We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, centrally located, peaceful, friendly....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at El Portal for our anniversary (with our 3 month old baby) mid May.

Top aspects about El Portal:
- Rooms are amazing! We stayed in room 11, but were able to view a few of the others. All of them were unique and decorated in an amazing way (old indian rugs, decorative furniture, unique art, interesting vaulted ceilings, etc). Our room had an awesome balcony area overlooking the courtyard area. very quiet, peaceful, and relaxing.
- LOCATION! located right in the Tlaquepaque Village it is within walking distance to those shops and places to eat. Even the shops in the main part of town are within a short walk.
- Snacks are set out by the staff in the evening (chips, cheese, salsa, tortillas, etc)
- Large DVD movie selection on a hallway book case upstairs for viewing in your room.
- Beautiful courtyard with tables/chairs, nightly fire pit, vines and flowers
- Friendly staff.
- small bed and breakfast feel
- We didn't have a dog, but the El Portal is very dog friendly

Cons:
- no pool or hot tub (if that is what you're looking for)
- service with breakfast could have been a little better, but the food was tasty. We were in no hurry so it didn't bother us.

Room Tip: We loved room 11 which was large and has a balcony overlooking the courtyard which was very nice! w...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for celebrating you anniversary with us! We hope you had a wonderful time in Sedona. We think our location is perfect too - just steps from Tlaquepaque and all it has to offer! We hope you come back and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for El Portal Sedona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 555 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at El Portal May 7-9th and loved the place. They designed and built a real Classic in our view. We had our two dogs with us and it was a perfect situation for us and the pups. They obviously love pets and the owners were involved in the Pet Industry for many years before building El Portal and moving permanently to Sedona. It was our first trip to Sedona and we fell in love with the place and El Portal. The location really couldn't be better. No real views of the red rock areas but that didn't detract from the experience in our view. Our room was very comfortable and very well appointed. The only "Cons" I can come up with is that breakfast was just OK and we thought a bit overpriced. Next visit we would probably choose to go elsewhere for breakfast. Would be nice if a limited breakfast was included in the price. Also, given the price of the rooms, I thought charging for coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc. in the Great Room area was unnecessary and creates a real "nickel and dime me to death" feel. Would suggest increasing the room prices a few bucks a day and making those items complimentary which they normally are at most high end establishments. But, all in all, we loved it and hope to return soon for another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you - we appreciate your ideas and review! We enjoyed the pups too, and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had 3 of the beautiful rooms; each decorated so uniquely and well appointed. All the normal amenties were at the hotel, as well as, cocktail snacks and the 24 hour keurig coffee maker and cookie jar with the excellent ranger cookies--my brother's favorite.
Another feature that we all enjoyed immensely was the fire pit in the middle of the courtyard burining every evening with a wonderfully fragrant juniper wood.
We found the owners and staff very friendly and customer focused. The breakfast was very good (omelets, cowboy potatoes, french toast, pancakes) and all seasoned so well.
The grounds are simply stunning with blooming flowers and bushes everywhere and all well kept. The hotel is located in an artsy part of Sedona with great restaurants within walking distance. Our 10 day trip covering the lengh of AZ lasted 10 days and El Portal was the highlight of the trip. It just felt like being home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadimartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy everyone enjoyed their trip to Sedona and through Arizona. Glad you enjoyed the little touches too. Please come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel grounds, room, and location were exactly as described with a luxurious feel, southwest charm, period detail and superb location. I traveled with my dog who was very welcomed and comfortable during our stay.

In contrast to the setting, the service was extremely lacking. At breakfast, after waiting 15 minutes after being seated, I flagged down the server who had seated us to place an order. The omelet arrived looking like a scramble but was very flavorful. Toast was not with order and I was asked what I would like, "tortillas or toast" when the omelet arrived even though I had placed an order for toast at the onset. The restaurant was not busy, but by the time the toast arrived, it was cold and I was nearly finished with my meal.

Again, we waited 10 minutues for the check. When it was obvious the server was nowhere in sight, (she never checked on us/or how the meal was) I got up and went over to the owner to ask for a check. I received the check but was charged for coffee that I did not order. Though the lemon pancakes looked like a great choice for the next day, my dog and I went to other local eateries within walking distance where we received great table service, warm dog welcome and delicious food the following two days.

Service was lacking regarding the room cleaning as well. At check in, another dog's "business" was in the outside room trash can, so it appeared as if the can was not emptied with each guest's checkout. The outdoor bistro set for this room was very dirty. I scrubbed the tile grime clean myself before using it.

On the first night, I spilled powder on the bathroom floor. The next day when returning to our room, it was obvious the floors had not been completely cleaned as the powder was still on the floor along with dog hair and cottonwood tree debris.

On the second day, we left for breakfast and were assured the room would be cleaned promptly. Returning at noon, the room was not touched. We left again to return at 2:00 pm. Again the room was not serviced. I went to the front desk to request that the room be made up. The woman at the desk informed me that "they have many, many rooms to clean." (They have a total of 12 rooms and they were not all occupied the previous night). She further stated rooms are cleaned from 11:00 am to 1:00 pm and then again from 2:00 to 4:00 pm after the staff return from lunch.

I gently let her know that I had previously requested to have the room cleaned while we were out. She then made an effort to send two cleaning staff persons to make the room up. They arrived with windex and towels but without a cleaning cart, broom or vacuum.

While there, they spoke Spanish to each other (which I felt was rude in my presence). When I pointed out the need for vacuuming. A vacuum was brought down and a very minor section of the room was vacuumed.

On the last morning, housekeeping knocked at the door an hour before checkout to clean the room. This was sorely disappointing and I asked them to return after checkout.

When checking out, no staff persons were at the desk or in the Great Room. While this does speak to the informal relaxing atmosphere and honor system among guests, I was not able to express my staff concerns.

We left the key on the desk and departed. Not sure I would stay here again due to the service. However, the location, dog friendliness aspect and rooms are exceptional.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAM584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We're sorry for forgetting your toast, and generally people like to have the bill on their room account, this lets people sit and relax for as long as they would like to. We do offer room service as well, so even though the breakfast room may not be busy, we are serving breakfast to our guests who have requested it in their rooms.
We do apologize for the inconvenience of the room cleaning. We clean the rooms from 11am-3pm, and we do do our best to satisfy our guests. With cottonwood season if full "bloom" it does take extra time to get everything done.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a marvelous stay! Beautiful room, good breakfast and my companion, Sofi (a canine) thought she was the cats pajamas, being able to stay with me AND to be allowed in the Great Room at breakfast. It was a wonderful experience! The accomadations are wonderful! I will be back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

So happy you enjoyed your stay & we loved having Sofi! Will be looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

First I want to say that this review is about El Portal Restaurant only.....not the hotel. Which seemed to have very lovely grounds and content guests!
My husband and I went to breakfast at El Portal. The restaurant had a rustic southwest beauty to it. The service was not good though. The restaurant was not busy but it took over 15 minutes for the waitress to come and take our order. You do need to go and get your own coffee which was no problem. However, we ( and several other guests) had to wait 10 - 15 minutes for the carafes to be refilled. My husband's breakfast burrito was tasty. My El Portal omelet looked more like a scramble but tasted ok. However, they forgot to put on the chipotle sauce and I had to ask for that. We once again waited for our bill to arrive at our table. The waitresses just didn't make us feel that we would want or need to eat there again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

We apologize for the delays. The demand for breakfast and coffee, isn't just in the restaurant, we offer room service to our guests as well. So it may have appeared that we weren't busy in the breakfast room, but we were busy with our room service guests. We do appreciate your input!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The best place to stay in Sedona, with or without your pet - by far!
My husband and I and our little corgi travel from PA to San Diego every year. We stop in Sedona on the way out and on our way home. We have always stayed at a well known resort and hotel. It has always been a great stay and quite dog friendly. We have never made reservations and have always been able to secure a room. Not so lucky this year. Or maybe it WAS lucky - because we stumbled upon El Portal. We were on our way home and only wanted to stay 3 nights. We ended up staying 7!
I fell in love with the rustic room we had...
The pet policy goes far beyond other hotels: no extra fees, no signing papers that say you can't leave your pet, or that it must be crated, or telling you your beloved can't snuggle up with you in bed...no, they actually give you a sheet and a little soft blanket to put on top of your bed so that your pup will be comfortable too. Also each room has a place for your dog to "go" that is convenient for both of you. You can tell the owners love dogs too. If you are lucky, you will meet the owners' sweet little Basset Hound.
Because we stayed longer than we first expected to, we had to be moved to a different room on 3 occasions. ( Each room is so unique that repeat customers often call and request a specific room) Since I am a "nester", I thought I would be irritated, but...The owner and staff made it seamless so we kept extending out stay. And I'm glad. We got to experience 4 different rooms. All the rooms were beautiful and felt cozy and actually gave me decorating and remodeling ideas!
Okay. On to the owner. Steve. He really makes it a plus. There is nothing like having the owner around, making sure everything is running smooth, telling you stories, suggesting place to see and eat at, giving directions to places in Sedona, helping the staff, trimming the vines, and relaxing with you when he can. We even over heard a "Bridezilla" flipping out the evening before her special day and Steve patiently and calmly smoothed out the situation. You can tell, and he will admit, that he loves his job! His wife Connie is also a shining star at El Portal. Her presence was also welcoming and helpful as was the entire staff. We were grateful for the familiar smiling faces everyday.
I feel sorry for anyone who writes a bad review and I say this, sometimes things just happen. Go back again. El Portal is a little piece of heaven in Sedona.
We will NEVER go anywhere else!!!!!!
And I forgot to mention the cookies. Everyday at 4:00, the staff sets out snacks. Chips and salsa, deviled eggs, veggies, olives and wonderful cookies. I think I gained 5 pounds. They also have an honor system where you can grab a beer or wine from the refrigerator.
Well, hope you stay at El Portal soon. It is a must in Sedona.

Room Tip: I loved room # 8 the best because it was more rustic. My husband loved # 11 because it was on the s...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanZ439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Once in awhile people will stay long enough to really get to know them. These guests from Pennsylvania were a great couple and we will miss them - we loved Henry too! Sorry about all the moving, but thank you for understanding! Come visit us anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
937 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Lane, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: $288 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing