We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversary celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Hebron, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“25th Anniversary celebration”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

WOW! What a wonderful hotel with an awesome staff. The resort was being updated which was a good idea to reach the Kimpton feel. We can't say enough about the staff from the valets to the General Manager. Beyond accommdating in order to make our Anniversary even more special. Beautiful views of the Red Rocks by the serene infinity pool. Highly recommended!! A special thank you to the General Manager Patrick and his Team.
Linda and Gary

Room Tip: Corner suites by the creek are lovely with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Congratulations Linda C,
25 year anniversary is certainly something to celebrate!!! We appreciate you choosing to spend your special getaway with us. Thank you for the kind words about the team and I am thrilled to hear that you were well taken care of by everyone. Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Please don’t wait another 25 years to come back and visit. We hope to see you soon.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    290
    114
    18
    18
See reviews for
273
537
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blanco, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We absolutely loved this resort. It is in a great central location in Sedona but has a very secluded view and feel. The pool and hot tub were very nice. The rooms were large and very nice with a balcony and nice view. They had a very fun happy hour and nice bar area off the lounge. We had my in-laws and they gave them a very nice room with champagne and strawberries for their 64th anniversary and just overall took great care of us. I didn't try their Spa services unfortunately.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKasper2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We absolutely loved having you stay with us!!! It is always a better stay when you are able to share it with the ones you love. For celebrating a 64 year anniversary we should have shot off fireworks for that!!! That is absolutely incredible….All kidding aside we appreciate you choosing to spend that momentous occasion with us at the Amara. I hope you come back and try out the Spa services next time.

All the best,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The personnel at the Amara are wonderful! Everyone was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. My only complaint is that the pool was really small for the amount of rooms. No place to sit most of the day.

Room Tip: Stay close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Greetings Idbabs,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the kind words about the team… glad you were well taken care of. The staff certainly appreciates the Kudos.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This is the 5th time we have stopped here in the last 3 year's and try as I might to fully review the hotel I have come to the conclusion that this is my dream destination.This year we booked late and nearly didn't make it but once we arrived in Sedona and drove down that steep drive to the Armara a warm glow came over us. Service And staff was excellent as usually.food was good..although expensive..we had room 126 which was a ground floor suite in the newly refurbished wing WOW!! The bedroom and living room where incredible fitted to a very high standard Jacuzzi bath and seperate living room and 3 balconies ..hotel is just completing major refurbishment so was a little noisy.
The views fRom the rear of hotel are probably the best in Sedona and are picture postcard perfect.
Add the Amara to your bucket list..it's a must!
See you next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Greetings Tom082,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Sedona is certainly a magnificent place and I think you hit the nail on the head with it being on a bucket list must. It is so exciting to hear that you are so passionate about the area and that you come back frequently. Glad you enjoyed the renovated suite and new look of the property. See you next year.
Warm regards,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I expected the hotel to be much better than it was. Although the view from the pool is pretty and the hotel is clean and has a pretty good location, the issue we had was that they (over)charge for everything. We felt that anything that we needed (from getting ice, to parking our car, to ordering room service) we had to pay more than other places of similar caliber. The resort fee is slightly higher than the other resorts, the room services has an extra fee attached to it (other than gratuities), and there were renovations going on, that were not advertised. Overall, just an OK experience. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Greetings avz123,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to hear that your visit was just “okay”. We certainly strive for excellence and want all of our guests to have incredible experiences. Valet parking, daily yoga class, access to the steam and mediation rooms in the spa; as well shuttle service within a mile of the property is a great value for the $20 resort fee.
Warm regards,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I visited Sedona around Memorial Day, during the canyon fire, and were a bit disappointed about the smoke during the cool evenings/mornings. However, we had such a peaceful week staying at Amara. We were not disturbed by kids or dogs (it is a pet-friendly hotel), and even the renovations weren't too disruptive. We enjoyed the cabanas at the pool with the beautiful view and loved the free wine hour each night, especially one evening when it was followed by a live guitar performance. The morning yoga class was a nice way to start the day. Great service by the front desk, valet, and restaurant staff. It's close enough to walk up the hill to the Sedona shops and also has access to Oak Creek. I highly recommend the Amara!

Room Tip: We liked our second floor courtyard room, but it is a bit of a maze to get from there to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTravelLady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
TXTravelLady12,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the daily yoga and evening wine hours. Our patio and pool area is a great place to unwind and relax while taking in the view. The live music is certainly an added perk while enjoying the beautiful weather. Thanks for choosing to spend your vacation with us. Until next time…..

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights end of May. I loved that it was a small boutique hotel. The staff were all amazing as they were professional, down to earth and friendly. We traveled from the East Coast, it was a nice suprise to arrive to live acoustical guitar next to a fire pit and water falls. The restaurant and bar is excellent with both paying attention to fresh foods and quality products. We also enjoyed the infinity pool overlooking the canyon and the cabanas. The room was pricey but it was most likely due to traveling on a holiday. The awesome staff, kimpton perks, and no hidden fees helped make upfor it. We both thoroughly enjoed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Property: Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing