We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated Like Royalty (dogs included!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Treated Like Royalty (dogs included!)”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Arriving for the first time to Sedona after a long drive from Colorado, it was really nice to spread out and relax for a few days. We felt welcomed from the moment we walked into the court yard. The dogs even had a treat waiting for them in the room, biscuits and a blanket to throw on the bed or floor. Very helpful to have when you have a wet and sandy dog. The management was very wonderful in putting us into a different room for a few nights without any extra charge when one member of our party wanted to a bath instead of a shower. That room made all the difference in our winter stay in Sedona as we ended up more in doors than outdoors due to the rainy, snowy conditions. I would be repeating more of the same based upon the other reviews in the excellent category from other visitors. If you have a dog or not, you will be treated like royalty at El Portal.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, some of the rooms have the nice feature of having an enclosed outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for visiting El Portal, maybe next time you can see more of the area! Loved your dogs! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    45
    24
    18
    4
See reviews for
112
287
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We loved loved loved loved this place! It is so cute and in a perfect location! You can walk to shopping and restaurants. The owners were so nice! We had our dog with us and he was allowed to have breakfast with us. We stayed in the Hile room - which was absolutely fantastic. We had a beautiful fireplace and the bathroom was to die for. This room is very secluded and had a private yard area that was fenced in for the dog! We will def be back! The breakfast was amazing as well! We loved Sedona and loved El Portal!

Room Tip: #6 the Hile Room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siena7209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We loved having you and your dog stay with us! Glad to hear you'll be back! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Special always starts with people. The efforts made to meet our special requests were as if we were family. The facility itself is centrally located (actually hidden) close to the center of everything. It is older, and more wonderful for it. The lobby is both majestic and warm. The fact that it is puppy friendly makes it even homier. Our room (#5) was magical. The restaurant was very adequate with friendly after hours provisions. Overall, they made us feel warm and wanted from arrival to departure.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing El Portal Sedona Hotel for your Sedona stay! We are happy you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We decided to escape to Sedona for Thanksgiving. The Owners (Steve and Connie) did a fabulous job of making us feel at home. This place is a hidden gem that can’t be beat. If you are looking for a cozy, relaxing and comfortable place to stay, El Portal can’t be beat! The facility is beautiful, rooms are spacious and the owners and staff were exceptional. We met some wonderful folks at the evening fire pit.

My wife stayed at El Portal with friends earlier in the year, but this was my first time there. We will both be back the next time we visit Sedona.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-Chrisann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and spending your Thanksgiving with us in Sedona! Glad to hear you'll be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My stay at El Portal in Sedona Az was exceptional .The accomodations were comfortable ,clean ,and quite impressive .Custom built mountain lodge ,heavy timber and stone construction.Well appointed with southwestern art and furnishings.The owner Steve is a great guy .He made us feel right at home .The staff catered to our every need. Very friendly and efficient .There were a good variety of shops ,(some owned by local artisans), food and drink located within a one minute walk from the hotel .Live music by local musicians .Every evening,we enjoyed cocktails by an outdoor fire in a vine covered private court yard .Coffee ,tea , beer and wine were available 24/7 .Very comfortable and quiet throughout the night. I highly recommend this hotel if your destination is Sedona .
You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Thet are all good .I saw 4 .Stayed in 2 .Everyone we talked to ,said good things
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review! Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is our 4th visit to this fabulous 12-room inn. We keep coming back because it feels like home. Steve and Connie, the awesome owners, as well as the staff (Terri, Fran, Esperanza, More and Sylvia), treat us like family and provide the utmost in service. You couldn't ask for better people. The inn has 12 rooms and each one is decorated differently. We stayed in Room 9 - The Rim Room. This room is upstairs and is very spacious with nice views from the L-shaped windows. The distinctly crafted wood furniture provides a pleasant ambiance. After a hard day of hiking, it's nice to come back to a cozy room where you can relax and recuperate. We took a soothing jacuzzi bath after climbing to the top of Cathedral Rock and found this to be a much-needed treat. You will also sleep most soundly in the comfortable king bed.

El Portal is most conveniently located in the Historic Arts District, where there are many shops, museums and restaurants, including the Tlaquepaque shopping plaza, which is a short walking distance from the inn. Two other districts are close by: Uptown - which is just a 3-min drive away, where there are a myriad of shops and restaurants, and West Sedona - which is a 3-min. drive in the other direction, where you'll also find many restaurants, markets and shops, as well as great places to hike.

On the food front, El Portal delivers. You can partake of delicious breakfasts consisting of huevos rancheros, lemon pancakes, breakfast burritos, cinnamon French toast and more in the beautiful great room. You will see many canines around and every one of them is well behaved. In the late afternoon, you’ll find quesadillas, chips, salsa, fruit and cookies, just enough to hold you over until dinner.

In the cool evenings, it was a pleasure to be welcomed back by a great smelling fire in the courtyard.

If you are searching for a cozy, one-of-a-kind place, where you can relax and rejuvenate, El Portal fits the bill, bar none.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zen2peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Please keep coming back - we love when you visit! Have a lovely Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I took a trip to Sedona for three days at the end of October and stayed at El Portal, in the Hile room. We tend to be a little picky about hotels, but our stay here was absolutely wonderful. We brought our dogs, and the owners were warm and welcoming. There's even a doggie welcome kit! The location of El Portal is perfect, near restaurants and shops and all sorts of great stuff to walk to. The hotel is beautiful, and they really encourage you to feel at home which is a nice change from big corporate places. There is a kitchen in the lobby where you can sign out beer, wine or soft drinks at any time, and nearby there is a communal fire pit where the guests hang out at night. The owners were very helpful with directions and choosing things to do, and it really seemed that they were doing everything possible to ensure that you have a good time. The room itself is great, especially the fireplace and the huge jetted bathtub. Our dogs really enjoyed the attached yard. Overall, we loved the hotel and will definitely return (we want to check out some of the other rooms).

Room Tip: The Hile and Grand Canyon rooms seem to the most private from what I can tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We hope your dogs liked their visit too! We are so pleased you stayed with us. Hope to see you soon. Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#20 of 48 in Sedona
1,179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Property: El Portal Sedona Hotel
Address: 95 Portal Lane, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing