We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location - rooms need updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful location - rooms need updating”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Amara is in a lovely location along the Oak Creek. The pool area is beautiful and calming. The view from the hot tub is exceptional. The lobby is small but welcoming and comfortable. The rooms, however, need some attention. We reserved a one bedroom creekside suite. The views from our room were lovely, but the room itself is basically 2 older style motel rooms joined together. The suite simply was not a good value. There was no closet and the lighting was poor. The bed linens were wrinkled and lacked the crisp finish one expects at this price point.
On the positive side, the rooms were basically clean. My children stayed in a standard 2 queen room - a much better value and layout then the 1 bedroom suite.
There were many dogs staying at the resort - At times the halls smelled stale - perhaps due to the canine traffic.
From what I learned, this property only recently became a Kimpton. Perhaps with time, they will fix some of the problems and bring the property to its full potential!

Room Tip: One bedroom creekside suite is not a good value. View is lovely, but room is depressing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michiganmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Michiganmaven,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. As you mentioned the property was recently purchased by Kimpton and will soon get a facelift. We are excited to have a property in such an amazing location. The guest rooms and public area will be receiving a great deal of attention during our upcoming renovation this summer. I appreciate your comments you mentioned about the layout of the suite, it’s certainly something we have on our radar. Being a Kimpton we are certainly pet friendly and with the holiday many our guests were traveling with their pets.

Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    297
    120
    18
    18
See reviews for
281
544
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very central location in "uptown" and about 2 hrs 15 minutes to the Grand Canyon. Hotel is pleasant, breakfast is good (a separate recommend is the wildflower bakery near the Hyatt) and has basically everything you need. The view from the pool and hot tub is beautiful although a 7.30am - 6.00 pm close was a bit too late / early respectively when sightseeing all day. We were a family of four and the suite we had was great - a separate room with a door/separate entrance and toilet. They have a free taxi service that will take you anywhere within a mile radius and back which was really awesome given its at the bottom of a steep hill and means you can drink at dinner. Great place, would stay again when in Sedona.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FulhamWhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Filhamwhites,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you loved our location and that were a great place to set up camp for the Grand Canyon. As you mentioned, the shuttle is great amenity to take you around town or to the top of the hill, the hill is exhausting after a long day hiking or so that you can enjoy a few beverages at dinner. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sedona.
Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and loved it.
Amazing service, staff were very attentive and helpful.
Free wine hour was great, and we also appreciated the free shuttle service and valet.
Beautiful scenery, you can sit in the hot tub and take in breath taking views.
Highly recommend

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZahnAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
ZahnAlice,

Thank you for your 5 star review and recommendation. The wine hour is always the best part of the day and I’m so glad you took advantage of shuttle. The courtyard and pool area are a great place to unwind at the end of a day.

Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel. The hotel was really nice (rooms were spacious and modern) and centrally located in Sedona (within walking distance of shops and restaurants), but what stood out was the excellent customer service. Every employee at the hotel was helpful, attentive and went out of their way to ensure that all of your needs were met. This was the last leg of my 10 day stay in Arizona and staff at the Amara was far superior to that of the luxury hotel that I stayed in while in Scottsdale. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
LisaD,

Thank you for your sharing your experience. That is certainly high praise. The team loves what they do and takes great pride in making sure everyone is enjoying themselves in beautiful Sedona. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sedona.

Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed (unfortunately only) one night in this very nice spa hotel. The room are spacey and have a very comfortable bed and a big bathroom with a private hot tub. Rooms feature a nice view on a small park. There is a wine tasting event in the evenings in the lobby allowing to sit down an relax from the day. There was a problem with the Guest WiFi, but the staff quickly found a solution - great service. Unfortunately we did not have time to use the spa area, but hopefully next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joachim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
aki_le_blond
Thank you for your wonderful review. We were sad you only stayed one night as well. The wine hour is loads of fun and you never know who you will meet. I apologize that the wi-fi wasn’t working properly; we were upgrading our system but apparently didn’t get the kinks worked out. We can’t wait to have you back.

Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was put in this hotel by my client for a four day visit to Sedona. I had read some of the reviews here and was a bit wary. I have to say my experience at the hotel was wonderful .
From the moment I stepped out on my car until I left the friendless, helpfulness plus politeness was an indication of good training by management.

Service is the key and everyone on staff here is first rate..I actually have a list of ten employees to mention but can't find it. If you were there dec 14-20 you know who you are...hi to pickles.

The grounds are lovely...fire pits, whirlpool, infinity pool plus beautiful views of the rocks.
I actually didn't.t want to leave the premises.

The spa is convenient and excellent with free yoga every morning.

Wine at 5-6. I am defiantly looking for klimpton hotels for next trips and recommend highly

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lpressman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Greetings from Sedona Lpressman,

Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind words about the team. We do think we have a little piece of heaven here and the team takes great pride in what they do and service is the key. The yoga and wine hour are great perks as well.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sedona. Pickles says hello.

Patrick Gaskin
General Manager Amara Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna VA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We recently had a one night stay at the Amara Resort and enjoyed it very much. Our room had three balconies overlooking a stream and the beautiful red cliff surrounding the property. It was a bit chilly (18 degrees in the AM) so we could not enjoy the immense patio area and the outdoor spa. We had dinner and breakfast and the food and service was fantastic. We were shuttled up the hill by friendly staff and retrieved after a long walk in Sedona.
We understand there are renovations in progress so the resort will be even better. It's a great place for a one-nighter from the Phoenix area with a scenic drive that alone is worth it.
But don't pass up staying at the Amara-you won't regret it!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gotta_Golf_Weekly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Gotta_Golf_Weekly,
Thank you for your 5 star review. The creekside suites do have amazing views and as you mentioned will be getting a face lift this upcoming summer. You will have to come back to enjoy the pool area but if you are brave enough the pool is heated to 82 degrees in the winter and the hot tub to just over 100 degrees. It’s a great place to relax and unwind. Since you are just a few hours away it’s a great place to escape the heat in the summer as well. We will see you soon.
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager Amara Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
885 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
916 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Property: Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing