We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sedona - Amara Kimpton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Tucked away in the woods away from the bustle of town but still within walking distance, this Kimpton property was just perfect for us. The infinity pool was perfect mix of luxury and rugged with it jutting into the trees and overtop the stream below - so pretty. The view of the red rocks was beautiful. The room was great and comfortable - perfectly relaxing after a long day of hiking and biking. The patio ideal for morning and evenings. Service as with all kimptons was more than expected and sincere. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Greetings Dee061,
Thank you for sharing your experience. The pool is certainly a great place to relax after your daily adventures. So great that you took advantage of everything that Sedona and the Amara had to offer. The location is ideal as you are close enough to everything but tucked away from uptown.
Thank you for being such a loyal Kimpton guest.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

After reading the reviews my husband and I decided to give this a try. Upon booking I told the hotel we are celebrating our 30th anniversary this year. Let me begin with the positive. The location is great if you want to be in the center of town. It is a very steep walk up the road from the resort to the main road but they will take you up in a shuttle/cart. They serve wine in the lobby every evening if you can be there between I believe it is 5-6. And coffee in the morning between ?-9
The interior of the room was nice but had only one comfortable chair and a desk chair so two are unable to relax at the same time. Now to the negatives. Upon seeing our room on the ground floor and realizing that our door wall opened up into the restaurants dining patio we requested a more private room. None were available and we did not want to spend our time looking for another hotel for two nights. So we were given $25 to use in the restaurant & a bottle of champagne. Not only did we have no privacy and unable to open our blinds and let the light of day in without being greeted by dining guests our interior door was right next to an access door for people coming and going out to the grounds. The walls are paper thin. At night we had shouting children running through the hall and people stomping above us. Starting at 6:00 a.m. there was so much noise from other guests and staff it was impossible to get a good nights sleep. We left here exhausted. When checking out we were asked how things were and I said terrible and would never stay here again so they took another $50 off. While the comps were nice it does not give us back our vacation time and the ruined two nights in Sedona.This room should not be a guest room. The pool did not look nice. Very dark area and cheap chairs.
Since we had $25 to spend in there restaurant we ate dinner there the first night. We could not get a 6:45 reservation but could get a 6:30. The wait staff are not experienced enough to be in a "resort" hotel restaurant. After we had our salad and soup we were brought the desert menu. I was without words but finally said we hadn't had dinner yet! Perhaps if we could have been in a private room our experience would have been different but since it is what is was I can not recommend this resort. I feel they should have given us more off for putting us in a closet of sorts. With Sedona being so beautiful and not being able to look out the window while in your room you might as well stay in a cave.

Room Tip: Be sure not to get room 104 or any one opening up to the restaurant dining patio.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tantibaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

tantibaci,
Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your overall experience including the restaurant. This is clearly not the experience we want any of our guests to have especially those celebrating a special occasion. We are always looking for greatness and clearly this time we missed the mark. We certainly appreciate and value your feedback so that we can use it as an opportunity to improve our service levels for our future guests

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the Amara for several nights in Sedona. Sedona is sooo beautiful, definitely one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen.

The Amara is a great choice if you want to be able to walk to shop and restaurants. Both are easily in walking distance. You need a car to get to the mountains and trails, but I think that is true almost anywhere you stay.

The staff is super-friendly and accommodating. Definitely one of the friendliest hotels I have encountered. On our first day, we waited around and had a rather late check-in and to apologize, the front desk gave us breakfast vouchers for each day we were there. The valet staff were also really nice and fun.

If you want a large pool area with lots of space and seating, this is probably not the hotel for you. The pool area is pretty small although the pool is very pretty. This might not be the best place for lounging around all day because the area could get pretty crowded. On the other hand, if you plan to be out and about during the days and want a central location, the Amara is a great option.

We stayed with a small dog and that went great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Greetings Em042,
As you mentioned Sedona is truly an amazing destination. The location of the Amara is central to uptown Sedona shops and restaurants and the team can provide transportation within a mile of the property. Glad to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful throughout your stay. They take great pride ensuring that all of our guests are well taken care of. Our pool is certainly not an Olympic size pool but it is a great place to relax, unwind, and take in the magnificent views of the red rocks. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sedona.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The Amhara is nestled back from the busy main street of Sedona and an absolute haven! The rooms are spacious and the grounds beautiful and relaxing! The staff at the entire resort is very friendly, helpful and makes the stay extra special. Will sure return here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just got back from a three night stay and we couldn't have been happier choosing the Amara. I had called ahead to let them know it would be my son's birthday upon on our arrival and they left him lovely notes and an assortment of candy and treats that really made him feel special. We celebrated having dinner at the resort and it was a wonderful meal. The location of the hotel is perfect. Walk up the hill and you are in uptown Sedona. Loved that the hotel was off the street. Amazing views of snoopy rock from the pool area. Speaking of pool area, very lovely. Our room was spacious, we had a king suite and I ordered a rollaway bed so my two kids had their own bed (pull out sofa in room) and my husband and I got the king. Bathroom was nice with a huge whirlpool tub that we couldn't resist. I loved having a robe to use as well. Only negative I could say that the room was big enough to include a dresser which would have been nice for some drawer space. Also the bathroom needs a place to hang a hand towel. Otherwise I highly recommend would definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank hdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Spent 3 nights here in April 2014 with family. Pool is nice, but only 3' deep and not a lot of seating. Ate at Hundred Rox [their restaurant] and had great lunch and very nice dinner. Staff is very accommodating, valet guys were great.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank wanderingbrooksnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Amara Resort this past weekend and simply loved our stay. Our room was spacious and well appointed which opened onto the courtyard. The grounds are immaculately maintained! We loved the fact the the property is on the creek and the courtyard/pool area has an amazing view of the Sedona red hills.
If that wasn't enough the service was impeccable. Every staff member we encountered was genuinely interested in doing whatever they could to make our stay wonderful. We were so impressed with the friendly reception we received at the front desk. We had lunch on the patio which was excellent! As, we're the cocktails. Brent the food manager works very hard at servicing the guests as do the wonderful people up front and the housekeeping staff.
We simply loved our stay and hated it leave. It was outer first experience with a Kimpton hotel, we will definitely be looking to stay at the amaranth again and their other properties if possible!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ben1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
901 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $271 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing