We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The host with the most”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
“The host with the most”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

A classy cozy home base for all your Sedona activities. Secluded yet central next to some of the best shopping and dinning. Owner's Steve & Connie are hands with arranging any activities and making sure your Sedona retreat fulfills your expectations. You will enjoy the rooms, art, birds, flowers and other wonderful details.
Scott C.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at El Portal. The owners, Steve and Connie, and staff love to help guests plan activities for the Sedona area, from hiking trails to jeep tours to Grand Canyon day trips! Glad you enjoyed your trip to Sedona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    45
    24
    18
    4
See reviews for
112
287
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, AZ
Level Contributor
429 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The location is very good, if you want to park and forget about your car for going out for dinner. Talaquapaque is right there. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The property is charming -- the gardens and the decorating show careful detail. Leashed dogs are welcome, and our room had a little area outside for our dog. We also were provided with a basket with cookies for her, plastic bags, and a blanket for her to sleep on. Our room was very pretty, the whirlpool tub and fireplace were great. However, I think that was the hardest mattress I ever, ever slept on. Also, I think at the price we paid, breakfast should have been included.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotsagoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing El Portal for your trip to Sedona! We welcome your comments and will take them into consideration! Glad your four legged friend enjoyed the trip as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived tired and still jet lagged from our flight from London after a long drive from Las Vegas through snow and temperatures of 6 below. The warmth of the welcomeand hospitality of this stunning little hotel soon made us feel relaxed in a truly home from home atmosphere. Our room ( Greene & Greene) was extremely comfortable, spacious and with a marvellous bathroom. Its balcony looked out onto the red rocks where the sun rose in the morning.

Nothing was too much trouble for Connie & Steve the owners with their excellent staff. Steve even ran me to the car rental company and back when I asked for a taxi to collect and return my hire car. This was as well as giving detailed advice about the area attractions, walks and hikes, and how to get there.

The hotel was designed , built and fitted out by Connie and Steve in meticulous detail to create a very different and completely opposite experience to the standard corporate hotels we have to endure. The comfort, relaxation and needs of the guests are paramount in a very personal and friendly way .

Together with the charm and stunning beauty of the Sedona area we are totally hooked and will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffD130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your time in Sedona and at El Portal. Thank you for understanding El Portal offers a completely unique lodging experience. Glad to have been of assistance with the rental car, walks, hiking trails... We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at El Portal March 13-15, 2013, and had a wonderful time. We were warmly greeted and escorted to our charming, spacious, well-decorated room. We were traveling with our dog, and El Portal is very dog friendly. Your dog can go with you anywhere in the hotel as long as it's on a leash. Steve and Connie are very laid-back and relaxed and accommodating. The location of the hotel is excellent - right behind Tlaquepaque and within easy walking distance of other shops. Steve was quick to help us with places we might go and hike with the dog. At night, they have a fire in the courtyard where you can sit and watch the sunset on the mountains and enjoy the night air. Breakfast was very good - the portions are very generous. We had an excellent time and will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - each one decorated a little differently. The El Portal website provides an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
So glad you had a wonderful time at El Portal Sedona Hotel, and that you brought your dog.
We love to help our guests with planning what to do when they are in Sedona - there is so much to do and see. Happy to have been able to help with hiking trails. Hope to see you all soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I were here last week and we are so anxious to get back next March!

The owners, Steve and Connie are very accomodating and you can tell this place is their passion! They have thought of every possible detail including the doorknobs!!!

We stayed in the Hickory Room that had a private patio, fireplace, and jacuzzi!!!

They provide their guests with wine and horderves around 4p.m. every evening and they also have a small fridge in the lobby with sodas, water, coffee that you are free to use.
Breakfast begins the next morning at 8 a.m. and there are two sisters who make up the breakfast staff. One does the cooking and the other sister is taking food orders and tending to the guests. Incredibly friendly ladies! ***Be generous and consider a tip ---these gals are the same gals that provide your clean rooms!

There is a very nice gentleman who knows every inch of red rock country and can give you great ideas on where to hike.

In the evenings, you can sit around a fir pit in the middle of the courtyard and take in the fresh air while the dogs relax by your side.
Or you can walk to the shops at the Mexican village next door.

There is a huge luxury resort right next door and we had NO desire to even venture over there!! We had all the romance, coziness, and solitude in our hacienda that we could ever ask for!

Thank you Steve and Connie for a fabulous experience!! We WILL be back next March!!

Daniel and Maria

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Maria, thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate that you noticed the details! Enjoyed the fire pit and "happy hour." So glad you felt well taken care of and had "all the romance, coziness, and solitude in our hacienda that we could ever ask for!" Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa canada
Level Contributor
374 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We found this hotel on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. We got in late the first night and were greeted by a very nice lady. Showed us around the property, up to the room, all of the features and amenities. The place is truly beautiful. Old fashion furniture, large rooms with a view, probably the best shower sauna and whirlpool tub I have ever seen. Could not ask for anything else.
We did have an issue with breakfast. The service was very slow, and they were not busy. We read the reviews for the pancakes and were looking forward to them for a few days. When we got them, they were raw on the inside. I honestly never complain, and maybe have sent one meal back my whole life, and I travel 90%. These were not edible. My son was the same. We called the waiter over and explained what we found. She tried to tell us this is the way they were cooked because they were from scratch. She took both back and brought us menus for something else. The lady at the next table also returned hers for the same reason. They had a dispute where they still charged her for the pancakes because she ate the bananas. The waiter allowed us to order something else, but explained the chef yelled at her for accepting them back. The owner was in the room and visibly mad also. I asked for more water and he poured it so fast it over flowed the glass then he walked away. The waiter brought the check and she had been crying. I really don't understand the attitude, it is pancakes and raw is raw. It is like the chef and the owner were pissed off at us.
Really too bad, the rest of the stay was great, but small things really show the over all attitude of a place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are so sorry that your pancakes weren't cooked through. Steve, the owner was upset the waitress tried to pass them off as being done right. The lady beside you was not charged for her pancakes, just for the other meal. The pancakes are tricky, but that is no excuse for them being mushy. Our apologies, and we hope the rest of your stay more than made up for your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Unexpected value. We had a great very private room with a stone gas fireplace, a great bed, and huge bathroom with walk in shower and a two person jacuzzi tub. A community fire pit with blankets for everyone was a nice touch. Wonderfull breakfast the next morning. We would highly reccomend this place!

Room Tip: We had room number 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are happy you had a good time at El Portal! Room 6 is the Hile Room with furnishings created by artist and renowned furniture designer Warren Hile.
Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Property: El Portal Sedona Hotel
Address: 95 Portal Lane, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing