We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Good location, well thought out design combining old construction techniques with modern conveniences. The suite was very spacious and well worth the minor upcharge over the standard rooms; the bathroom had a jacuzzi type tub and a separate steam shower, which was a nice touch as were the bathrobes featuring native motifs. Antiquey furnishings added to the overall impression of staying in a hacienda belonging to a wealthy relative. The a la carte breakfast can add up if one orders various sides and juices, but just the basic will run $10-12. There are free snacks in the evening and wine by the glass on an honor system. The staff was very accommodating and had excellent suggestions as to where to go and how to bypass the crowds. Had not planned on going to Sunset Crater on the way to Grand Canyon, but they were right, it was unreal and not to be missed.

Room Tip: Room 12 is a very spacious suite featuring a large (gas) fireplace in a great room setting with a fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1992redzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for staying with us for your trip to Sedona! Glad you could make it to Sunset Crater!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 563 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay at the hotel. There is a restaurant attached of which I could find no reviews. We had breakfast there. The atmosphere was Quaint and the service was very good. The breakfast we had was excellent. I believe the only meal served there is breakfast. I did think it was a little pricey for breakfast $30. For two with the normal bacon and eggs and a omelet.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Yes, only breakfast is served. We use only the freshest ingredients - eggs, herbs, fruit...please visit us again. Here is a "taste" of our omelet;
El Portal Omelet
A Favorite of All Who Love Brie.
Three Fresh Eggs Blended With Herbs, Fresh Tomato and Apple wood Smoked Bacon and
Then Filled With Double Cream French Brie and Raspberry Chipotle Sauce.
Served With Oven Roasted New Potatoes and Your Choice Of Toast $12

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A home away from home! Heart-warming & charming hacienda!
We instantly fell in love with this inn. We stayed at Flat Rock Hickory for 2 nites and Arts & Crafts for 1 nite. Every room is very unique. Our puppy, Joni Mitchell, also had a fun time and enjoyed the luxury of having her own private backyard. We recently got married in San Francisco City Hall on Sept 4, 2012. Afterwards, we drove straight to Sedona for a short honeymoon.
It was hot & humid during our stay. So we didn't mind staying in our rooms, watching old movies or hanging out on their patio. Steve & Connie also have a collection of movies that guests can borrow.
Staying here made feel like we were visiting our relatives. Thank you Steve & Connie for providing us such a housewarming place to stay. We will definitely come back again, perhaps later in the year like November to see the Autumn leaves.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dafilpsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We take out the hand made rugs and pillows when we have four legged guests in the room...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

El Portal was a lovely experience for our weekend getaway. The ambiance is very retreat-like while being close to shops, restaurants and hiking. I would not categorize it as a "luxury" accommodation. The price was luxurious but the rooms not so. Our private pet patio had dog poop from a previous guest and the patio seating was too dirty to utilize. A lot more needs to be invested in the mattress and bed linens to match a luxury rating. The room was fairly inviting but lacked attention to detail. A couple of throw rugs and two reading/easy chairs would have been nice against the cold tile floor and to sit around the fireplace. Our breakfast was good but not 5 star. All in all, El Portal needs to sharpen its image to justify the luxury rating and $260 night rate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patty a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your suggestions and comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights at El Portal in the end of December. Found it a very special place -- very thoughtfully furnished and equipped. Enjoyed delicious Southwestern breakfasts as well as cookies, tea/coffee, wine & beer available outside of mealtime. Owners were helpful and informative. Exceeded expectations!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We loved your visit and look forward to next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at El Portal for a company event, and it was by far one of the best places that I have ever stayed. Steve and Connie made both me and my group feel like we were family, and my room was absolutely incredible. Steve's knowledge of the area, its history, and the stories that go with it is unbelievable. Steve designed every aspect of El Portal (and he can tell you about everything!) and the attention to detail he put in every aspect is simply incredible. Meals are outstanding, the service is friendly, and drinks by the fire pit at night are out of this world. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Sedona. Thanks for a once in a lifetime trip, Steve and Connie!

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean7326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for choosing El Portal Sedona for your company event. We appreciate your thoughts on the hotel, and your experience! Hope you have a safe and happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great winter getaway. This is the 4th time we've visited the hotel and it perfect for a comfortable, quiet and romantic getaway. Fireplaces in every room, courtyard with firepit, wine, ...... you get the message.

Only slight negative are the beds are starting to get older and could be replaced. I brought it up to the owner, Steve and he'd looking into the recommendation.

You can't go wrong and Sedona is just spectacular.

Room Tip: I prefer any of the up-stairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for your loyalty! We are so happy you stay with us! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
971 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Ln, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: $255 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing