We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Red Agave Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Agave Resort
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was my first trip as Red Agave. I went 7 other times when it was Quail Ridge. I was so happy to see that they have it the same as when it was Quail Ridge. The view is awesome. And this place is so nice and friendly. Clean big rooms. Grills. Pool and hot tubs. I would not think going any other place in Sedona. This is the best!!

Room Tip: The beds are great. But if you stay in the efficiency rooms, they keep a sting of lights on the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetSedona55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 323 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Red Agave (in the village of oak creek - 15 mins. from Sedona proper) is the perfect little place to stay as a base from which to see the Sedona/Red Rocks area. The Red Agave is on the edge of town and the vies from the rooms are no less than amazing. There are walking trails right out of the courtyard to the red rocks. Bell Rock is huge and right in front of you when you look out of the window!

The place itself is a little worn and "no frills" but very nice. This is the place to stay if you want to save $$ with a basic room. We stayed in the "Glen Canyon" (in the main bldg.). There are 2-story sort-of A-frames if you have more than 2 people. The pool is nice. Has 2 hot tubs. Pool and hot tubs are outdoors. We were there 2/11-2/15; at night it was 55 F & during the day it was about 70-75 F.

There are a few nice restaurants within walking distance but if you want to see Sedona, you will need a car (or you could bike).

There is no room service or even maid service during your stay so be ready for this. This is not a full-service hotel. When you need clean towels, etc. just take the dirty ones to the office for clean replacements. You also need to take out your own trash. We didn't mind this as our priority was cheaper accommodations. Also, no fitness center (not that you would need it with all the outdoor activities on offer).

The staff were very nice and helpful. They maintain the grounds and rooms nicely.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms have an awesome view - no tips really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jccarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Generally, I don't write reviews, but this resort is truely truly the SEDONA EXPERIENCE. The staff was incredibly warm one welcoming from the time we got there to the time we sadly had to leave. Tracy, Gene and the entire staff treated us like long time friends, giving us tips about hiking/biking trails, eateries, sightseeing and community activities. I would DEFINATELY rate this as the absolute BEST resort to stay in for the Sedona & Verde Valley area! Go for the smores in the evening around the fire pit, hit the pool/jacuzzi, but you will leave with a whole new set of friends and a permanent resort home!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank czbee94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie B, Owner at Red Agave Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Agave and for your kind words. Any feedback we receive from our guests will only make the resort better. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The TV didn't work and upon arrival were informed that we needed to pay more money because we switched dates and the rates changed. Unfortunately that wasn't mentioned when we changed the dates. The Tv is not really a big deal but it was during the Olympic Games. The blonde woman we discussed all of this with seemed to not care about any of it. The lady we discussed the tv outage with the second night was MUCH more concerned and actually came to our room to see if there was something that she could do and actually figured out the problem and had the maintenance fellow fix it right away. She was great to deal with. The first gal lefts really sour taste. I would not recommend staying here. If lubricant is left behind, who knows what other cleaning measures are skipped.
The resort itself was picturesque but I will never go back there. It isn't that these things happened it is how they were (or we're not) dealt with that really matters.

Room Tip: We stayed in an A frame which was a great choice for our family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our first time to Sedona, and loved staying at this resort.
The Chalet's was perfect with wonderful views.
We loved that we could walk right out the door of the resort and get to the hiking trails.
Having a kitchen was really nice. Staff is helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: I think no matter what room type you choose all were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamaica021205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie B, Owner at Red Agave Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Agave and for your kind words. Any feedback we receive from our guests will only make the resort better. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My Fiance and I stayed here in 2013 and really enjoyed ourselves. Located just before you get to downtown Sedona, this hotel has simple features and is nestled near Bell Rock in Sedona. Views are amazing and our A-Framed cottage had a nice patio to enjoy our morning coffee or evening wine while enjoying the views of the local mountains. Rooms are simply stated. Kitchens are nicely equipped (however could use a little updating). Bed is comfortable and if we would have had a guest, they would have enjoyed the loft upstairs. We will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertandStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie B, Owner at Red Agave Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Agave and for your kind words. Any feedback we receive from our guests will only make the resort better. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My son and I spent 2 nights in an A frame chalet here in early February. The views of the red rocks from the chalet were spectacular. The place was comfy and the loft was perfect for my son. The bed downstairs was very comfortable and it was nice to have the kitchen so we didn't have to eat all of our meals out. As others mentioned, another big plus is having a trail that starts right from the property. No matter what your hiking skills are, you can't not give it a try. It was cold out so I enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of walking and hiking. It's a bit of a drive to downtown Sedona (5-10 minutes?) but it you have a car, it doesn't matter - at least it didn't to us. I live about 2 hours away and try to visit Sedona at least twice a year, I would definitely come back to Red Agave.

Room Tip: One of the 3 A frames that sit alone as you pull into the main parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marijane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie B, Owner at Red Agave Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Agave and for your kind words. Any feedback we receive from our guests will only make the resort better. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Sedona
Courtyard Sedona
#41 of 49 in Sedona
38 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.6 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.2 mi away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#24 of 49 in Sedona
752 reviews
4.7 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 49 in Sedona
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Agave Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Agave Resort

Address: 120 Canyon Circle Dr, Sedona, AZ 86351-8676 (Formerly Quail Ridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range: $150 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Agave Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
>> NOTICE: Starting January 2018 the resort will be undergoing updates to make your Red Agave experience even better! The pool area will be closed through February for a complete renovation. During this time, the rest of the courtyard will remain available for your use, so you can still enjoy your nightly s’mores, favorite beverage, and stories by fire.<< The Red Agave Resort is the only Sedona lodging offering an intimate setting of two-story chalets and studios with incredible views of Bell Rock and Courthouse Butte, two of Sedona's iconic red rock formations, at our front door. Each unit includes a kitchenette and access to and outdoor gas grill, making snack and meal prep a breeze. Hiking and biking trails leading into the Coconino National Forest are just beyond our artfully landscaped courtyard, which also includes a pool, two hot tubs and a fire pit where s'mores are served up nightly. Days of adventure and nights of peaceful relaxation await you at Red Agave Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Agave Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Agave Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing