We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Portal Sedona Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GreenTree Inn Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arabella Hotel Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$236
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sedona Summit Resort(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$320
$263
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Auberge de Sedona(Sedona)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$254
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveler rating
491
48
25
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
48
25
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pithonor systemrecommend elsteve connieadobe wallsgovernor's suitetlaquepaque shopping areawelcome baskethonor bargreat roomarts craftspet friendly hotelother guestssteam showergrand canyonsmall hotelluxury hotel
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 588 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Puka, Kanani, Junior, my wife and I were delighted with our stay at El Portal. Finding quality lodging when traveling with "Furry Family Members" can be challenging even on the best of days. From check-in to check-out our stay was hassle free, the staff and owners were very helpful with suggestions of area attractions and activities. The breakfast fare was delicious though perhaps a bit over priced, our room was large and well appointed with a great jetted tub. If you're traveling with pets in Sedona it would be hard to beat the comfort and genuine hospitality you'll find at the El Portal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlassBrk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

El Portal is seriously pet friendly! Thank you for staying with us! We loved having all of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We loved our four nights stay at El Portal. It is owned by our gracious and helpful hosts, Steve and Connie. They welcomed everyone and their pets. They made us feel as though we were in our own home. Enjoyed sitting in the great room with the river rock fireplace. There is a big leather sofa and leather chairs in front of the FP. They serve breakfast in the great room and it is fun to meet all the dogs (on leash) and their owners. We met several guests that did not have dogs.
Our room, #3, Garden Room, was beautiful. Our front door was made of stained glass. The detail involved in selecting the furniture was remarkable. The lamps, doorknobs, glass work was incredible. There was a welcome basket for our dog, Angel. It had a blue plaid fleece blanket, towel and doggie treats in it.
I had an opportunity to peek in some of the rooms after the guests checked out. Loved the Molesworth room and Hickory Room. I did not get upstairs to Rooms #11 or #12 but heard that they had a good view.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel9096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We loved having Angel, and of course all of your family :)
Looking forward to your next trip to Sedona!
Oh, and we are so happy you noticed the details!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is one of the most amazing places to stay. We stayed in the Green and Greener room, which is very spacious with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Steve and Connie are gracious hosts and make you feel extremely welcomed.

I researched many luxury hotels in Sedona and I picked the best. Luxury is an understatement. The main room serves as the reception, breakfast and evening gathering spot for the guests. Its an amazing grand room in itself.

TheTlaquepaque shopping village right across from the El Portal with the best in shopping.

I highly recommend the El Portal!

Thanks Steve and Connie,

Mark and Bill

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanetXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

That is a great room - the Green and Greene....the balcony has a lovely view too. Thank you for your review, and that you consider El Portal Sedona as one of the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our two night stay at El Portal, as did our Bernese Mountain Dog, Oliver! Our room was gorgeous and spacious, and meticulously decorated in keeping with the Sedona ambiance. A real plus was that Steve and Connie watched our dog while we took a trip to the Grand Canyon. In other similar places, we have had to hire a pet sitter but as Steve said, "We're a pet friendly hotel, this is what we do!" Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy12054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

We loved having you and Oliver stay with us! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've traveled all over the world and seldom enjoyed a hotel more. The owners have exhibited great care and planning in El Portal. How many times have you gone to a hotel and said, "I wish they.... ? You won't here for they've thought of everything. Furniture is hand crafted and made of beautiful burls and other expensive woods. The bathroom has a Jacuzzi tub, a large tile shower, separate WC and large vanity, all done in beautiful tiles, copper basins...etc.The architecture, Craftsman, furnishings and even the door handles are circa 1920. Julia Morgan could have been the inspiration. But all of that would fail if it were not for the dedication of Steve and Connie. They treat their guests as though this establishment were their home. It might as well be since they seem to be there day and night.
So, for those who come to Sedona to relax and let their cares go someplace else, this hotel is a great place. We've been to Sedona many times and have usually stayed at Enchantment which is a really gorgeous property with its world class spa. But they don't take dogs and this year we decided to take Rex, our German shepherd. He's very friendly and many of the other guests also had dogs. So it was a wonderful experience for our entire family. Rex seemed to understand that he was most welcome also..
When you sum up your experiences in various lodges/hotels/spas you always leave with a memory, a feeling. Rarely have I thought, as I left, "flawless." Such is the case with El Portal.

John Padget
Oro Valley AZ

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chef John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuCorp, Public Relations Manager at El Portal Sedona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for your high praises. We so liked having Rex visit. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews