We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Arabella Hotel Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$179
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$209
$195
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
GreenTree Inn Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$313
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Auberge de Sedona(Sedona)
$554
$424
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedona Summit Resort(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$187
$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$525
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveler rating
714
330
133
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
714
330
133
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolwine hoursalt rockfree happy hourcomplimentary winevalet parking islawn gamessteam roomvalet guysresort feevalet servicesnoopy rockyoga classeshotel restaurantfree shuttlehot tublounge chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
952 - 957 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is an older property, but has been updated. I would not refer to this as a spa property.
The spa is adjacent to the property. I did not notice many guest using the spa.

There were many families at the pool. I understand that people return year after year,
We did not score a lawn chair once at the pool. They present a spa atmosphere with sparse chairs and cabanas.... They need 25 plus more chairs....for families and guests.
.
The location is good. You do have to hike a hill to get into the main drag. The hotel will also take you a short distance.

The staff was great... Especially the valets. Very friendly....nice evening reception,

Great sandwich shop behind the main street. They are open until 2pm. Natural, healthy,and huge!!!

We enjoyed live music at the Hilton. The Verde train ride and Loved dinner at the local airport!

The hike on Bell Rock was very enjoyable...easy! Parking was a problem so arrive early.

I would love ti hike more....so many options!!'

Sedona is very beautiful...

Room Tip: We did not have a room with out door seating....you need a room with a deck
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atarnove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Greetings atamove,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit. I am thrilled you enjoyed your time in Sedona and thank you for the kind words about the staff. The staff is here to help in any way they can and want you to feel at home. Sedona is truly a magical place with so much to do.
The pool area is certainly a popular place any time of the day to relax and enjoy the incredible views. We will be adding additional seating in the next couple of months when the resort receives a face lift. In additional to the pool seating the courtyard, guest rooms, meeting rooms and restaurant will be updated to give it the Kimpton touch. The spa does see quite a bit of traffic whether it is for the daily yoga classes, treatments, or just to relax in the sanctuary or steam rooms.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I only had time to stay one night but it was the most enjoyable 24 hours. The location is perfect as the resort and pool has views of the red rock landscape yet you are very close to all the shopping and restaurants of Sedona. We enjoyed relaxing at the cabanas and poolside drinks once we had checked into our room. After failing to get dinner reservations elsewhere we opted to eat at the hotel . . this was a wonderful treat. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner on the patio with heated lanterns and great attentive wait staff. After a great night sleep on very comfortable mattresses, we took advantage of a wonderful yoga class at the spa. It was fantastic and a great start to our day. I'm definitely returning to this hotel and will plan to stay much longer next time! :)

Room Tip: Enjoyed our 2nd floor balcony but the truth is we didn't spend much time in our room as the hotel grounds and amenities were lovely!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackStuartisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Greetings JackStuartisme,
It sounds like you had an amazing 24 hours. From the wine hour to the yoga, to enjoying the pool and indulging in dinner with amazing views…..you experienced it all. Thanks for sharing your incredible experience. We hope you will spend more time with us next time.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Great location, extremely guest focussed staff... They spoil you. Loved the evening views while lounging in the heated pool and the hot tub - cabanas offered on first come first serve basis. We only did breakfast ( were out hiking in sedona rest of the day) and it was top notch. Loved their complimentary wine idea and included valet service. All in all, a great experience and would highly recommend to other families.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank SidSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

SidSingh,

Wow!!! Thanks for sharing your amazing experience. I am delighted to hear that you felt spoiled by the team that truly made my day. They are incredible and truly make the experience. We appreciate you choosing to spend your spring break with us. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Amara is a gem hidden in uptown Sedona. The location is fantastic and convenient to everything. It is surrounded by shops and restaurants all within walking distance. They also have a complimentary shuttle that will take you and from any location within 1 mile.

Aside from the wonderful things Kimpton usually offers such as Complimentary Wine Hour in the evening and morning Coffee and Tea, we were greeted by a spa employee offering 10 minute chair massages. He was excellent.

We did not get a chance to participate in morning yoga, though the ladies coming from the class looked both exhilarated and relaxed at the same time.

The grounds of the resort are lovely. There is a creek hidden 2 minutes on a walking path from the hotel. A compact but beautiful heated salt water pool surrounded by lounge chair and cabanas. Plenty of outside patio space for Hundred Rox, an EXCELLENT restaurant we had several breakfasts, lunches, and dinners. The only thing we had an issue with was the restaurant charging us another guest's bill, which they removed when they discovered they could not find the receipts. This took us extra time at check-out for them to resolve.

The rooms were updated but could have used a little help. My room had ripped curtains, the bathroom vent fan sounded like a motorcycle, and noise was easily heard between rooms. Housekeeping was the only service I would not have called excellent, as they would forget to bring back clean glasses, shampoo, conditioner, etc.

We would like to especially thank Mattea who was cheerful and smart. She was exceedingly helpful and able to identify problems and solutions quickly. She also recognized me from a phone call the previous day. She reminded me of service I commonly receive at the Four Seasons.

Crysta checked us in and though we were the only guests checking in at the time. While the other ladies are the front desk were busy chatting and avoiding contact with us, Crysta cheerfully greeted us and helped us quickly.

Emilie at Hundred Rox was exceptionally gracious and accommodating.
Reagan was amazing as well. He went out of his way to ensure that a lost pendant was returned to my friend. He also drive us up a block because we didn't know where we were going. Though it was embarrassing to us, the service he offered reminded me of the Four Seasons as well.

The two ladies I was traveling with had never experienced a Kimpton hotel, but after this experience, they both swore to try Kimpton's more regularly.

Thank you all for the wonderful experience!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are broken up with stairs, so if you have issues with stairs, I would mention it on check-in.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travellotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Greetings travellotus,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I appreciate the shout outs to Mattea, Crysta, Emilee, and Reagan….they are rock stars. I am ecstatic that your traveling companions got to experience Kimpton (wine hour, morning coffee, free wifi, and great personalized service.) The best news is....it is only going to get better as our property will receive a face lift beginning in less than 4 weeks. The guest rooms, lobby, meeting space, pool area, and courtyard will receive the Kimpton touch that we have come to love. You will have to come back and check it out.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Loved it. The entire staff, from the front desk to the spa personnel to the valet was exceptional. Free wine hour at 5pm to 6pm...and they love to pour. The first night we sat next to the outdoor patio fire pit with our wine, admiring the scenery, to include the awesome infinity pool and hot tub. We had dinner in the resort restaurant our first of the two night stay. Excellent food and service but pricey.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the creek and ask for a coffee pot delivered to your room otherwise you will be walking to the lobby to get a cup.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Rebecca D,
Thank you for sharing your Amara experience. The kind words about the team are greatly appreciated. Wine Hour is can’t miss… whether you are indoors meeting guests from all over the world or sitting outside by the fire pits taking in the incredible views of Sedona, it is a great time. Chef is thrilled to hear that dinner was hit. See you next time your travels take you to Sedona.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews