We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Red Agave Resort
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Greeley, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We got a great deal for this place on Living Social. But with the deal came the concern you get what you pay for. We stopped here on the way back from a softball tournament in Colorado. Immediately after getting out of the car to check in, you are smacked in the face with the local beauty of the red rock area. The property has fantastic views of the area. The property is maintained well. We had a chalet which was awesome. Having your own building and not having to worry about people above or below you is worth the price alone. The kids got to stay in the loft area and had their own beds. The chalet was clean and had everything you needed with the exception of an iron and ironing board. The property is easily accessible to good restaurants. Definitely worth staying at. The entire area is fantastic and we look forward to returning to the Red Agave.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    85
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
130
107
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Red Agave was perfect. It is a little outside of Sedona in the small village of Oak Creek. This was a plus for us, giving us an off center getaway with great destinations a bike ride away. Trails and popular destinations are to the south and north making it a great location. From the grounds themselves, the views are spectacular, feels like bell rock and courthouse rock are in the front yard. The complex has its own trailhead for mountain biking or hiking, a relaxing pool especially for kids (not a lap pool), warm saunas with jets that work, and the chalet's are comfortable, clean and spacious. No housekeeping but all the major amenities are there already so again, this was a plus, no one knocking on the door daily to change the towels. If I had to say something on the less than stellar side, I would say that the units are pretty close together, oh, and the upstairs air conditioning unit in ours was very noisy, but for the price (we got a living social deal) and the location those things were minor. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: All units have the same view and sitting areas. Looked like they were all decorated the same too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Red Agave on a long road trip through the Southwest. By the time we reached Sedona, we were eager to relax and just enjoy the beautiful views. This was the perfect place to do it! We found it too hot to hike during the day, so we spent much of our time, both day and night, in the beautiful pool and hot tubs (there are two). When we weren't enjoying the water, we lay back on one of the many lounge chairs around the pool and gardens. We did enjoy hiking a bit early one morning on the Slim Shady trail that starts right in back of the resort, which takes you toward Bell Rock and Cathedral Rock.

While our studio room was simple, it was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. We loved taking advantage of the kitchenette, which is fully stocked with all the pots, pans, plates, and silverware you need. There is a great grocery store a 2-minute drive away where you can go to stock your fridge at the beginning of your trip. One of our favorite moments was having dinner at one of the many little tables in the huge garden area outside of our room while looking up at the millions of stars.

It's important to note that Red Agave is in the town of Oak Creek, which is about a 10-minute drive to Upper Sedona and West Sedona. The drive is absolutely gorgeous, though. Oak Creek has its share of restaurants, but you will definitely want to venture into Sedona as well. All in all, we loved Red Agave and would recommend it to anyone looking to relax on their visit to Sedona.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio room, which is much less expensive than a chalet and still met all of our need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnaneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We really enjoyed staying in the chalet. It was very clean and comfortable and the price was affordable. What a beautiful area! We didn't use the pool, but the pool area was very clean and looked like others were enjoying it. I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We found a wonderful spot for relaxing, hiking, discovering and enjoying the views. Tracy was fantastic. She runs a friendly, clean and comfortable facility. Our chalet was clean with great views from patio. The pool was clean and warm. We will return soon and I am sure this will be our spot for future stays in Sedona.

Room Tip: Get the Chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

When we booked our reservations at the Red Agave, we had two concerns. The first is that the place would be run-down or at least not well maintained, since it was much more affordable than many of the other resorts in the area. Secondly, since it is technically in the Village of Oak Creek, we were afraid that we would be too far away from Sedona to really enjoy the town, as we planned.

It turned out that neither of our fears were warranted. The Red Agave is quaint, cozy, and has breath-taking views. The resort isn’t fancy. If you’re looking for five-star accommodations, with spas and tennis courts, try the Hyatt or the Enchantment Resort. Staying at the Red Agave is more like camping with all of the comforts of home right there with you.

I will start with the grounds of the resort. The resort consists of about seven chalets that flank the property, and a small row of individual rooms (maybe six), attached to each other, that run along the front. The common areas (including the pool and hot tubs) were constantly maintained by a very friendly and helpful caretaker. There is a large open area for gathering, a small stone stage for possibly live performances (there was a wedding that took place on the stage while we were there), and a cool fire pit for s’mores making (which they weren’t able to light due to fire restrictions during our stay).

We had some concerns that the pool would be too small. However, since it’s such an intimate resort, it turned out to not be an issue. It did just fine for our needs. Our daughter spent nearly every moment we were at the resort bouncing between the pool and one of the hot tubs.
Most of the chalets have a cast-iron table with an umbrella and chairs in front of them. This is where we spent nearly all of our time, when we were at the resort. The weather is so amazing, it’s like having an outdoor family room. There are large trees that shield most of the chalets from the sun, so you can just sit and relax and gaze at the amazing views. Most of the chalets and rooms also have a propane grill in front of them.

The views are so amazing because the property literally borders parklands. Bell Rock and Courthouse Butte seem so close, that you feel like you can reach out and touch their red rocks. You can actually step right through the fence that separates the resort from the parklands and find yourself immediately on beautiful hiking trails. There are two trails, “Made in the Shade” and “Slim Shady.” Both have gorgeous views of Bell Rock and Courthouse Butte. However, “Made in the Shade” was superior in our opinion. It takes you up along a ridge behind the resort where you can see the whole valley. Honestly, aside from Cathedral Rock, that may have been my favorite hike that we took.

Our chalet was called “Apache Leap” and was the last one in the row, which put us closest to the parklands and the views. The chalet was a quaint little standalone house. It has one bedroom, a loft with a bed, and a common area that contained a full kitchen, small dining table, and a living area with a chair, couch, and TV. There were six of us staying in it, so we used the couch, which folds out into a bed, and a cot set up in the loft, as additional sleeping beds. With six of us, you might think that we were cramped and running into each other. However, thanks to the table on the patio in our front yard, this was never an issue. The adults (four of us) were almost always sitting around that table, while the kids came and went.

The chalet’s appliances were a bit out-dated, as were the kitchen countertops. The bathroom could also have used an upgrade as well. However, everything was in fine working order, and it was nice to be able to buy food from the grocery store and make it in the kitchen and on the grill.

Because the resort is small, you have an opportunity to get to know your neighbors, if you desire to. Since we were there for a week, we made friend with several of the other patrons. Some nights we sat around the table together, talking and sharing some drinks, as we watched the sunset behind Bell Rock, then gazing at the amazing star-filled sky.

The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the grounds caretaker. We asked him a lot of questions ranging from the best route to the Grand Canyon to tips on what we should see and do while in town. However, the other members of the staff were also always willing to help and answer questions.

Before I move on from the amenities of the resort, I will say that the one drawback that I found was the Wi-Fi access. It was very spotty. They do offer free Wi-Fi, and there are three SSIDs to choose from. However, I could rarely get access to any of them when in the loft of the chalet, and they seemed to drop frequently elsewhere. My wife had to work several of the days that we were there, and this was an issue from time to time for her. Other guests had the same issue.

On to our second concern, the location. The Village of Oak Creek is located about seven miles from Sedona. The Red Agave is on the northern edge of it, making it about the closest place to Sedona in town. It actually turned out to be a blessing. First of all, the Village of Oak Creek is cute and charming in its own right. There were plenty of dining options, a grocery store, and some activities as well. There was actually a craft bazar taking place right next to the resort our first weekend there. We were able to easily walk to the pizza and pasta place, as well as two bike rental establishments, a café, two coffee shops, among other options.

The Red Agave also just happens to be located mere yards from both of the Bell Rock/Courthouse Butte parking lots. Basically, the folks in Sedona have to drive the seven miles to get to us, if they wanted to hike these popular attractions. We were also only a couple of minutes from Cathedral Rock and the Chapel of the Holy Cross.

Driving in to Sedona was almost a joy. The drive is through all of the amazing red rock structures. Making the drive between the towns basically a “must do” in its own right.

The bottom line is that if we were to come back to Sedona, which we plan on doing within the next couple of years, we would definitely stay at The Red Agave Resort again. It is perfect for our needs, and its price was fair.

Room Tip: The windows at the top of the "Apache Loop" chalet allow a lot of light to shine in on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelItNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in the Nankoweap Butte chalet for 4 nights in June while on a family vacation. From checking in to checking out, we loved our stay at the Red Agave. The price was great. Chalet was very clean. We had an ant problem in the loft the first day there and it was immediately addressed. Service was excellent and the staff very friendly. Our chalet looked out directly to the rocks and a trail which we hiked every day. Our kids loved the pool and spa area as well. It was very clean and well kept. The location was perfect for our sight seeing plans. I wish we could have stayed a few more days! I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Testqueen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
5.7 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#31 of 48 in Sedona
555 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sky Ranch Lodge
Sky Ranch Lodge
#2 of 21 in Sedona
1,314 reviews
3.8 mi away
Poco Diablo Resort
Poco Diablo Resort
#17 of 48 in Sedona
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Agave Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Agave Resort

Property: The Red Agave Resort
Address: 120 Canyon Circle Dr, Sedona, AZ 86351-8676 (Formerly Quail Ridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Red Agave Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Agave Resort is the only Sedona lodging offering an intimate setting of two-story chalets and studios with incredible views of Bell Rock and Courthouse Butte - two of Sedona's iconic red rock formations - at our front door. Each unit includes a kitchenette and access to and outdoor gas grill, making snack and meal prep a breeze. Hiking and biking trails leading into the Coconino National Forest are just beyond our artfully landscaped courtyard, which also includes a pool, two hot tubs and a fire pit where s'mores are served up nightly. Days of adventure and nights of peaceful relaxation await you at Red Agave Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Red Agave Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Agave Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing