We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Spent the first weekend of December here and have to say we were all greatly surprised by the amazing staff. Valet staff to check in and room service, excellent. They made my children and grandchildren all feel very welcome. Amazing morning yoga session with a female instructor, sorry we didnt get her name, keep her! That is our new favorite place to stay. Great dining experience , consider a more massive view push out the wall lose the heavy drapes and take advantage of the best view in Sedona that cradles your courtyard. The breakfast staff excelent and great large mealsyou may want to consider requesting smalker portions, it was a big meal for one person. Fruit was fresh and the staff went out of their way to accomodate my grandchildren. Extra touches everywhere to include free chair massages with evening wine tasting. Rooms were super clean with an abundance of towels! Great stay price was well worth it and found great deal through internet. It was a the perfect family weekend and live the pets! Thank you and see you soon!

Room Tip: There are view balconies and full step out balconies, remember to request if thats what you're...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dawn J
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We want to ensure that all of our guests feel special, whether they are youngsters or young at heart, that is our goal. Yoga is a great way to start the day and our instructors are incredible.
Thank you for spending your family weekend with us. We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Warm regards,
Patrick
Patrick Gaskin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at the Amara Resort at Sedona for four days during the Christmas break. Amazing staff, always friendly and helpful, with a great attitude. If you have stayed at other Kimpton hotels, the service is typical of what you've come to expect. Lobby area is small but inviting and relaxing. Morning coffee, refreshing beverage during the day, evening wine reception, are all included. The room was spacious and comfortable with a balcony, we had one overlooking the garden/pool, with an amazing view of the red rocks. Gym was good, but we didnt take advantage of any of the spa facilities. Beds were comfortable and bathroom/amenties were outstanding. We had breakfast at the Hundred Rox restaurant and it was excellent and priced reasonably. We had a very comfortable stay, it was walking distance to the uptown shops and restaurants, great location. Calling it a resort might be a stretch, but it was a very good hotel, and I would highly recommend it if you get a good price.

Room Tip: The creekside rooms facing the pool with views of the red rock formations
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G S s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night and would have stayed a lot longer had I been able. From the moment I walked in (took the shuttle - Arizona Shuttle from Phoenix) I felt relaxed. The views are gorgeous. The room had a terrace that allowed me to sit outside and read, look at the views, and relax. There is access to the creek which is easy to get to and there is a heated pool (infinity type pool). There is also a separate building for the spa. The staff is new and is still learning but they were all so earnest and trying really hard to exceed all of the customers' expectations. The food in the restaurant was fine but there are other places to eat in Sedona that are better imo.

As an Inner Circle member I found it odd that I didn't receive an amenity (although I did receive a note) but perhaps they don't give one at this hotel. The Wi-Fi was very good quality.

The rooms are undergoing a renovation and updating which is needed. Furnishings from the 70s/80s. The ability to get to the room itself is a bit odd for certain rooms. All in all though the vibe from the hotel and the staff's genuineness to try and make the stay as wonderful as possible made this an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Sign up for the InTouch program
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sealizis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Amara is in a lovely location along the Oak Creek. The pool area is beautiful and calming. The view from the hot tub is exceptional. The lobby is small but welcoming and comfortable. The rooms, however, need some attention. We reserved a one bedroom creekside suite. The views from our room were lovely, but the room itself is basically 2 older style motel rooms joined together. The suite simply was not a good value. There was no closet and the lighting was poor. The bed linens were wrinkled and lacked the crisp finish one expects at this price point.
On the positive side, the rooms were basically clean. My children stayed in a standard 2 queen room - a much better value and layout then the 1 bedroom suite.
There were many dogs staying at the resort - At times the halls smelled stale - perhaps due to the canine traffic.
From what I learned, this property only recently became a Kimpton. Perhaps with time, they will fix some of the problems and bring the property to its full potential!

Room Tip: One bedroom creekside suite is not a good value. View is lovely, but room is depressing
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michiganmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Michiganmaven,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. As you mentioned the property was recently purchased by Kimpton and will soon get a facelift. We are excited to have a property in such an amazing location. The guest rooms and public area will be receiving a great deal of attention during our upcoming renovation this summer. I appreciate your comments you mentioned about the layout of the suite, it’s certainly something we have on our radar. Being a Kimpton we are certainly pet friendly and with the holiday many our guests were traveling with their pets.

Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very central location in "uptown" and about 2 hrs 15 minutes to the Grand Canyon. Hotel is pleasant, breakfast is good (a separate recommend is the wildflower bakery near the Hyatt) and has basically everything you need. The view from the pool and hot tub is beautiful although a 7.30am - 6.00 pm close was a bit too late / early respectively when sightseeing all day. We were a family of four and the suite we had was great - a separate room with a door/separate entrance and toilet. They have a free taxi service that will take you anywhere within a mile radius and back which was really awesome given its at the bottom of a steep hill and means you can drink at dinner. Great place, would stay again when in Sedona.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FulhamWhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Filhamwhites,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you loved our location and that were a great place to set up camp for the Grand Canyon. As you mentioned, the shuttle is great amenity to take you around town or to the top of the hill, the hill is exhausting after a long day hiking or so that you can enjoy a few beverages at dinner. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sedona.
Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and loved it.
Amazing service, staff were very attentive and helpful.
Free wine hour was great, and we also appreciated the free shuttle service and valet.
Beautiful scenery, you can sit in the hot tub and take in breath taking views.
Highly recommend

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ZahnAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

ZahnAlice,

Thank you for your 5 star review and recommendation. The wine hour is always the best part of the day and I’m so glad you took advantage of shuttle. The courtyard and pool area are a great place to unwind at the end of a day.

Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel. The hotel was really nice (rooms were spacious and modern) and centrally located in Sedona (within walking distance of shops and restaurants), but what stood out was the excellent customer service. Every employee at the hotel was helpful, attentive and went out of their way to ensure that all of your needs were met. This was the last leg of my 10 day stay in Arizona and staff at the Amara was far superior to that of the luxury hotel that I stayed in while in Scottsdale. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

LisaD,

Thank you for your sharing your experience. That is certainly high praise. The team loves what they do and takes great pride in making sure everyone is enjoying themselves in beautiful Sedona. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sedona.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
901 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $271 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing