to be of help with dog sitting and recommendations! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We did a last minute trip to Sedona and wanted to take our small dog. Looking online I found EL Portal. We have been to Tlaquepaque a zillion times and never realized this quaint B&B was right next door. Easiest check-in ever. The innkeeper was walking down the stairs with a praying mantis on her hand. She gave us a packet with all dog-friendly restaurants and hikes to do. Loved the Ken's Creekside recommendation and The Secret Garden. We will definitely be back again. Loved the fact we could walk to so many places and the weather was amazing! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: We had our 2 kids and dog so we needed 2 beds or at least a bed and pullout sofa. We stayed in room...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

We're so glad you could make the trip up to Sedona with the whole family! The location can't be beat can it? Thank you for staying with us - hope to see you back at El Portal Sedona Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I were married here 10 years ago and this past weekend celebrated our 10th anniversary there. In the 10 years since or marriage El Portal has seen a maturation of its grounds, particularly its vegetation, and this makes the grounds more charming than ever. A word of warning to those that might not be dog lovers.... this is likely the nicest pet friendly lodging establishment in the country. Be prepared for the occasional early morning bark and or to cross paths with a variety of breeds accompanying the guests. Steve and Connie are gracious hosts and ready to do what ever it takes to make your stay more enjoyable. Our only complaint is that the breakfast (not included in the price of the room and a bit pricey for what you get) isn't what it once was... but then again neither are we. You will not find a more charming and intimate place to share a relaxing and romantic time, especially if you are a dog lover like we are.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3 if you are a light sleeper as you can hear steps from over head at night or early AM.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liftman1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for celebrating your 10th Anniversary with us - where you were married! We are honored you chose El Portal for both occasions. We just celebrated our 10th too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Sometimes the best places are right under our noses...I certainly didn't need a place to sleep so wasn't going to stay at El Portal BUT I didn't realize that one could eat here as long as the guests hadn't taken all the space. My friend and I had THE most wonderful brunch here and I will certainly remember this for the future when I want a great 'restaurant' with beautiful surroundings and fabulous food. My breakfast burrito was extraordinary because of a superb mole sauce and the rest of the menu looked equally delicious so I will have to go back to try the rest!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lili1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

El Portal's breakfasts are definitely a "find" with fresh ingredients, beautiful surroundings, and wonderful people. So glad you enjoyed your meal! Please do come back and try the El Portal Omelet - it is a favorite of many!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our first stay in Arizona. Steve was very helpful in making our reservation. Check-in was the easiest I have ever experienced. We were greeted with a welcome basket for our dogs, a kit with restaurant recommendations, things to do, et cetera. Gave us the most beautiful route to take on our day trip to the Grand Canyon. Breakfasts are phenomenal. It is an incredible place that everyone should experience.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room ... go to the El Portal Web site, you can view pictures of each of the di...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james2271269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

So happy you could stay with us on your first trip to Arizona! We love dogs and were excited to have yours. Hope to see you on your next trip to Sedona. Thank you for choosing El Portal Sedona Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
938 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Lane, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: $287 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing