We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
GreenTree Inn Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$335
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedona Summit Resort(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$594
$479
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$287
$259
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arabella Hotel Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
$179
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$235
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$585
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveler rating
713
330
133
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
330
133
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolwine hoursalt rockfree happy hourcomplimentary winevalet parking islawn gamessteam roomvalet guysresort feevalet servicesnoopy rockyoga classeshotel restaurantfree shuttlehot tublounge chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
984 - 989 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very calm and relaxing great views very helpful staff. Hotel is laid out in linear fashion so getting to your room from pool can take some navigating and walking if you are on second floor. Only chance for improvement might be to assure a supply of towels at pool for late afternoon but that is picking nits

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank goob007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Sedona, Arizona is a magical place and the Amara Spa and Resort is a jewel. There is an endless pool, a lovely restaurant, helpful concierge, beautiful rooms, free bikes, free yoga, and much more. We hated to leave. Kimpton has wonderful amenities for InCircle members. They are taking suggestions for improvement and plan to renovate this summer. My daughter and her friend also visited there in the fall and loved it.
coffee in the morning, ice water any time, flowers everywhere, friendly people

Room Tip: we didn't travel with children or use the spa. Be sure to take the yoga class and go on one of the hikes. the concierge can provide maps, distances and recommendations on difficulty
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We enjoyed every moment of our stay here. Every time I arrive at a Kimpton and the team is there waiting to take my car, or open my door, I instantly feel relaxed and at my home away from home. Amara is one of the top Kimpton properties I have stayed at. BEAUTIFUL location, nicely appointed, clean, updated, comfortable, and quiet. EXCELLENT customer service from every single person we encountered.

The value of what we got for our money was OUTSTANDING!
-Infinity saltwater pool (so relaxing in or out) +saltwater hot tub
-Complimentary shuttle around town ~ perfect and relaxing option for dinner so you can have a margarita or two at dinner and someone else can drive you 'home'
-The always nice Kimpton InTouch Perks:
Complimentary Happy Hour
Free Coffee in the morning
Free Wifi in your room
Raid the Mini Bar Voucher saves us every time after a long day of travel
-The Spa!
Free Yoga was a highlight of our 'us' time
Steam Room was incredibly therapeutic

-Super comfortable bed
-Spacious room that was immaculately clean
-Safe in room (always love that feature)
-Very quiet during our stay - we slept great!
-Enjoyed our 2nd floor balcony very much, loved that we could sleep with the door open and hear the waterfalls outside (so relaxing)
-The fire pits at night are a great idea, great warmth and ambiance

We would definitely recommend a courtyard view room (even over the creek rooms) on the 2nd floor. Depending on the time of year and how much you like sun, we would recommend staying in the east wing - those rooms will get the sun from the west at the end of the day.

Great staff made us feel relaxed and comfortable. Just the right amount of formality, with a casual laid-back approach. Spot on.

Really, we can't complain about anything during our stay! In fact, if we come back to Sedona, we will definitely stay here again, hands down. Just wish we had had one more day to ride the free Public bikes, hang out another afternoon at the pool, and fit in another steam. Really, no need to leave the resort if you are here to relax!

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend a courtyard view room (even over the creek rooms) on the 2nd floor - center. Depending on the time of year and how much you like sun, we would recommend staying in the east wing - those rooms will get the sun from the west at the end of the day.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bealocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Amara is a wonderful hotel with a scenic view of the Red Rocks, hot tub, and amazing service. The food is delicious and there is a great variety. The beds were comfortable and the rooms had refrigerators for storage. There was a spacious closet and decks outside for easy pool access and relaxing outdoor experiences.

Room Tip: The location is convenient to shopping and dining
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our second stay here, and now once again taken over by yet another hotel chain Kimpton. Seems over the past 6 years the turnover of management has been more than usual. The area is beautiful, but they could pay a little more attention to the common grounds. Stayed in month of February and just not beautifully kept. Even in the month of February you can have color and inviting presentation to the resort. The lobby area needs updating. The area for computer/printer access again didn't work, out of order. Had to have the front desk assist with obtaining flight boarding passes. Resort fees are expensive, and Wifi not free, unless you fill out form for Kimpton. Overall, average resort, not sure if we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Sharon K,
Thank you for your honest feedback about your recent visit. Kimpton has recently purchased the property and is committed to improving the resort and the overall guest experience. The resort will be receiving a bit of a face lift this upcoming summer with a soft goods renovation to the guest rooms, lobby, restaurant, and courtyard area. In addition, the landscaping of the property will be addressed. Valet parking, daily yoga class, access to the steam and relaxation rooms, as well as shuttle service within a mile radius of the property are included in the resort fee. Complimentary wifi is available by joining the Kimpton-In Touch program which is also free. We certainly use your feedback to improve the overall guest experience.
Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews