We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Secluded but great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Secluded but great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on our very first trip to Sedona in 2011, it was hard finding the place because it was in uptown and is a bit secluded. The place is very nice and the staff as well, what you expect from a 4 star accommodation. The only thing is that you have to walk uphill to get to the street and the driveway is a bit narrow and steep. We also got a room that was on the back of the hotel and we were looking at another yards property but the room is really great, we were not able to use the pool since it was winter time. We are actually thinking another trip to Sedona this July and seriously considering the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buringot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    241
    91
    10
    15
See reviews for
230
433
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

First time in Sedona and this is the place to stay. Set in a great location over looking Sedona's Red Rocks this is the ideal place to relax and unwind. There is a great pool area, outdoor seating with fire pits. The breakfasts were great seated outside in the sunshine. A special mention must go to Emily in hospitality who kept the pints of Sierra Nevada flowing after a long day. Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djh&cjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
DJH & CJH,
Thank you for the high praise and shout out to Emilee. She is truly amazing and takes great care of our guests. The courtyard and pool area is certainly the place to relax after a great day of exploring beautiful Sedona. We can’t for your next visit. Until next time…..
Warm regards,
Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

WOW! What a wonderful hotel with an awesome staff. The resort was being updated which was a good idea to reach the Kimpton feel. We can't say enough about the staff from the valets to the General Manager. Beyond accommdating in order to make our Anniversary even more special. Beautiful views of the Red Rocks by the serene infinity pool. Highly recommended!! A special thank you to the General Manager Patrick and his Team.
Linda and Gary

Room Tip: Corner suites by the creek are lovely with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Congratulations Linda C,
25 year anniversary is certainly something to celebrate!!! We appreciate you choosing to spend your special getaway with us. Thank you for the kind words about the team and I am thrilled to hear that you were well taken care of by everyone. Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Please don’t wait another 25 years to come back and visit. We hope to see you soon.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanco, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We absolutely loved this resort. It is in a great central location in Sedona but has a very secluded view and feel. The pool and hot tub were very nice. The rooms were large and very nice with a balcony and nice view. They had a very fun happy hour and nice bar area off the lounge. We had my in-laws and they gave them a very nice room with champagne and strawberries for their 64th anniversary and just overall took great care of us. I didn't try their Spa services unfortunately.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKasper2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We absolutely loved having you stay with us!!! It is always a better stay when you are able to share it with the ones you love. For celebrating a 64 year anniversary we should have shot off fireworks for that!!! That is absolutely incredible….All kidding aside we appreciate you choosing to spend that momentous occasion with us at the Amara. I hope you come back and try out the Spa services next time.

All the best,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The personnel at the Amara are wonderful! Everyone was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. My only complaint is that the pool was really small for the amount of rooms. No place to sit most of the day.

Room Tip: Stay close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Greetings Idbabs,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the kind words about the team… glad you were well taken care of. The staff certainly appreciates the Kudos.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This is the 5th time we have stopped here in the last 3 year's and try as I might to fully review the hotel I have come to the conclusion that this is my dream destination.This year we booked late and nearly didn't make it but once we arrived in Sedona and drove down that steep drive to the Armara a warm glow came over us. Service And staff was excellent as usually.food was good..although expensive..we had room 126 which was a ground floor suite in the newly refurbished wing WOW!! The bedroom and living room where incredible fitted to a very high standard Jacuzzi bath and seperate living room and 3 balconies ..hotel is just completing major refurbishment so was a little noisy.
The views fRom the rear of hotel are probably the best in Sedona and are picture postcard perfect.
Add the Amara to your bucket list..it's a must!
See you next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Greetings Tom082,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Sedona is certainly a magnificent place and I think you hit the nail on the head with it being on a bucket list must. It is so exciting to hear that you are so passionate about the area and that you come back frequently. Glad you enjoyed the renovated suite and new look of the property. See you next year.
Warm regards,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I expected the hotel to be much better than it was. Although the view from the pool is pretty and the hotel is clean and has a pretty good location, the issue we had was that they (over)charge for everything. We felt that anything that we needed (from getting ice, to parking our car, to ordering room service) we had to pay more than other places of similar caliber. The resort fee is slightly higher than the other resorts, the room services has an extra fee attached to it (other than gratuities), and there were renovations going on, that were not advertised. Overall, just an OK experience. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Greetings avz123,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to hear that your visit was just “okay”. We certainly strive for excellence and want all of our guests to have incredible experiences. Valet parking, daily yoga class, access to the steam and mediation rooms in the spa; as well shuttle service within a mile of the property is a great value for the $20 resort fee.
Warm regards,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 49 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 stars 741 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing