We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of serenity”

Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park
Ranked #10 of 156 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sedona, Arizona, about halfway between Phoenix and the Grand Canyon, is a must-visit place for spiritual seekers the world over. Since 2004, such visitors have been flocking to Sedona’s Amitabha Stupa. (Some call it Sedona’s newest vortex.) Sitting majestically among the pinion and juniper pines, and surrounded by a landscape of stunning crimson spires, it is a jewel to behold. Visit Sedona’s Amitabha StupaOn any given day, dozens of visitors trek up the short winding trails to the 36 foot Amitabha Stupa and the smaller Tara Stupa for prayer, meditation, healing, and the experience of peace in a sacred place. The Amitabha Stupa is open every day from dawn until dusk and your visit is free of charge. (Of course, donations to support the stupa are gratefully accepted.)
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The definition of serenity”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have been to plenty of Buddhist sites in this world, and this is certainly one of the most remarkable ones for its solitude and unearthliness.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AZWahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    66
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Beautiful”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was probably my favorite place to go and just absorb the beautiful healing energy of Sedona. The walk up to the Stupa was lined with prayer flags, bird feeders, watering stations for pets, and you could tell it was maintained well by those who are responsible for the upkeep. We had the pleasure of meeting a few other fellow tourist and some of the locals that were having an open meditation, and after instruments of all sorts were brought out. What an amazing experience. Thank you to all that made it so.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is an easy hike for all levels. What you find in a short distance is both awe inspiring and deeply spiritual. I was moved to tears at my amazement that I have been wanting to go to Tibet and Bhutan to experience something that was right here in Sedona.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank justine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Serene and Peaceful”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

After spending the day hiking the red rocks and waiting in traffic (during Labor Day weekend), we decided to check out the peace park. We followed the directions on our navigation system, but ended up in a residential area overlooking Chimney rock. We decided to park in the hiking trail parking lot north of the destination address, and immediately noticed a gold structure in the distance. We ended up hiking south-west from the parking lot to the park, and were quite amazed at what we found!

The place definitely has a mystical feeling and quality about it. Even as a non-Buddhist, I was able to appreciate the message and symbols in the park. The seclusion and surrounding scenery added to the overall experience!

It's definitely worth checking out, especially if you are looking for something different and unique. My only suggestion is tip is to not give up if don't see it at the address. Just look for the tip of the structure ... it should be poking up from the foliage!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ernest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very spiritual place, go and feel the calm beauty!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Make the pilgrimage to this site and walk three circles around the stupa. Join millions of others who have sent prayers for the planet .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank smitrovich01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park also viewed

 

Been to Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing