We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis - w/shopping center next door”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Sedona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Oasis - w/shopping center next door”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Quiet, luxurious and relaxing, this very small hotel is the perfect Sedona get-a-way location. It is actually more of a Hacienda than a hotel. Even though this property is located in a complex with another large hotel and a shopping center, the walls and vegetation surrounding it make you feel that you are out in the country. The rooms huge - suites, really - and well appointed. Each unit is unique, with different shape, size, furnishings and theme. We stayed in #6, The Hile, which had its own little private patio. The staff are friendly and personable. The breakfast is to die for.

There is not much to do at the hotel itself. It is more of a home base from which to launch your expeditions into the wonderful landscape of the Sedona area. There are some fantastic restaurants within walkind distance at the Tlaquepaque shopping center.

Note that my wife and I stayed here in October of 2009. I thought that I had submitted this review at that time, but apparently not.

Room Tip: Rooms in the one-story section are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weberpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your stay - and your remarks! We do like guests to feel like they are in an oasis - an oasis of peace, beauty, tranquility and serenity, but still within walking distance of many of Sedona's wonderful activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    45
    24
    18
    4
See reviews for
112
287
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently visited Sedona, AZ, and were riveted by the peacefulness and beauty of the area. One of earth's treasures.

To top it all off, the icing on the cake... was the El Portal Sedona Hotel. What a treasure. The owners, Steve and Connie, treated us like old friends; like family. The Hotel was beautiful, quaint, and peaceful. There was a community campfire every night in the courtyard, which added to the charm. And if that wasn't enough, we sampled a homemade breakfast every morning... with the best Salsa I have ever eaten in my life. Thanks for a wonderful getaway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KronyTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for staying at El Portal Sedona - we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our first visit to Sedona and this was a perfect location and the accommodations were terrific. Staff was friendly, and the outdoor common area with the fire pit, was terrific. Were able to
meet some of the other guests and enjoyed friendly conversation. We were in the grand canyon, unit 7. Decor was beautiful.
Only suggestion is to add some more flora to the private outdoor patio area for this unit. Breakfast was good, would suggest possibly complimentary coffee and tea for the mornings.

We will definitely return and recommend to friends and family. Thank you for such a lovely
experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with El Portal Sedona, and your suggestions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

El Portal is the perfect place if you appreciate beautiful southwestern/arts&crafts architecture and a warm friendly atmosphere. The owner was on hand to assist us in planning our activities in Sedona , i.e. . Grand Canyon, good hiking trails in Sedona, jeep tours and whatever else we wanted to do. We wanted to make the most of our time, there, and we did, tx to his assistance.
If you are looking for a comfortable beautiful place in a central location to begin your hikes, drives, and adventures, this is it. And, the breakfasts are great! Thanks, Steve(owner), for creating such a lovely place for us to stay and for sharing all of your knowledge and history of the area.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for visiting Sedona and El Portal, we are pleased to have been able to assist you, and that you had a wonderful time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Lets just say its hard to find quaint hotels that accept small dog & no pet fee. El Portal meets this. The room #6 of 12 was charming, western vintage decor, with cozy fireplace and sitting area which we did actually use because temps dipped in evening. My favorite part was being so close to Tlaquepaque art/shop/ dining area. Just steps away. Also able to workout next door at neighboring spa. Breakfast was charming in cabin/ german style dining area. Loved the attetion to detail and architectural design. Very laid back atmosphere. Rooms private and even little individual rock gated area for pet to roam. Can easily drive to hiking spots. A bit pricey but fair for Sedona.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for visiting Sedona, we so enjoyed your stay. Tlaquepaque is great isn't? Love your photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Recently stayed at El portal hotel in sedona and was definitely impressed. Small boutique hotel with ~20 rooms all decorated in unique style. Rooms are huge and very comfortable, not standard cookie cutter feel at all.

Best part of hotel is that it is pet friendly, our Portuguese water dog thoroughly enjoyed his stay as well! However, non pet owners will not feel out of place or overrun with animals.

Location was also a huge plus, very close to many restaurants and shops. Easy to walk to dinner and avoid parking etc.

Cannot say enough good thongs about this place. Friendly staff, great rooms, and nice location. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We appreciate your review! We love dogs/pets, and were happy to have your dog stay too. Thank you for noticing that guests without pets won't feel run over!! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Nothing short of a perfect long weekend. From the accommodations (first rate rustic luxury) to the food (lemon buttermilk pancakes!) to the "make yourself at home" atmosphere (beer, wine, soda, coffee all on the honor system), everything was just the way you want it. Of course, we traveled with our little dog who had the time of her life and was treated like puppy royalty. We live in Scottsdale, just 2 hours from Sedona, so we have stayed in this beautiful town many times over the last 20 years. In fact, we had walked right by Hotel El Portal countless times in our visits to nearby Tlaque Paque -- we had never seen it. Needless to say, we won't stay anywhere else now.

Room Tip: We had suite 5 (Hickory), which sleeps three (king bed and a day-bed in the sitting area). Gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We're so excited you found us! Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.9 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
1,179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
2.7 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Sedona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Sedona Hotel

Property: El Portal Sedona Hotel
Address: 95 Portal Lane, Coconino National Forest, Sedona, AZ 86336-6166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Portal Sedona Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Sedona Hotel is a AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel in the heart of Sedona; a pet friendly hotel with no pet fees, offering unpretentious luxury! Nowhere else in Sedona will you find a luxury inn or hotel with 18-inch thick adobe walls - walls that provide both quiet and history. It's an architectural masterpiece, and one of the finest hotels in Sedona. Twelve spacious rooms have been created in accordance with the simplicity and function of turn-of-the-century architecture. El Portal is a luxurious twelve suite, pet friendly Sedona hotel. Each guest suite includes a private entrance, patio/balcony, fireplace, whirlpool bath, entertainment center and DVD, WiFi, telephone, hair dryer, mini-fridge, safes, and more! Experience the dramatic views, relax in our romantic courtyard, shop the gift shops and galleries of the renowned Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts Village, or hike the red rocks. Guests at this El Portal have access to uniquely personalized concierge services for the Sedona area. Book a trip to Sedona and stay with us at El Portal Sedona Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your El Portal Sedona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing