We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Spent 3 nights here in April 2014 with family. Pool is nice, but only 3' deep and not a lot of seating. Ate at Hundred Rox [their restaurant] and had great lunch and very nice dinner. Staff is very accommodating, valet guys were great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wanderingbrooksnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    275
    107
    17
    17
See reviews for
259
513
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Amara Resort this past weekend and simply loved our stay. Our room was spacious and well appointed which opened onto the courtyard. The grounds are immaculately maintained! We loved the fact the the property is on the creek and the courtyard/pool area has an amazing view of the Sedona red hills.
If that wasn't enough the service was impeccable. Every staff member we encountered was genuinely interested in doing whatever they could to make our stay wonderful. We were so impressed with the friendly reception we received at the front desk. We had lunch on the patio which was excellent! As, we're the cocktails. Brent the food manager works very hard at servicing the guests as do the wonderful people up front and the housekeeping staff.
We simply loved our stay and hated it leave. It was outer first experience with a Kimpton hotel, we will definitely be looking to stay at the amaranth again and their other properties if possible!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is my second stay. And Wow what a difference. Management has gone out of its way to make this a wonderful place to stay. They make you feel like you are family. Warm atmosphere. Great location. Loved it

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Magachelle,

Thanks for giving us another opportunity. We are thrilled that you felt like family as that is our goal when you are visiting our home. Come back and see us soon.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is an older property, but has been updated. I would not refer to this as a spa property.
The spa is adjacent to the property. I did not notice many guest using the spa.

There were many families at the pool. I understand that people return year after year,
We did not score a lawn chair once at the pool. They present a spa atmosphere with sparse chairs and cabanas.... They need 25 plus more chairs....for families and guests.
.
The location is good. You do have to hike a hill to get into the main drag. The hotel will also take you a short distance.

The staff was great... Especially the valets. Very friendly....nice evening reception,

Great sandwich shop behind the main street. They are open until 2pm. Natural, healthy,and huge!!!

We enjoyed live music at the Hilton. The Verde train ride and Loved dinner at the local airport!

The hike on Bell Rock was very enjoyable...easy! Parking was a problem so arrive early.

I would love ti hike more....so many options!!'

Sedona is very beautiful...

Room Tip: We did not have a room with out door seating....you need a room with a deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atarnove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Greetings atamove,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit. I am thrilled you enjoyed your time in Sedona and thank you for the kind words about the staff. The staff is here to help in any way they can and want you to feel at home. Sedona is truly a magical place with so much to do.
The pool area is certainly a popular place any time of the day to relax and enjoy the incredible views. We will be adding additional seating in the next couple of months when the resort receives a face lift. In additional to the pool seating the courtyard, guest rooms, meeting rooms and restaurant will be updated to give it the Kimpton touch. The spa does see quite a bit of traffic whether it is for the daily yoga classes, treatments, or just to relax in the sanctuary or steam rooms.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I only had time to stay one night but it was the most enjoyable 24 hours. The location is perfect as the resort and pool has views of the red rock landscape yet you are very close to all the shopping and restaurants of Sedona. We enjoyed relaxing at the cabanas and poolside drinks once we had checked into our room. After failing to get dinner reservations elsewhere we opted to eat at the hotel . . this was a wonderful treat. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner on the patio with heated lanterns and great attentive wait staff. After a great night sleep on very comfortable mattresses, we took advantage of a wonderful yoga class at the spa. It was fantastic and a great start to our day. I'm definitely returning to this hotel and will plan to stay much longer next time! :)

Room Tip: Enjoyed our 2nd floor balcony but the truth is we didn't spend much time in our room as the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackStuartisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Greetings JackStuartisme,
It sounds like you had an amazing 24 hours. From the wine hour to the yoga, to enjoying the pool and indulging in dinner with amazing views…..you experienced it all. Thanks for sharing your incredible experience. We hope you will spend more time with us next time.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Great location, extremely guest focussed staff... They spoil you. Loved the evening views while lounging in the heated pool and the hot tub - cabanas offered on first come first serve basis. We only did breakfast ( were out hiking in sedona rest of the day) and it was top notch. Loved their complimentary wine idea and included valet service. All in all, a great experience and would highly recommend to other families.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SidSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
SidSingh,

Wow!!! Thanks for sharing your amazing experience. I am delighted to hear that you felt spoiled by the team that truly made my day. They are incredible and truly make the experience. We appreciate you choosing to spend your spring break with us. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Amara is a gem hidden in uptown Sedona. The location is fantastic and convenient to everything. It is surrounded by shops and restaurants all within walking distance. They also have a complimentary shuttle that will take you and from any location within 1 mile.

Aside from the wonderful things Kimpton usually offers such as Complimentary Wine Hour in the evening and morning Coffee and Tea, we were greeted by a spa employee offering 10 minute chair massages. He was excellent.

We did not get a chance to participate in morning yoga, though the ladies coming from the class looked both exhilarated and relaxed at the same time.

The grounds of the resort are lovely. There is a creek hidden 2 minutes on a walking path from the hotel. A compact but beautiful heated salt water pool surrounded by lounge chair and cabanas. Plenty of outside patio space for Hundred Rox, an EXCELLENT restaurant we had several breakfasts, lunches, and dinners. The only thing we had an issue with was the restaurant charging us another guest's bill, which they removed when they discovered they could not find the receipts. This took us extra time at check-out for them to resolve.

The rooms were updated but could have used a little help. My room had ripped curtains, the bathroom vent fan sounded like a motorcycle, and noise was easily heard between rooms. Housekeeping was the only service I would not have called excellent, as they would forget to bring back clean glasses, shampoo, conditioner, etc.

We would like to especially thank Mattea who was cheerful and smart. She was exceedingly helpful and able to identify problems and solutions quickly. She also recognized me from a phone call the previous day. She reminded me of service I commonly receive at the Four Seasons.

Crysta checked us in and though we were the only guests checking in at the time. While the other ladies are the front desk were busy chatting and avoiding contact with us, Crysta cheerfully greeted us and helped us quickly.

Emilie at Hundred Rox was exceptionally gracious and accommodating.
Reagan was amazing as well. He went out of his way to ensure that a lost pendant was returned to my friend. He also drive us up a block because we didn't know where we were going. Though it was embarrassing to us, the service he offered reminded me of the Four Seasons as well.

The two ladies I was traveling with had never experienced a Kimpton hotel, but after this experience, they both swore to try Kimpton's more regularly.

Thank you all for the wonderful experience!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are broken up with stairs, so if you have issues with stairs, I would men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travellotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Greetings travellotus,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I appreciate the shout outs to Mattea, Crysta, Emilee, and Reagan….they are rock stars. I am ecstatic that your traveling companions got to experience Kimpton (wine hour, morning coffee, free wifi, and great personalized service.) The best news is....it is only going to get better as our property will receive a face lift beginning in less than 4 weeks. The guest rooms, lobby, meeting space, pool area, and courtyard will receive the Kimpton touch that we have come to love. You will have to come back and check it out.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing