We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in Sedona!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Sedona!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I visited Sedona around Memorial Day, during the canyon fire, and were a bit disappointed about the smoke during the cool evenings/mornings. However, we had such a peaceful week staying at Amara. We were not disturbed by kids or dogs (it is a pet-friendly hotel), and even the renovations weren't too disruptive. We enjoyed the cabanas at the pool with the beautiful view and loved the free wine hour each night, especially one evening when it was followed by a live guitar performance. The morning yoga class was a nice way to start the day. Great service by the front desk, valet, and restaurant staff. It's close enough to walk up the hill to the Sedona shops and also has access to Oak Creek. I highly recommend the Amara!

Room Tip: We liked our second floor courtyard room, but it is a bit of a maze to get from there to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTravelLady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
TXTravelLady12,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the daily yoga and evening wine hours. Our patio and pool area is a great place to unwind and relax while taking in the view. The live music is certainly an added perk while enjoying the beautiful weather. Thanks for choosing to spend your vacation with us. Until next time…..

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    283
    112
    18
    18
See reviews for
267
531
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights end of May. I loved that it was a small boutique hotel. The staff were all amazing as they were professional, down to earth and friendly. We traveled from the East Coast, it was a nice suprise to arrive to live acoustical guitar next to a fire pit and water falls. The restaurant and bar is excellent with both paying attention to fresh foods and quality products. We also enjoyed the infinity pool overlooking the canyon and the cabanas. The room was pricey but it was most likely due to traveling on a holiday. The awesome staff, kimpton perks, and no hidden fees helped make upfor it. We both thoroughly enjoed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We went there as a family, just for one night before going hot air ballooning. The hotel is wonderfully placed in the center of Sedona, close to restaurants and craft shops. But besides its location, the welcome and the comfort were amazing!!! Our rooms were beautifully decorated in a springlike style, we enjoyed a delicious happy hour with red and white wines, as well as lemonades, the valet parking was an very pleasant surprise.

We cannot comment on dinner or breakfast as we went out for both, although we enjoyed coffee in the lobby upon our return from the balloon trip.

Definitely a must when you visit Sedona - a cradle of luxury at a surprisingly affordable price.
Well done!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesslyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Anne,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that one night you stayed with us you felt comfortable and well taken care of; that is certainly our goal. Wine hour is always a great time to unwind and meet some pretty incredible people while sharing your adventures for the day or what adventures you have in store for the next day (hot air ballooning). Come back and stay a little longer next time.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I made our Hotel Amara reservation three months prior to arrival. After reading several reviews, less than stellar, I chose Amara because of the Kimpton flag and thought they were on the right track with modifications and upgrades as reviews indicated. I phoned to make my reservation to specifically request a pool facing room (another helpful hint from TripAdvisor comments). While not guaranteed, I would hope that a reservation so far in advance would have the hope of being honored - wrong! Check in was bumpy due to new staff (that's okay), and I was informed that my reservation was upgraded to a suite, facing the creek. When I declined and requested my original reservation, I was offered a room with a pool view - wrong again. The sliding door faced the brick wall side of the decorative waterfall. I went back to the suite. Don't let the photos lead you: this property is still heavily under renovation (no chairs/table on balconies, no real pool views) and the second floor of one building is empty. The room decor is average and the bathroom small. We were awakened Saturday morning by laborers working on the suite above. Amara, please note that you may want to somewhat soundproof the floor above.

Room Tip: When renovations are complete, request a second floor room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Tracey,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your visit. I am sorry to hear that it was less than a stellar stay and overall disappointing experience. Clearly we missed the mark from the start and it continued throughout which is extremely disappointing. The property was receiving a much needed face lift throughout but I apologize that this impacted your stay. The guest rooms, courtyard, and lobby now have the Kimpton touches that I am sure you are accustomed to. We understand our guests expect a great deal from a Kimpton property and we have those same high expectations for ourselves. I’m sorry we didn’t live up to it but this feedback will ensure we are continually pushing for greatness.
Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I work in the hotel business, so when I see good customer service, I know it! Every single staff member I encountered throughout my weekend stay was amazing. Super friendly, helpful, and always willing to go out of their way for us. Upon check-in the front desk clerk (Olivia!) asked what brought us here and we told her it was for my 21st birthday. Later on that day, I received a complimentary bottle of champagne and a hand written birthday card from her! Talk about awesome, made me feel so welcome! The room was extremely well kept, clean and spacious. Pool was relaxing, and the view was incredible. I especially loved the free yoga classes at the spa and the steam room. There was even a happy hour where there was a free wine bar. Overall, I've never had a better experience at a hotel or resort and I would recommend Amara to anyone looking for a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMD_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro NYC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I recently stayed at the Amara with my mother for a couple days of 'girl time'. We had a fabulous time. The very best thing about the resort is the staff. Every single one was friendly, courteous and helpful - we felt well taken care of, yet they were not pretentious at all. The resort has a beautiful pool/patio with an amazing view. Valet parking is part of the resort fee and they are quick as can be, Even still, I would have liked the option to self-park as I had a day of running back and forth between town and hotel and it would have just been easier. The resort sits down a large hill and while some walked it up and down to get to the main road, they do offer a shuttle bus to take you anywhere within a mile radius. That was helpful as we'd have them drop us and then do some shopping and walk our way back. The nightly 5pm free wine/appetizer hour was nice. Not the world's greatest wine, but it was fine (and free!). And it was nice to sit in the lobby with some other guests or take it out to the patio to enjoy the view.

The room was nice - no major complaints. Couple little things - the bathroom light a little dusty, desk chair a little worn with some dirt smudges, etc. But the important things (bed, toilet, shower, etc) were all very clean. We didn't have the best view - mostly the side of a building, but there were some red rocks in the distance, so we just focused on those! :) We also noticed we didn't have the little bistro set on our deck that the other units had so mentioned it the first morning when we went down for coffee/breakfast. By the time we got back upstairs 30 or so minutes later, we had a bistro set! Very quick and helpful!

We each had facials and massages at the spa and that was wonderful! Great services and no high pressure sell of products at the end.

Even with a couple very minor issues, I still think this is an outstanding resort. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Sedona!

Room Tip: There are three buildings on either side of the lobby connected by outdoor walkways. We requested a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY_Michigander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Be careful when booking this hotel regarding its cancellation policy. We had booked many months in advance. We were advised cancellation was required 72 hours prior to arrival. Due to plane reservations, we needed to cut stay short, from four nights to three. When we called two weeks prior to trip, we were told that entire reservation would have to be cancelled and rebooked at the CURRENT rate, increasing per night rate by over 33%.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OwlsAerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
OwlsAerie,
I am sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. We know traveling is stressful enough without cancelations, planes delayed, etc. We don’t ever want you to have that stressful and frustrating experience at the Amara. The team wants all of our guests to have the best possible experience and will work tirelessly to make it right. Sedona and the Amara are popular destinations and rates do vary depending on time of year. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing