We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancellation Issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cancellation Issues”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Be careful when booking this hotel regarding its cancellation policy. We had booked many months in advance. We were advised cancellation was required 72 hours prior to arrival. Due to plane reservations, we needed to cut stay short, from four nights to three. When we called two weeks prior to trip, we were told that entire reservation would have to be cancelled and rebooked at the CURRENT rate, increasing per night rate by over 33%.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OwlsAerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
OwlsAerie,
I am sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. We know traveling is stressful enough without cancelations, planes delayed, etc. We don’t ever want you to have that stressful and frustrating experience at the Amara. The team wants all of our guests to have the best possible experience and will work tirelessly to make it right. Sedona and the Amara are popular destinations and rates do vary depending on time of year. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    290
    114
    18
    18
See reviews for
273
537
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is being remodeled, but we never heard a sound during our four day stay. Staff said Kimpton is a new owner and bringing it up to Kimpton level, which we interpret as jazzier decor. Location is splendid, just above Oak Creek and with a stunning view of the red rocks. It is about 150 feet below the main street in that end of Sedona, so don't plan on strolling back and forth much. Rooms were good size, reasonably good bathroom space, nice shower. Outstanding bed and bedding and the air worked well, always a concern in a desert environment. We ate at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed it for both dinner and breakfast. Staff was friendly, free wine at 5 pm was drinkable and valets were very helpful with advice on where to hike and drive. Special treat is to walk next door (literally) to the Aubuerge Resort, which has a lovely bar and dinner area right on the creek, with a beautiful umbrella of green trees shading it. You can get dinner in the bar with no reservations and have a choice of about 80% of the dinner menu regular diners have. All in all, the Amara was a good choice for us, even though I think a fair nightly price would be closer to $220 than $269. On the other hand, there doesn't appear to be much competition at their level in the area. I would recommend the Amara to others. PS--we used the Spa and had great massages.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for a room facing outward as opposed to the inner courtyard if quiet is important to...
See more room tips
Green Features: We always put our towels up to dry for at least two days before asking for new ones. I appreciate that the hotel is trying to be sensitive to the environment, which is also just good business.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCIronMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Greetings OClronMike,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are excited about the property receiving a facelift and getting that Kimpton flare that are guests are accustomed to. We are completing the refresh in stages, as to not affect the guest experience. The staff appreciates the kind words and enjoys sharing their knowledge of the area. Glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the spa as well. I hope you will come back and see the finished product next time your travels bring you to Sedona.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great place, service, pool. Still, cost a bit more than value received. Would've expected a bit more, but then again, maybe we were paying Memorial Day rates. The restaurant, 100 Rox, was very good, at the price you'd expect to pay at a nice hotel. However, eating on the patio was very romantic, and fairly unique - looking over their awesome pool.

Room Tip: Don't see much value upgrading for creekside room.
See more room tips
Green Features: They seem to be very environmental. No issues noted
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltarmo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We must have checked every hotel in Sedona before choosing the Amara. Located behind and below the shopping strip, the entrance was a bit tricky to find. The hotel sits on a slope down to a creek and lacks the wide views over the red bluffs which make Sedona so special.

With a large central courtyard containing pool and spa, the rooms are arranged in two long wings. Our room was a superior room with a creek view (average). The room itself was average but fine in every way. Bed comfortable, furniture ok, bathroom fine but not special.

Staff were very nice and helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant where the chef responded very happily to our special food requests. As all shops and restaurants on the strip close by 9pm, the hotel restaurant is a necessary option which we found very helpful and of good quality.

All in all, the Amara is good base for exploring Sedona and its surrounds. However , the resort is somewhat constrained by its location and lack of views.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Things started badly when we had problems self parking. This resort has a resort fee which includes valet parking and they expect people will use this. I don't like valet parking so like to use self parking, there are very few spaces for this. Checkin was fine and the room was lovely. The pool area was very nice and quiet. There is free wine for 1 hour in the evening, we did not really like the wine as we are used to drinking good quality wine. The hotel is at the bottom of a steep slope so isn't very good for those with walking dificulties, apparently there is a bus but I never saw it. I wouldn't stay here again as the parking situation was too stressful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthnRobinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The most amazing place I have ever been!!! Hotel staff are top notch....and the hundred roxx restaurant best food in Sedona!!!! Location absolutely perfect with breath taking views....this is truly a special place and I'm looking forward to returning real soon

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is located in the shopping area of Sedona but you would never know it. It is tucked away and set up so that you really see nothing except the beautiful scenery and yet you can walk a few hundred yards and you are in the downtown district. Rooms were well maintained and quiet. The staff was what really made this place, very happy and always helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumanPotentialDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Property: Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing