We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a peaceful and scenic getaway”

Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park
Ranked #11 of 153 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sedona, Arizona, about halfway between Phoenix and the Grand Canyon, is a must-visit place for spiritual seekers the world over. Since 2004, such visitors have been flocking to Sedona’s Amitabha Stupa. (Some call it Sedona’s newest vortex.) Sitting majestically among the pinion and juniper pines, and surrounded by a landscape of stunning crimson spires, it is a jewel to behold. Visit Sedona’s Amitabha StupaOn any given day, dozens of visitors trek up the short winding trails to the 36 foot Amitabha Stupa and the smaller Tara Stupa for prayer, meditation, healing, and the experience of peace in a sacred place. The Amitabha Stupa is open every day from dawn until dusk and your visit is free of charge. (Of course, donations to support the stupa are gratefully accepted.)
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a peaceful and scenic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

A nice peaceful stop several minutes away in West Sedona. Whether you walk around, or do some meditation, this outdoor oasis of peace stands in huge contrast to the bustle and materialism of Sedona's main tourist streets. For Buddhists and non-Buddhists alike.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olin R, Manager at Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are very pleased you found and enjoyed the Amitabha Stupa. I hope you have the opportunity to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    65
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Sedona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We came across this from the motel we stayed in West Sedona. We went during sunset and it was just beautiful. The moment you climb up to the Stupa you just feel at peace. The guided posts explained everything about the Stupa. I hope they continue to build upon the area. It is truly a harmonious place with a great view!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olin R, Caretaker at Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for visiting the Amitabha Stupa and Peace Park and for leaving such a nice review. We don't have any immediate plans for building anything more on the stupa land, just for improving what is already there. We would like to improve the road, beautify the entrance, and make the stupa more accessible for people with disabilities. We are mostly focused on paying down the mortgage, but we will make improvements like these as we can.
Sincerely,
The Stupa Caretakers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Sacred Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Sedona is known for its spirituality, but for me there was nothing quite like a morning hike to the the Amitabha Stupa. This Buddhist monument, which represents the path to enlightenment itself, sits on a beautiful piece of property, nestled under Thunder Mountain. Loved the sound of the prayer flags snapping in the wind. All are welcome to visit during daytime hours. Dogs too if they are on a leash. The trails are a bit steep and if it is muddy, you should be prepared with proper footwear. I pray that I can return there again and again. Hope all who read this find peace there too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Holly1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park also viewed

 

Been to Amitabha Stupa & Peace Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing