We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A serene spot to recharge”

Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park
Ranked #14 of 155 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sedona, Arizona, about halfway between Phoenix and the Grand Canyon, is a must-visit place for spiritual seekers the world over. Since 2004, such visitors have been flocking to Sedona’s Amitabha Stupa. (Some call it Sedona’s newest vortex.) Sitting majestically among the pinion and juniper pines, and surrounded by a landscape of stunning crimson spires, it is a jewel to behold. Visit Sedona’s Amitabha StupaOn any given day, dozens of visitors trek up the short winding trails to the 36 foot Amitabha Stupa and the smaller Tara Stupa for prayer, meditation, healing, and the experience of peace in a sacred place. The Amitabha Stupa is open every day from dawn until dusk and your visit is free of charge. (Of course, donations to support the stupa are gratefully accepted.)
United States
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A serene spot to recharge”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is a short drive from Uptown Sedona. A lovely place with the beauty of Sedona all around and a small serene stupa in the midst of it all. A great place to spend an hour or so just meditating and contemplating nature in all its glory. A great spot for the Buddha to land.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrippsmater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    65
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
455 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Time for Contemplation”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Sometimes you just want to be silent ... so it is good to visit and walk around this stupa at least three times in a clockwise direction and be contemplative.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olin R, Caretaker at Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you Mary for your kind words about the Stupa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Serene and Spiritual”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I visited Sedona in 2011 - so this review is a little belated! Nevertheless, the stupa was an amazing little find. A fellow travellor told me about it and off we went to meditate and enjoy the energy for a little while. I could have stayed longer and indeed, the next time I make it over I will definitely set aside a good few hours....

It really is a sacred space set amongst beautiful views.... The energy is tranquil and sweet, infused with love....

well worth a visit...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Serene beauty”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This place was so serene, beautiful and spiritual. We arrived at sunset and there were several people there chanting (which brought me chills). hey told us all about Stupa including the offerings that it is filled with and how and why it was built. They were also very eager to answer any questions we had. We walked around it as suggested and made an offering (this is not required, however felt appropriate to do so). This "attraction" is not a tourist trap, there is no gift shop and no bathroom facilities, and I would not recommend this for very small children. I thoroughly enjoyed our visit and learned quite a bit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank SpazKatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olin R, Caretaker at Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi SpazKatt!

Thanks for visiting the Amitabha Stupa and Peace Park. I am glad you came across some members of our community that could tell you something about the stupa and what makes it such a magical and spiritual place to be. Sunrise and sunset are especially beautiful times of the day to be there!

By the way...there are now "bathroom facilities" up there, a port-a-john, just out of site of the stupa. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peace & tranquility”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

As a local this is a must for my innerpeace & try to go weekly. Saturdays those of this faith gather in song,prayer, chanting, drumming & joy. For visitors this place of beauty is a must. This Sacred space can take 5Mins. to 5Hrs. The views & serenity are what Sedona is.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olin R, Caretaker at Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you Sunya for your kind words. I like what you said about "5 minutes or 5 hours". Sometimes I amm up there for just a few minutes, sometimes I stay just as long as I can. Either way, the stupa is an inspiring spiritual energy for all. Come back often, OK?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park also viewed

 

Been to Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing