We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New favorite resort in Arizona!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Wow, what an excellent experience at the Amara. From beginning to end, our one night mini-vacation at this hotel was exceptional.
This hotel must have the best staff ever, as we received above and beyond service from everyone working during our stay.
The hotel is configured in a horseshoe around a lovely courtyard and beautiful saltwater infinity pool on the banks of Oak Creek. The rooms are angled and staggered, so each balcony has a little privacy from the other rooms, and affords great views of the lovely Supai sandstone formations for which Sedona is famous. This makes all the interior rooms great, but for a real treat, try the creek view suite.
We received room 226, and we're thoroughly impressed. The room was well appointed, and colossal in size, with a living room area on one side, and a king bed and dining table opposite. The room opened out onto a huge deck, complete with a table and chairs to enjoy the view of the creek and pool. It made for a lovely spot to enjoy a drink while the creek babbled in the background and the birds played in the cottonwood and sycamore trees. But best of all was the huge, jetted soaking tub in the bath, with a big picture window to look out on the red rocks while soaking.
For food, the restaurant Hundred Rox is exceptional. We debated room service for dinner, but decided to try the restaurant, and were overwhelmed by the quality of our experience. My fiancée is gluten and dairy free, which can be difficult while traveling, but not here. She was taken care of from the moment we walked in, with the chef personally preparing custom appetizers for us to sample, and the wait staff ensuring that she received a great meal despite her dietary restrictions. In all our travels, this restaurant did the absolute best job accommodating her needs, while providing us both a wonderfully delicious and truly memorable dining experience.
One note, unlike other Kimpton properties I have been to recently, the Amara does not have alcohol in their mini-bar selection, so plan ahead by bringing some libations, or head to the bar.
Other than that, this resort is total perfection!
Our only regret was only staying one night. We will have to find an excuse to return soon, and stay longer.

Room Tip: The creek view suite is amazing, totally worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Partly by reading the reviews on TA I decided to stay at Amara for 3 nights, and I wish we had gone for the gold and stayed at L'Auberge de Sedona next door. The people at Amara were very nice, but the hotel itself does not warrant a resort and spa label -- and the $20 resort tax underscores that. Rooms are nice, but the facilities are patchwork and cramped. Amara is not a luxury resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tunkiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Greetings tunkiemo

I’m sorry we didn’t provide you with a gold medal experience. The property will be a receiving a face lift this upcoming summer, specifically the guest rooms, lobby, courtyard, and additional seating at the pool. It will receive the Kimpton touches and flare we are all accustomed to. Valet parking, daily yoga class, access to the steam and mediation rooms in the spa; as well shuttle service within a mile of the property is a great value for the $20 resort fee. Thanks for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just spent the weekend at the Amara. The resort is fabulous - comfortable, easy and fun! But the staff make it...every person we met was delightful and seemed to enjoy the work they did. A special shout out to Emily and Regan in the bar who were helpful and fun to be around. A great resort...already planning a return trip for next year. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Connie C,

Wow!!! Very high praise. Thank you for the shout outs to Emilee and Regan. They are certainly assets to our properly and well loved by many. We can’t wait to have you back. See you next time. Thank you for staying with us.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

What makes an awesome vacation ? Great location, excellent service and hospitality....Amara has it all ! Sedona has several other good options...but Amara makes your trip to Sedona special.
Was very impressed with their courteous, friendly staff who are always smiling and makes you feel special- this according to me is an asset that makes them better than other resorts around the place. Enjoy their pictursque view, infinity pool, perfectly located yoga rooms, delicious food and nice spa !! Highly recommend this place. Not to forget- THEY ARE DOG FRIENDLY WITH NO RESTRICTIONS- done leave your loved ones behind :)

Room Tip: 2nd floor , rooms next to the meditation rooms have the best view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivek l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The view of the red rocks was beautiful and we were upgraded to a suite which was very nice. The Spa was not exceptional but was relaxing. The resort was very small and was not very spacious. One could almost describe it as crowded. The pool was nice and the area was convenient. The wine reception didn't have very good wine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandJenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

JohnandJenna,
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed the upgrade and were able to relax in the Spa. The resort is quite intimate and depending on the time of day can feel very active. The salt water pool offers a great way to relax and enjoy the beauty of the red rocks. Wine hour is the best part of the day as it allows to pour guests it meet some amazing people from all over the world and share their adventures from the day while having a beverage . What a great way to enjoy the evening.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I booked a get away to the Amara Resort. It couldn't have been better. Awesome yoga class in the morning to start the day. So many beautiful places to hike nearby. Home to a wonderful salt tub. The food at the Amara was so good we never went anyplace else to eat in 3 days. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: W had a room towards the back on the river.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilene h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

ileneH,
That is certainly high praise and we love hearing it. Yoga is certainly a great way to start the day. Glad you explored beautiful Sedona and all of the hiking trails. Isn’t the area incredible? Chef Rick is thrilled to hear you loved the restaurant and didn’t go anywhere else. Come back and visit us.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at the Amara just before Thanksgiving and it rained the whole time we were there 3 straight days. That being said the staff couldn't have been more welcoming and went above and beyond to make sure we had the best time possible.

The check in process was quick and we were given a room that overlooked the stream and Snoopy rock. I imagine this would have been better not in the rain since we had to step outside twice to get the the lobby but it wasn't a big deal to us. It is a bit of a walk from the lobby if anyone wanted to be closer. The room was spacious and had a generous sized tub and a nice terrace. It was very quiet and peaceful.

During our stay the property was still in transiting over to the Kimpton values but the staff was already there. They were able to make a lot of suggestions on what to do around town even during the rain. When we wanted to watch the football game they called around to see who was showing it and a quick hop in the complementary shuttle and we were there. We also took a Pink Jeep Tour which was still great even in the rain. The front desk also had DVDs on hand if we wanted to snuggle and just stay in bed. The staff was also able to recommend some shorter hiking trails which we were able to fit in, in an hour while it was only slightly drizzling.

My favorite part of the stay was Pickles! The dog in training to be their pet ambassador. Some people might not think having a puppy to play with on vacation makes a difference but I loved coming down to the lobby and having him greet me every morning. While he was a puppy and still learning he was such a fun dog that I know will make a great Pet Ambassador.

Thanks Amara for a great trip! Hopefully the next time I stay we'll see some sunshine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyKitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

JodyKitcher,
Rain, rain, rain, go away. Mother Nature sometimes doesn’t cooperate but sounds like you had an amazing time anyway. That is awesome that you didn’t let the rain spoil your time in Sedona. Sedona really is a spectacular place and getting out on a jeep tour is a fun and great way to see the area. It is great to hear that the team was able to provide some fun options and ensure you had the best possible time.
Pickles was thrilled to see you as well and says hello. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
901 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $271 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing