We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Resort, Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We've stayed at the Amara Resort on several occasions and have never been disappointed with the impeccable service by the staff, the comfort of the rooms, or the beauty of the grounds. The Amara is another perfect example of what Kimpton does right!
Pet friendly hotel, complimentary wine hour, great food, beautiful creekside infinity pool, very comfortable beds and really friendly staff. Always greeted with a huge smile and "is there anything we can do for you".
We had a room on the courtyard, lower level. There was an event one night in the courtyard area with about 60 or so guests, that was a little loud but didn't last past 10pm. The room was quiet other than that. Rarely heard the occupants above us.
The pool is very relaxing. Had some service but the hotel would benefit from having a dedicated staff member to service the pool visitors, they could make a nice profit by having a someone serving lunches and cocktails around the pool, but we were taken care of a few times by staff. (not a negative comment but a suggestion)
We will definately stay at the Amara when returning to Sedona and recommend this resort to everyone!

Room Tip: Although more expensive, if you want quiet, get a creekside room. More social, get a courtyard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fletchandsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

As others have pointed out, this place has been taken over by the Kimpton Group. Stayed in end-Jan 2014 and while the staff are fantastic, the property still needs some work done to it to bring it up to Kimpton standards. I'm sure this will happen but in the meantime, you can probably find better value places elsewhere in Sedona.

Room Tip: Aim for rooms towards the outer pool end
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

we arrived late afternoon, and we stay in this hotel everything very good and we had the opportunity to stay. Too short the hotel is very beautifull in the center of Sedona, good breakfast. the room are very nice and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickyus-newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have pre, intra and post reviews for this hotel. I reserved this hotel because it was pet friendly. Seeing the warm temps, we decided against bringing our pet. I called and cancelled the pet part of our reservation. At that time I asked if we could have a small refrigerator and was told there is one in every room. I don't recall reading this in any review. I asked if we could have a coffee maker and was told sure, I then asked if there was a microwave available and was also told yes. I was amazed that all these things are available just by asking for them. I was impressed before even getting there. Our stay was wonderful. The rooms are great, very large and comfortable. We had a patio room and though there wasn't a great view it was quiet and serene. We heard music from L'Aubergene next store. The restaurant was very good. Everything tasted very fresh. We did have a couples massage and it was very wonderful, (James was spectacular). The cocktail hour was so fun. Each night we met new people and everyone talked about where they went and where they ate. It was good to get first hand opinions. The absolute best part of this hotel is the scenery. There are gas fire pits all over the courtyard. The hot tub and infinity pool are not only lovely but feel fantastic after a long day of hiking. It was so nice to just have a drink out there and sit and talk. I thought the valet men were the best employees. Everyone was nice but these guys really seemed sincere asking about your day and rushing to get your car. Now, my post experience- I accidently left a pair of pearl earrings on the night stand. Later the day that we left I realized this and called the hotel to see if housekeeping found them. The next day I received a phone call saying my earrings were found and would be sent to me. Very honest employees. This really made my day. I can't say enough about how great this place is.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

There is nothing more beautiful in Sedona to me than to watch the sun hit the red rocks at 6:00am and change throughout the morning in the pool of Amara! The pool was heated and I sat there in awe watching the rays of light open the canopy of wilderness behind the infinity pool. Afterwards, we walked along the creek behind the resort and it was gorgeous! It empties to L'auberge resort where you can actually eat by the creek.

We loved our room as it's back sliding door opened into the dining area where we heard live entertainment in the evening and easy access to the pools. Great orange flavored water always available and Very Dog friendly!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyesprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nice property to stay at in Sedona. Not a big property however it has a nice courtyard. Creek right behind the infinity pool that you can walk down to. Pet friendly, but not over run with pets. Only cons, Kind of thin wall. So you can hear everyone in the hall ways, and if you are on the bottom floor you better hope they walk lightly upstairs.

Room Tip: They are all about the same. Two wings, with two story each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakobi_of_scottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Pros: nice rooms, comfy beds, great outdoor patio/pool space.
Cons: attitude of two staff members acting as concierge were very rude. Depending where you are located within the hotel, there may be stairs/outside walkways to get to your room. Not ideal if you have a lot of luggage. Found it very odd the linen carts are kept outside between the buildings, not practical to keep dry from rain or bugs. Also, a lot of empty room service trays built up outside in the walkways.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwatkins83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Kwatkins83,
Thanks for sharing your honest feedback about your recent visit. I am alarmed to hear that the team members that were less than welcoming. That is neither typical nor acceptable. We understand that with many of the rooms at the end of the property that luggage assistance is a must and the team is ready to help. Our guests on here to relax and enjoy Sedona... let us do the heavy lifting.
We are always looking to be better and we will certainly use this feedback to improve our service levels and improve our overall guest experience. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,

Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
903 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $268 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing