We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seeing Red -in a good way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Agave Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Agave Resort
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seeing Red -in a good way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Fun times and lots to do at this resort. Lovely red mountains, s'mores by the fire, hiking, and a decent pool make this resort mucho fun for families. The rooms sleep about 4-6 with some comfort, but little privacy (only one bedroom with a door). If you plan to stay in your room and snuggle, this hotel is not for you. The rooms are not very posh and there is no phone in the room to call for pizza or room service. A small but friendly staff is available with a short walk to the office. The resort is also not very wheelchair friendly. Over all, we would stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    79
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
118
101
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torbay
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

A Wonderful Place!

The grounds and scenery are what amazed us as we walked from our car. The pictures on the website are accurate. We stayed in a suite. The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds, good shower, adequate kitchen, barbeque, pool, and hot tubs all make for a very enjoyable stay. There is also a fire each night and the ingredients for S'Mores bars are placed out close to the fire pit. The staff are helpful and friendly.

A trail starts at the edge of the property. Bike and Bean is close by - bicycle rentals and coffee. The supermarket is also close which is important to us since we had the kitchen and barbeque which adds so much leisure to the trip. A glass of wine while the grill warms up and the sun sets on the red rocks.... A cup of coffee as the sun rises....

There is no hustle and bustle here, Sedona is a short drive away.

I think I could live here! We do plan to return and will stay at the Red Agave again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiess73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

I would put this as a 3 star hotel for style, furnishings of the rooms but the grounds/location are the key that make this a great hotel. Very spacious and friendly atmosphere, camping like feel but that is great in Sedona where outdoors are key.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gla92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I was there for a wedding and the location was prefect for it. Our chalet was private; only 3 on our side of the resort. We were in the Village of Oak Creek, and it was quiet. Our view was Bell Rock; to wake up each morning to the brisk fresh air and sit outside watching the sun come up over the rock; 6:00 a.m. with my hot tea sitting on our own table out on our own patio, relaxing and listening to the morning sounds.
The chalet was rustic with a private bedroom and a loft with 3 beds, one bathroom, a kitchen area with a table and a sitting area with 2 loveseats. I was told one was a sleeper sofa but we did not need it so I am not sure how it was to sleep in.
The kitchen area was small, for one person at a time, the stove and oven were small and there were not enough outlets to make toast and coffee but who was in a hurry. If you like your coffee brand, bring it, our room had a CoffeeMate coffee maker and they do have the filters. They used powder creamer and sugar packets. The kitchen had basic items needed to cook a meal and serve it. Think simple while you are here; go outside and take a hike instead of a fancy meal. Each chalet or studio has their own private gas grill and patio furniture.
The pool and hot tub were wonderful after a long hike on Bell Rock. The staff had a fire each night until 10:00 p.m. and we took advantage of that each night. It became brisk at night. With the stars, moon and fire, what can I say, I wish this was my back yard.
The staff does not clean the chalet each day or replace towels, you must ask for clean towels if you need them; but for me that means no one will be knocking on my door if I want to take a nap or sleep in. I liked that, it made it more private for me.
The area for a wedding is perfect with Bell Rock in the backround. The pictures on their web site is very accurate.
The location is just outside Sedona and for me it was great to be away from that hustle bustle. There is a food store, hardware store, coffee shop, bike rental and more in the area. We walked around as much as we could.
I would go back to The Red Agave Resort in a heart beat and stay away from the name brand hotels in the area. And yes I would like to keep this location a secret but everyone should stay here just once.

Room Tip: Pick one of the 3 chalets that are on the right of the office; they are the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytotravel127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights in October. We rented a chalet and it was very spacious and comfortable. Took advantage of the hot tub, pool, gas grills, fire pit, trails behind resort, and fully appreciated the quiet location in the Village of Oak Creek. You can walk from here to the Bell Rock & Courthouse Butte trails. The Bike & Bean is close by to rent bikes or get great coffee. Across the street is a nice pizzeria and Thai place. Just up the road, Cucina Rustica is a wonderful Italian restaurant. The staff was very nice, there if you need them, but otherwise, you felt like you were staying in your own place. There isn't nightly room cleaning, but I didn't mind that one bit. We had all the towels and supplies we needed from the start. If you want room service, or turn down service, you won't get that here, but what you will get is a very quiet, relaxing getaway with some of the best views in town!!!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MofromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fircrest, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in early october and I am not sure I want to tell everyone how great this place is. No it is not luxurious, but it is fantastic. We stayed in one of the studios since it was just the 2 of us and our dog. The room was more spacious than it appeared on their website, was very clean, and met all of our needs. In the morning we opened the drapes to find the red rocks boldly reflecting the morning sun, didn't even need to get out of bed! There is a hiking path just a few feet away from the door step and a short walk up the path gives you a beautiful view. There is the pool and 2 hot tubs also right next to all the rooms. At night a big fire is lit in the cental area and fixings for s'mores are waiting for you. Really it is everything Sedona should be, just a beautiful relaxing non-pretentious experience. Oh and if you want to bring fido they have poop bags and treats in the main office, and I don't think they have any size restrictions, our boxer had a great time and enjoyed meeting the other dogs staying there. We also enjoyed celebrating a birthday with dinner at El Rincon mexican restaurant in Tlaquepaque (reservations advised, and sit on the patio). Also a fun nerdy thing to do was the Sedona Star Gazing Tour (but go when the moon is not full). We have been to Sedona so many times and never get tired of what it has to offer, we will definitely consider staying at Red Agave Resort for future visits for all the reasons already mentioned and the great price too.

Room Tip: We had the studio on the pool end so it was quiet and had a great view. It was also very close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We just got back from 2 nights staying at The Red Agave. We had no idea what to expect when we drove up, but when we walked to the office and our room we were taken aback by the views. Incredible!!! The room was nice, clean and fully furnished. They were not elegant or posh but they weren't ragged our 'old' either.

We are used to a Cal King bed so we were not to excited about sleeping on a Queen but it was fine. The only complaint I do have is, in fact, the bed. It was way to soft for me, but I do have major back issues so it may not be a problem for other people. Ours was also very squeeky just getting into it and when one of us rolled around. They weren't bad or old mattresses just soft and noisy.

The bathroom was clean. We are used to elongated and higher toilets and would recommend they change out to them as they are more in line with "resort" amenities, but they were clean. There was a very nice closet area where we could change and be out of view from outside and still have the door and window open. The little kitchen was welcome and well supplied with plates, utensils and drink-ware.

The location was awesome. In the village of Oak Creek right at Bell Rock. It was a block or so off 179 but was so quiet and dark at night, just what we needed. They light a fire around 6pm and provide the makings for smores which is great. They provide small gas grills for your to use. We didn't as there are a ton of excellent restaurant choices around. There is a terrific bakery about 1/2 mile called Desert Flour and they have very tasty baked goods. They serve Starbuck's coffee which is not our favorite but will do in a pinch. We also visited a thrift store a block away and bout a couple of incredible end tables. We had a jeep tour through Sedona Hiking Adventures. Jim was an excellent guide and he personalized our tour just for us, starting with picking us up at The Red Agave. We would highly recommend him as well. We stopped at a local vineyard and had a very nice tasting and appetizers (Page Creek Winery)

The staff were so nice and helpful right from the start. They had great suggestion on dining and shopping. We had a problem with our AC in the car and they found a shop for us to go to (thankfully it cooled down and we didn't need to have it fixed at that time). The housekeepers were really nice. They didn't clean the room between nights which was exactly what we wanted so don't expect that with your stay.

We have stayed at different places in the Sedona area and this by far had the best views, BY FAR!!! The staff were great - very helpful and polite. The price was really nice, a little over $100 per night. More than some in the area and a lot less than others, but for what you get it was really good.

I think we have found our place to stay for future visits. I know I sound like an advertisement but this was one of the best stays we have ever had in Sedona, if not the best, and one of our best mini-vacations of our married life so it is easy to recommend things, especially when they are so good.

Stay here and you will not be disappointed. Oh, all the guests we met were really polite also. Met one guy who came from Virginia (where I lived for many years) just to stay there and mountain bike the trails right behind the property. And smelling another couple grill steaks...I guess you get it...I could go on and on about how nice this place was but you should find out for yourselves.

The reason for the 4 out of 5 is because of the bed, and only the bed. Everything else was 5/5.

Room Tip: If you are staying as a couple just stay in the single rooms, the view right out of the window is sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krnndug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
5.5 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
5.7 mi away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
4.5 mi away
Sky Ranch Lodge
Sky Ranch Lodge
#2 of 18 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Agave Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Agave Resort

Property: The Red Agave Resort
Address: 120 Canyon Circle Dr, Sedona, AZ 86351-8676 (Formerly Quail Ridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Red Agave Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Agave Resort is the only Sedona lodging offering an intimate setting of two-story chalets and studios with incredible views of Bell Rock and Courthouse Butte - two of Sedona's iconic red rock formations - at our front door. Each unit includes a kitchenette and access to and outdoor gas grill, making snack and meal prep a breeze. Hiking and biking trails leading into the Coconino National Forest are just beyond our artfully landscaped courtyard, which also includes a pool, two hot tubs and a fire pit where s'mores are served up nightly. Days of adventure and nights of peaceful relaxation await you at Red Agave Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Red Agave Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Agave Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing