We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Accomodations in Sedona Az”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My stay at El Portal in Sedona Az was exceptional .The accomodations were comfortable ,clean ,and quite impressive .Custom built mountain lodge ,heavy timber and stone construction.Well appointed with southwestern art and furnishings.The owner Steve is a great guy .He made us feel right at home .The staff catered to our every need. Very friendly and efficient .There were a good variety of shops ,(some owned by local artisans), food and drink located within a one minute walk from the hotel .Live music by local musicians .Every evening,we enjoyed cocktails by an outdoor fire in a vine covered private court yard .Coffee ,tea , beer and wine were available 24/7 .Very comfortable and quiet throughout the night. I highly recommend this hotel if your destination is Sedona .
You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Thet are all good .I saw 4 .Stayed in 2 .Everyone we talked to ,said good things
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cindywScottsdale, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 562 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is our 4th visit to this fabulous 12-room inn. We keep coming back because it feels like home. Steve and Connie, the awesome owners, as well as the staff (Terri, Fran, Esperanza, More and Sylvia), treat us like family and provide the utmost in service. You couldn't ask for better people. The inn has 12 rooms and each one is decorated differently. We stayed in Room 9 - The Rim Room. This room is upstairs and is very spacious with nice views from the L-shaped windows. The distinctly crafted wood furniture provides a pleasant ambiance. After a hard day of hiking, it's nice to come back to a cozy room where you can relax and recuperate. We took a soothing jacuzzi bath after climbing to the top of Cathedral Rock and found this to be a much-needed treat. You will also sleep most soundly in the comfortable king bed.

El Portal is most conveniently located in the Historic Arts District, where there are many shops, museums and restaurants, including the Tlaquepaque shopping plaza, which is a short walking distance from the inn. Two other districts are close by: Uptown - which is just a 3-min drive away, where there are a myriad of shops and restaurants, and West Sedona - which is a 3-min. drive in the other direction, where you'll also find many restaurants, markets and shops, as well as great places to hike.

On the food front, El Portal delivers. You can partake of delicious breakfasts consisting of huevos rancheros, lemon pancakes, breakfast burritos, cinnamon French toast and more in the beautiful great room. You will see many canines around and every one of them is well behaved. In the late afternoon, you’ll find quesadillas, chips, salsa, fruit and cookies, just enough to hold you over until dinner.

In the cool evenings, it was a pleasure to be welcomed back by a great smelling fire in the courtyard.

If you are searching for a cozy, one-of-a-kind place, where you can relax and rejuvenate, El Portal fits the bill, bar none.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zen2peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Please keep coming back - we love when you visit! Have a lovely Thanksgiving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I took a trip to Sedona for three days at the end of October and stayed at El Portal, in the Hile room. We tend to be a little picky about hotels, but our stay here was absolutely wonderful. We brought our dogs, and the owners were warm and welcoming. There's even a doggie welcome kit! The location of El Portal is perfect, near restaurants and shops and all sorts of great stuff to walk to. The hotel is beautiful, and they really encourage you to feel at home which is a nice change from big corporate places. There is a kitchen in the lobby where you can sign out beer, wine or soft drinks at any time, and nearby there is a communal fire pit where the guests hang out at night. The owners were very helpful with directions and choosing things to do, and it really seemed that they were doing everything possible to ensure that you have a good time. The room itself is great, especially the fireplace and the huge jetted bathtub. Our dogs really enjoyed the attached yard. Overall, we loved the hotel and will definitely return (we want to check out some of the other rooms).

Room Tip: The Hile and Grand Canyon rooms seem to the most private from what I can tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

We hope your dogs liked their visit too! We are so pleased you stayed with us. Hope to see you soon. Happy Thanksgiving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have only the nicest things to say about El Portal, Sedona AZ. Right from booking online until we left, the entire process was very efficient. The property itself is gorgeous. I could have spent all my time sitting outside in the garden area with a cup of tea. The hotel is pet-friendly, so we got to see many families with dogs. I was visiting with a friend and her husband, and we stayed in the Grand Canyon room. Lovely room, cozy, clean, tasteful with the best fireplace ever. Complete boutique hotel experience!

I'd like to point out that we were supposed to do a sunset tour of the area but couldn't make it back on time to be picked up. We got charged with the tour fee in full, but it was immediately refunded as soon as we pointed out the error. The owners were approachable and friendly, full of suggestions on what to do in the area.

I highly recommend El Portal to anyone looking to soak in some Sedona vibes. I'm looking forward to being back again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maveni5m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for choosing El Portal Sedona Hotel for your getaway! Hope to see you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I wanted to stay in a place that was very simple away from the likes of upscale hotels like the Hilton or the Ritz Carlton........well we got it. It is like a little hole in the wall. They let you help yourself to wine on an honor system........WHAT how cool is that. Charming staff. Terry is our favorite. I took our dog out one night to pee but locked myself out but one of the guests that was in the courtyard around the fire pit had his key to let me in. There's only 12 rooms so if you want one spacial room you have to book early!

Room Tip: If you have a dog you should pick #6 or #7 because there's a private area outside for the dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We are so happy you stayed with us - the "camp fire" is lovely in the evening isn't it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Since getting married in Sedona in 2006, my husband and I have been back to El Portal every year! In fact, our very first experience with this wonderful hotel was indeed our wedding weekend. The hotel catered a small rehearsal/welcoming get-together in the courtyard, complete with sensational appetizers and wine pairings. Additionally, the hotel was gracious enough to let us use the property as a backdrop for so many of our wedding photos. El Portal also served as the hotel room for our wedding night, as well as providing luxury accommodation for some of our wedding guests. Since 2006, we have returned every year because we enjoy the lovely, historic, intimate atmosphere of El Portal so much.

Each room is unique, charming, and distinctively appointed with authentic period Craftsman decor/furniture. Every room in which we stay is comfortable and quiet, while also providing a relaxing and attractive ambiance. In fact, when renovating our own home, we used El Portal as an example for some of our remodeling decisions. It is apparent that each room was carefully thought out in design and theme, adding to the uniqueness of the Hotel. Small touches of comfort such as bottles of water, wine bar, and a DVD library are also available to guests. Furthermore, appetizers and drinks are served late afternoon in the cozy hotel great room for guests-- a nice touch indeed.

The Hotel has a beautiful courtyard, as previously mentioned, which is supplemented with a fire pit, chairs, tables and wonderful landscaping. My husband and I appreciate this aspect, as we like to lounge around the fire on crisp autumn nights. I also choose to sit in the courtyard to work on my computer, even though each room is WiFi equipped. It really is a pleasant feature of the Hotel.

Finally, owners Steve and Connie are hospitable, considerate, and friendly. Themselves animal lovers, they extend this courtesy to their guests by allowing pets, which I find a wonderful accommodation, especially at the level of this hotel. Additionally, Connie has gone out of her way to recommend local facilities for our horses the year we wanted to ride in Sedona.

Make no mistake about it, you definitely get what you pay for when it comes to hotels. Fortunately, you will get all you expected and more at El Portal Sedona. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Every room is "the good room," although upstair rooms have balconies and terrific views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfslind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We love seeing you every year! And loved being a part of your magical day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

El Portal is labeled a small "luxury hotel" - it's kind of a cross between an inn and a B&B. The authentic Arts and Craft furnishings and art add an extra layer of enjoyment to the beautiful hacienda architecture. Late afternoon snacks with wine and a full service breakfast in front of the fire are high points. The patio and outdoor spaces are wonderful gathering spaces. The location is "in town" - this is not a "nature" spot, but you can walk to the Oak Creek Brewery for dinner, which is a plus. The innkeeper owner Steve is a fund of tourist information.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Guests of El Portal have access to unique concierge services for the Sedona area. The owner, Steve Segner, is an avid outdoors-man, and helps plan hikes, day trips, etc.
Thank you for visiting Sedona and choosing El Portal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
970 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Address: 95 Portal Ln, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range: $255 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing