We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, typical Kimpton experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent location, typical Kimpton experience”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at the Amara Resort at Sedona for four days during the Christmas break. Amazing staff, always friendly and helpful, with a great attitude. If you have stayed at other Kimpton hotels, the service is typical of what you've come to expect. Lobby area is small but inviting and relaxing. Morning coffee, refreshing beverage during the day, evening wine reception, are all included. The room was spacious and comfortable with a balcony, we had one overlooking the garden/pool, with an amazing view of the red rocks. Gym was good, but we didnt take advantage of any of the spa facilities. Beds were comfortable and bathroom/amenties were outstanding. We had breakfast at the Hundred Rox restaurant and it was excellent and priced reasonably. We had a very comfortable stay, it was walking distance to the uptown shops and restaurants, great location. Calling it a resort might be a stretch, but it was a very good hotel, and I would highly recommend it if you get a good price.

Room Tip: The creekside rooms facing the pool with views of the red rock formations
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G S s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    290
    114
    18
    18
See reviews for
273
537
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night and would have stayed a lot longer had I been able. From the moment I walked in (took the shuttle - Arizona Shuttle from Phoenix) I felt relaxed. The views are gorgeous. The room had a terrace that allowed me to sit outside and read, look at the views, and relax. There is access to the creek which is easy to get to and there is a heated pool (infinity type pool). There is also a separate building for the spa. The staff is new and is still learning but they were all so earnest and trying really hard to exceed all of the customers' expectations. The food in the restaurant was fine but there are other places to eat in Sedona that are better imo.

As an Inner Circle member I found it odd that I didn't receive an amenity (although I did receive a note) but perhaps they don't give one at this hotel. The Wi-Fi was very good quality.

The rooms are undergoing a renovation and updating which is needed. Furnishings from the 70s/80s. The ability to get to the room itself is a bit odd for certain rooms. All in all though the vibe from the hotel and the staff's genuineness to try and make the stay as wonderful as possible made this an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Sign up for the InTouch program
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sealizis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Amara is in a lovely location along the Oak Creek. The pool area is beautiful and calming. The view from the hot tub is exceptional. The lobby is small but welcoming and comfortable. The rooms, however, need some attention. We reserved a one bedroom creekside suite. The views from our room were lovely, but the room itself is basically 2 older style motel rooms joined together. The suite simply was not a good value. There was no closet and the lighting was poor. The bed linens were wrinkled and lacked the crisp finish one expects at this price point.
On the positive side, the rooms were basically clean. My children stayed in a standard 2 queen room - a much better value and layout then the 1 bedroom suite.
There were many dogs staying at the resort - At times the halls smelled stale - perhaps due to the canine traffic.
From what I learned, this property only recently became a Kimpton. Perhaps with time, they will fix some of the problems and bring the property to its full potential!

Room Tip: One bedroom creekside suite is not a good value. View is lovely, but room is depressing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michiganmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Michiganmaven,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. As you mentioned the property was recently purchased by Kimpton and will soon get a facelift. We are excited to have a property in such an amazing location. The guest rooms and public area will be receiving a great deal of attention during our upcoming renovation this summer. I appreciate your comments you mentioned about the layout of the suite, it’s certainly something we have on our radar. Being a Kimpton we are certainly pet friendly and with the holiday many our guests were traveling with their pets.

Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very central location in "uptown" and about 2 hrs 15 minutes to the Grand Canyon. Hotel is pleasant, breakfast is good (a separate recommend is the wildflower bakery near the Hyatt) and has basically everything you need. The view from the pool and hot tub is beautiful although a 7.30am - 6.00 pm close was a bit too late / early respectively when sightseeing all day. We were a family of four and the suite we had was great - a separate room with a door/separate entrance and toilet. They have a free taxi service that will take you anywhere within a mile radius and back which was really awesome given its at the bottom of a steep hill and means you can drink at dinner. Great place, would stay again when in Sedona.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FulhamWhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Filhamwhites,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you loved our location and that were a great place to set up camp for the Grand Canyon. As you mentioned, the shuttle is great amenity to take you around town or to the top of the hill, the hill is exhausting after a long day hiking or so that you can enjoy a few beverages at dinner. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sedona.
Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and loved it.
Amazing service, staff were very attentive and helpful.
Free wine hour was great, and we also appreciated the free shuttle service and valet.
Beautiful scenery, you can sit in the hot tub and take in breath taking views.
Highly recommend

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZahnAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
ZahnAlice,

Thank you for your 5 star review and recommendation. The wine hour is always the best part of the day and I’m so glad you took advantage of shuttle. The courtyard and pool area are a great place to unwind at the end of a day.

Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel. The hotel was really nice (rooms were spacious and modern) and centrally located in Sedona (within walking distance of shops and restaurants), but what stood out was the excellent customer service. Every employee at the hotel was helpful, attentive and went out of their way to ensure that all of your needs were met. This was the last leg of my 10 day stay in Arizona and staff at the Amara was far superior to that of the luxury hotel that I stayed in while in Scottsdale. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
LisaD,

Thank you for your sharing your experience. That is certainly high praise. The team loves what they do and takes great pride in making sure everyone is enjoying themselves in beautiful Sedona. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sedona.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
203 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed (unfortunately only) one night in this very nice spa hotel. The room are spacey and have a very comfortable bed and a big bathroom with a private hot tub. Rooms feature a nice view on a small park. There is a wine tasting event in the evenings in the lobby allowing to sit down an relax from the day. There was a problem with the Guest WiFi, but the staff quickly found a solution - great service. Unfortunately we did not have time to use the spa area, but hopefully next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joachim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
aki_le_blond
Thank you for your wonderful review. We were sad you only stayed one night as well. The wine hour is loads of fun and you never know who you will meet. I apologize that the wi-fi wasn’t working properly; we were upgrading our system but apparently didn’t get the kinks worked out. We can’t wait to have you back.

Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Property: Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing