We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, rooms and customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We recently had a one night stay at the Amara Resort and enjoyed it very much. Our room had three balconies overlooking a stream and the beautiful red cliff surrounding the property. It was a bit chilly (18 degrees in the AM) so we could not enjoy the immense patio area and the outdoor spa. We had dinner and breakfast and the food and service was fantastic. We were shuttled up the hill by friendly staff and retrieved after a long walk in Sedona.
We understand there are renovations in progress so the resort will be even better. It's a great place for a one-nighter from the Phoenix area with a scenic drive that alone is worth it.
But don't pass up staying at the Amara-you won't regret it!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gotta_Golf_Weekly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Gotta_Golf_Weekly,
Thank you for your 5 star review. The creekside suites do have amazing views and as you mentioned will be getting a face lift this upcoming summer. You will have to come back to enjoy the pool area but if you are brave enough the pool is heated to 82 degrees in the winter and the hot tub to just over 100 degrees. It’s a great place to relax and unwind. Since you are just a few hours away it’s a great place to escape the heat in the summer as well. We will see you soon.
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager Amara Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is a beautiful resort surrounded by gorgeous red rock formations within walking distance of town. We had a wonderful room with two balconies, one overlooked a bubbling brook, the other rock formations. Fabulous bathroom, jacuzzi, large shower. Everyone was friendly, accommodating, very helpful with recommendations. Only ate breakfast here and it was excellent. There are all sorts of patios and places to relax. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margarita200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is an older property that has been updated, but if you remove it from Sedona and place in ..let's say Lubbock... its just a Holiday Inn. On top of it if you include "Resort" in the name then you mu7st do more than simply charge a "resort fee". I didn't really notice any resort-like features. The "patio" is a little strip of bricks with two iron chairs. The food was simply average. Service was well meaning, but hardly superior. the room was clean and the bed was good. Bathroom was average - Holiday Inn like. Not exactly a resort. I good a good price through Expedia, but listed prices were higher than the property deserves. Internet was good and free. If you are passing through Sedona and need a place to get a good night sleep and you can get it for under $150 per night, then this the place for you. Otherwise - not so much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Onepoet,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. There are several amenities that are included with the resort fee; valet parking, daily yoga class at 8:30am, and shuttle service within a mile radius of the hotel. In addition, we have a daily wine hour from 5p-6p as well as coffee bar in the morning from 5:30am-9am. It’s a great opportunity to meet guests from all over the world as well as find out what adventures they par took in that day, all while soaking up the beauty of Sedona.
Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Amara Resort and Spa has a lovely patio that looks across at the red rock cliffs, including the Snoopy formation. It is the perfect place to watch the sunset as the shadow climbs up the cliffs in the evening. The pool is well situated for the same view from the cabanas or hot tub. You can walk along Oak Creek for about a quarter mile and enjoy the water fowl and flowing water. Other amenities include spa with yoga, bar, restaurant, coffee or water in the expansive lobby, and free valet parking. Uptown Sedona is an invigorating walk up to the street from the hotel. Pets are allowed. Wine and munchies are served in the lobby at happy hours. Rooms have a small patio or balcony. The staff is friendly.

Room Tip: The interior rooms overlook the patio and the red rock cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob-WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Tucked away from the crazy, this small boutique hotel that is 100 rooms strong, is a new favorite. Right on the creek , it's a step drop from the Main Street but they offer free valet parking and a shuttle up the hill if you like. FREE bike rentals, happy hour, valet parking and morning yoga make up for the higher room rate. Be sure to ask for a room on the second floor.

Web page makes the property look larger than it is so it may be noisy in the summer. We were there off season, end of November, so it was terrific to open the upstairs doors at night and enjoy the water features on the property.

Drawback, be prepared to walk to your room. The hotel is very linear and we had to walk through three sets of doors, outside, to get to our room.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Tracy,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We think we have a little piece of heaven here but hope it is a hidden treasure no more. I will share your kind words with the team. We hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Thank you
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

After a long day of driving, we arrived just in time to take advantage of the complimentary wine reception in the lobby - yes! Free wine is always a bonus. I really like the hip vibe of Kimpton hotels and the fact that they don't charge extra for pets is a huge plus. The view from the back of the restaurant and pool area is breathtaking. We had a delicious meal at the on site restaurant and great customer service all around. If we return to Sedona, we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Sign up for the loyalty program - you will get a $10 credit to use at the bar or the in-room mini ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wine hour. There is not a better hour during the day than 5p-6p in a Kimpton hotel. Four legged freinds are always welcome and Kimpton makes it easy. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Sedona.


Warm regards,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Nothing went right. Arrived and i had had made arrangements to have birthday cake in room. Had to wait for them to get it. No one gave us directions to room. When we asked at restaurant they asked if we were guest why didnt we have luggage. Ever heard of valet parking. Finally got to room no cake . Then they put it in fridge. Not on table so no big reveal to 100 cake. Room suppose to have balcony it was 1 ft deep. Called to get real balcony. Than lost room with view. Got on line to see if i could up grade at cost they said no rooms available even though web site showed it was. They had wedding happening so pool/ht tub closed for wedding. No one cared that weekend was 50th bday and so many disappointments. No we are sorry. No free bottle wine nothing. Wont go back. Stay away not worth hassles to be treated badly by staff. This is Sedona I expect good service. This is not the place. To many other choices. Stay away. Also cleaning carts in hallways. Just not worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Magachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to hear it was not a positive one and we missed the mark with your birthday celebration. The pool did close for 90 minutes so that a couple could exchange their vows on their special day. Wine hour was extended to accommodate guests not part of the wedding celebration and the pool did reopen after the ceremony. Sedona is a truly special place I apologize that we did not make your weekend here a positive one. We certainly want all of our guests to enjoy the magic of Sedona.
Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
903 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge de Sedona
L'Auberge de Sedona
#7 of 48 in Sedona
3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $268 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Kimpton Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most beautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to Kimpton Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining from SaltRock Southwest Kitchen or indoor/outdoor dining at our three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing