We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & tranquility”

Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park
Ranked #10 of 156 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sedona, Arizona, about halfway between Phoenix and the Grand Canyon, is a must-visit place for spiritual seekers the world over. Since 2004, such visitors have been flocking to Sedona’s Amitabha Stupa. (Some call it Sedona’s newest vortex.) Sitting majestically among the pinion and juniper pines, and surrounded by a landscape of stunning crimson spires, it is a jewel to behold. Visit Sedona’s Amitabha StupaOn any given day, dozens of visitors trek up the short winding trails to the 36 foot Amitabha Stupa and the smaller Tara Stupa for prayer, meditation, healing, and the experience of peace in a sacred place. The Amitabha Stupa is open every day from dawn until dusk and your visit is free of charge. (Of course, donations to support the stupa are gratefully accepted.)
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peace & tranquility”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

As a local this is a must for my innerpeace & try to go weekly. Saturdays those of this faith gather in song,prayer, chanting, drumming & joy. For visitors this place of beauty is a must. This Sacred space can take 5Mins. to 5Hrs. The views & serenity are what Sedona is.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olin R, Caretaker at Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you Sunya for your kind words. I like what you said about "5 minutes or 5 hours". Sometimes I amm up there for just a few minutes, sometimes I stay just as long as I can. Either way, the stupa is an inspiring spiritual energy for all. Come back often, OK?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    66
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Easy access and not far from town. Beautiful Buddha and stupa and a smaller stupa as well. Small area with explanation of the site. Lovely path from the parking. If you need a little quiet time, this is the place to find it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olin R, Stupa Caretaker at Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Amitabha Stupa. We hope you can come back soon!
-The Amitabha Stupa Caretakers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A simple, peaceful place to visit”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is not far at all from the main part of Sedona. It is a simple stupa in a very peaceful setting. Don't expect much in terms of touristy offerings, signs, gifts shops, etc. It is lovely to read a little about the stupa, walk around it as suggested, and meditate or just sit quietly if you'd like. The Amitabha statue is smaller than I expected but lovely nonetheless.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BCWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olin R, Manager at Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. What you experienced at the Amitabha Stupa is exactly what we intended - a place of spiritual refuge for the local and traveling community, so that makes us very happy! Please tell your friends about it and do come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a peaceful and scenic getaway”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A nice peaceful stop several minutes away in West Sedona. Whether you walk around, or do some meditation, this outdoor oasis of peace stands in huge contrast to the bustle and materialism of Sedona's main tourist streets. For Buddhists and non-Buddhists alike.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olin R, Manager at Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are very pleased you found and enjoyed the Amitabha Stupa. I hope you have the opportunity to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Sedona”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We came across this from the motel we stayed in West Sedona. We went during sunset and it was just beautiful. The moment you climb up to the Stupa you just feel at peace. The guided posts explained everything about the Stupa. I hope they continue to build upon the area. It is truly a harmonious place with a great view!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olin R, Caretaker at Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Amitabha Stupa and Peace Park and for leaving such a nice review. We don't have any immediate plans for building anything more on the stupa land, just for improving what is already there. We would like to improve the road, beautify the entrance, and make the stupa more accessible for people with disabilities. We are mostly focused on paying down the mortgage, but we will make improvements like these as we can.
Sincerely,
The Stupa Caretakers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park also viewed

 

Been to Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing