We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peace and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We arrived in Sedona from Baltimore via Phoenix after an incredibly stressful morning (which is a whole other story). The drive is amazing, and although Sedona in many ways is a typically touristy spa town, the scenery immediately made us feel better... then the Amara put the icing on the cake. We were greeted by informative and helpful staff who took care of everything very efficiently and without fuss. As three friends travelling together we requested a rollaway bed and they fixed it up straight away for us. We were given vouchers for a free drink, which was really appreciated after our morning, and we enjoyed these in the lovely outdoor seating area. The hotel is nicely nestled at the bottom of a VERY steep driveway off the kind of unattractive main strip, so it's quiet, and it's small enough that even with lots of guests, it doesn't feel too crowded or rowdy. Would really have loved to have participated in the morning yoga, but wasn't prepared so didn't have the right clothing for that kind of thing! Something to remember for next time (hopefully there is a next time).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSlatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    278
    110
    18
    17
See reviews for
265
521
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in Jan. Location is great as right downtown. The reason for only 3 stars is this does not live up to Kimpton quality. Place needs a facelift which they told us is scheduled for June '14. Plants were in need of serious tlc.

Worth booking a room with view as our room felt like a dungeon.

Staff is very responsive and good yoga class.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlblsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Greetings jlblsl,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. As you mentioned the guest rooms, lobby, restaurant, and courtyard will be a getting a facelift this upcoming summer. You will see the Kimpton touches you are accustomed to. I so glad you enjoyed the yoga classes.

Come back and see us later this year.
Patrick Gaskin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Spent the first weekend of December here and have to say we were all greatly surprised by the amazing staff. Valet staff to check in and room service, excellent. They made my children and grandchildren all feel very welcome. Amazing morning yoga session with a female instructor, sorry we didnt get her name, keep her! That is our new favorite place to stay. Great dining experience , consider a more massive view push out the wall lose the heavy drapes and take advantage of the best view in Sedona that cradles your courtyard. The breakfast staff excelent and great large mealsyou may want to consider requesting smalker portions, it was a big meal for one person. Fruit was fresh and the staff went out of their way to accomodate my grandchildren. Extra touches everywhere to include free chair massages with evening wine tasting. Rooms were super clean with an abundance of towels! Great stay price was well worth it and found great deal through internet. It was a the perfect family weekend and live the pets! Thank you and see you soon!

Room Tip: There are view balconies and full step out balconies, remember to request if thats what you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dawn J
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We want to ensure that all of our guests feel special, whether they are youngsters or young at heart, that is our goal. Yoga is a great way to start the day and our instructors are incredible.
Thank you for spending your family weekend with us. We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Warm regards,
Patrick
Patrick Gaskin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at the Amara Resort at Sedona for four days during the Christmas break. Amazing staff, always friendly and helpful, with a great attitude. If you have stayed at other Kimpton hotels, the service is typical of what you've come to expect. Lobby area is small but inviting and relaxing. Morning coffee, refreshing beverage during the day, evening wine reception, are all included. The room was spacious and comfortable with a balcony, we had one overlooking the garden/pool, with an amazing view of the red rocks. Gym was good, but we didnt take advantage of any of the spa facilities. Beds were comfortable and bathroom/amenties were outstanding. We had breakfast at the Hundred Rox restaurant and it was excellent and priced reasonably. We had a very comfortable stay, it was walking distance to the uptown shops and restaurants, great location. Calling it a resort might be a stretch, but it was a very good hotel, and I would highly recommend it if you get a good price.

Room Tip: The creekside rooms facing the pool with views of the red rock formations
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G S s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night and would have stayed a lot longer had I been able. From the moment I walked in (took the shuttle - Arizona Shuttle from Phoenix) I felt relaxed. The views are gorgeous. The room had a terrace that allowed me to sit outside and read, look at the views, and relax. There is access to the creek which is easy to get to and there is a heated pool (infinity type pool). There is also a separate building for the spa. The staff is new and is still learning but they were all so earnest and trying really hard to exceed all of the customers' expectations. The food in the restaurant was fine but there are other places to eat in Sedona that are better imo.

As an Inner Circle member I found it odd that I didn't receive an amenity (although I did receive a note) but perhaps they don't give one at this hotel. The Wi-Fi was very good quality.

The rooms are undergoing a renovation and updating which is needed. Furnishings from the 70s/80s. The ability to get to the room itself is a bit odd for certain rooms. All in all though the vibe from the hotel and the staff's genuineness to try and make the stay as wonderful as possible made this an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Sign up for the InTouch program
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sealizis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Amara is in a lovely location along the Oak Creek. The pool area is beautiful and calming. The view from the hot tub is exceptional. The lobby is small but welcoming and comfortable. The rooms, however, need some attention. We reserved a one bedroom creekside suite. The views from our room were lovely, but the room itself is basically 2 older style motel rooms joined together. The suite simply was not a good value. There was no closet and the lighting was poor. The bed linens were wrinkled and lacked the crisp finish one expects at this price point.
On the positive side, the rooms were basically clean. My children stayed in a standard 2 queen room - a much better value and layout then the 1 bedroom suite.
There were many dogs staying at the resort - At times the halls smelled stale - perhaps due to the canine traffic.
From what I learned, this property only recently became a Kimpton. Perhaps with time, they will fix some of the problems and bring the property to its full potential!

Room Tip: One bedroom creekside suite is not a good value. View is lovely, but room is depressing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michiganmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Michiganmaven,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. As you mentioned the property was recently purchased by Kimpton and will soon get a facelift. We are excited to have a property in such an amazing location. The guest rooms and public area will be receiving a great deal of attention during our upcoming renovation this summer. I appreciate your comments you mentioned about the layout of the suite, it’s certainly something we have on our radar. Being a Kimpton we are certainly pet friendly and with the holiday many our guests were traveling with their pets.

Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very central location in "uptown" and about 2 hrs 15 minutes to the Grand Canyon. Hotel is pleasant, breakfast is good (a separate recommend is the wildflower bakery near the Hyatt) and has basically everything you need. The view from the pool and hot tub is beautiful although a 7.30am - 6.00 pm close was a bit too late / early respectively when sightseeing all day. We were a family of four and the suite we had was great - a separate room with a door/separate entrance and toilet. They have a free taxi service that will take you anywhere within a mile radius and back which was really awesome given its at the bottom of a steep hill and means you can drink at dinner. Great place, would stay again when in Sedona.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FulhamWhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Filhamwhites,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you loved our location and that were a great place to set up camp for the Grand Canyon. As you mentioned, the shuttle is great amenity to take you around town or to the top of the hill, the hill is exhausting after a long day hiking or so that you can enjoy a few beverages at dinner. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sedona.
Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing