We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A resort for the rest of us”
Review of Red Agave Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Agave Resort
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I adore the Red Agave! The rooms are spacious, with comfy beds and beautiful views. My favorite part of the resort is the outdoor space shared with other guests, which includes patios, grills, fire-circle, hot-tub, and access to trails. This is not a place to stay if you are looking for an insular luxury get-away - the staff will not drool over you, kids and dogs can run freely, the heater/cooler is kind of loud. It is the perfect place to stay if value real, low-key, family and community-oriented spaces integrated into (rather than imposed on) the beautiful Red Rocks landscape!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 321 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

I really dig this place. I went there with my son and husband for 4 days. We brought our bikes and rented one from Bike and Bean (right around the corner). We spent every day riding our mountain bikes along the rocks, thanks to the well-explained map the guys at Bike and Bean gave us. At night, we hiked the trails just outside the resort. There is a Circle K a block away so we even rented movies from Redbox to watch in our Chalet (because we were exhausted). There are restaurants close to the resort or you can cruise into town for more options. I find town too touristy and the area of Red Agave is much more laid back. The resort was quiet when we were there, even though a big group of people checked in. I was pleasantly surprised that they were considerate of those of us not in their group and looking for some quiet. We stayed in a pet-free Chalet (we didn't bring our Lab) and it was very clean and well stocked. We bought groceries to eat at "home", which was a nice touch for in between bike rides. The beds were very comfy (we stayed in Boynton Canyon) and there is plenty of sleeping space. There is only one bathroom, though, so I would imagine that more people might prove to be tricky. I do caution anyone with little kids or older persons about the spiral staircase in the Chalets....very tight and would make for an awful accident on the tile floor. Overall, the resort is idea for bikers, hikers, runners, or nature lovers. Waking to Bell Rock and watching the colors change over the course of the day really helps you unwind from living in the city rush.

Room Tip: From what I could see, the pet-free rooms looked to be better furnished...or at least with faux-leat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkdt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very clean, comfortable bed, and when one of us slept in, the other could go outside and enjoy the early morning view. The two hot tubs were really hot, and with a great view, too. The office was close whenever we wanted clean towels. We would stay here again if we get back to Sedona. We stayed in a single room, enjoyed having a kitchen. We looked at the chalets in case we can come back and bring our grandsons. The chalets would be great for us then, the spiral staircase to the loft would be great fun!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great to have a kitchen in your room with coffee pot, coffee, hot chocolate, etc. Stayed in the economy and it had plenty of room. Location was great. Beautiful views and quiet, yet close to downtown Sedona. There was no soap in our bathroom so I asked for some. Their answer was, "We are sorry but our shipment of soap hasn't arrived yet, you can use the dishsoap under the kitchen sink if you want." They only clean your rooms once per week. I love the "Green" idea of this, but some times you just want some fresh towels. Staff was very friendly. I just expect to have certain services when I stay in a hotel I guess. I went to the store to get my own handsoap and asked for fresh towels when I needed them. Problem solved. Still a great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our party of 6 stayed in the Montezuma chalet 2 nights in late September We especially liked that the place was away from the traffic and the business of "downtown" Sedona, yet close to restaurants, grocery and gas station. Having said that, you wouldn't have know everything was so close as the area was quiet and secluded.

This is not a spa type resort, but rather a moderately priced place that allows you to relax and just enjoy the beauty and quiet of the surrounding. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us, the chalet was clean and comfortable. The sofa bed was small and not all that comfortable; however, the person using the sofa bed said it was adequate. We especially enjoyed the patio area right outside our door; however, it was in very close proximity to our neighbor's patios on either side, so we did feel a need to be a little more quite, so as not to impose. We took advantage of the various amenities, including the pool, hot tub, fire ring and a nice hiking trail right out of our front door! Some of us were early risers and would put on our jackets and take our coffee out to the common area near the fire ring where we could sit, sip and enjoy the stars and sunrise.

We could walk to the Bike & Bean coffee shop @ the corner, walk to the gas station market on the opposite corner and walk to Bell Rock for additional hiking.

A few days later, I again stayed 2 nights in a single room and was again very impressed with the room, the amenities and the staff. An overall good experience for the price and I would recommend as well as stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gottagetupandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here last year and loved the people, room, and view. When returning from our trip to Colorado, there was only one place we wanted to spend the night - Red Agave Resort. It is absolutely the best place to stay in Sedona. The views are spectacular, the staff is very good, the rooms are clean and come with a kitchenette, dining room, TV, microwave, coffee pot, and a full size refrigerator. You could stay for a week and never have to eat out. We hope to catch the Groupon next year and stay in one of the chalets with friends. What a treat!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzNana2Six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was an absolute getaway. I have never been to a place that as soon as you walk out the door you are in the outdoors and it feels like you are camping. You are surrounded by beauty. The thing I would recommend is talking to some locals and to stay away from the main street with all the shops. There is so much to do here it is amazing. Take your loved one or family members and go for a nice hike or just go hiking. Don't be a tourist.

Room Tip: The "A" frame cabins or rooms were great and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
5.5 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
4.6 mi away
Sky Ranch Lodge
Sky Ranch Lodge
#1 of 21 in Sedona
1,347 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Agave Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Agave Resort

Address: 120 Canyon Circle Dr, Sedona, AZ 86351-8676 (Formerly Quail Ridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range: $148 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Agave Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Agave Resort is the only Sedona lodging offering an intimate setting of two-story chalets and studios with incredible views of Bell Rock and Courthouse Butte, two of Sedona's iconic red rock formations, at our front door. Each unit includes a kitchenette and access to and outdoor gas grill, making snack and meal prep a breeze. Hiking and biking trails leading into the Coconino National Forest are just beyond our artfully landscaped courtyard, which also includes a pool, two hot tubs and a fire pit where s'mores are served up nightly. Days of adventure and nights of peaceful relaxation await you at Red Agave Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Agave Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Agave Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing