We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive 2 cocktails
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
255 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time staying here. Business this time but with my wife and for children last time. Each stay was equally wonderful. The rooms are very comfortable and plenty spacious. The grounds are very nice and everything is spotless. The restaurant is worth a try. If the weather is good, I recommend eating outside. The staff was warm and friendly. It is a very inviting place, luxurious but not over the top. Very close to everything in downtown Sedona but feels ver secluded and quiet. You can walk to most everything, but because it is down a hill and next to a wonderful bubbling creek, you feel all alone. Even a free glass of wine at check in.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Floridagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    229
    87
    10
    14
See reviews for
209
420
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is located right on the Oak Creek below a beautiful red rock formation; the pictures on the website do it justice. The infinity salt water pool is awesome. The rooms are lovely and immaculate, but if you go smaller than a suite don't let them charge you too much...they aren't worth more than $200/night. The beds are heavenly.
The staff were the best part of the experience. Unlike the nearby L'Auberge, the Amara staff went out of their way to accommodate all of our needs, whether it be a special martini, spa appointments, or a dvd rental. There is complimentary coffee every morning and wine at 5pm.
Also, they have free yoga every morning!

Room Tip: Take a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turtle837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

As soon as you drive into Sedona you are greeted by beautiful sights, so we were really hoping our accomodations would offer beautiful views, it did not dissapoint. Though this resort is in the middle of the busy Uptown shopping and tourist district it is very quiet even when walking the gorgeous grounds of this resort. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, the spa is amazing also we were treated with special attention during our massages and facial ( mine only my husband passed on that). This trip is our first one since being married and we saved so that we could vacation in style and comfort and Amara Resort provided that for us in spades! Thank you!

Room Tip: I think any room you have in this resort will be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord-Brabant
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

To start off, I think this hotel has a really amazing view. Especially when you're in the morning outside near the pool enjoying your breakfast, which by the way is very nice. All the staff is extremely helpfull. We arrived in at a rainy day and the booking we made via another travelsite wasn't known in their booking system. The staff was extremely helpfull to solve our problem and luckily there still was a room free.

I think however that the rooms are a thing which could use some improvement for this resort. They seem to become a bit outdated for my tastings. Especially when you notice the price asked for the rooms for a night stay I did expected some more luxury and stylish rooms. However all amenities were available. Room sure is very spacious. Sedona is a great place to relax for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool. Rooms on the outside of the resort might be facing the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm a huge fan of Kimpton's. I actively seek them out. The best thing about Kimpton's is the level of service. I realize that this Hotel just switched over but the service didn't seem to be at the level of perfection that I expect of my favourite chain. It wasn't bad mind you, just not perfect. The property itself is lovely. The rooms are well appointed. The pool area however is totally inadequate for a property of this size and calibre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scollinson79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We wanted to spend a quick weekend in Sedona and have central location for site seeing. This was perfect.
The room was clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable.. The staff very accommodating. We had one fantastic breafast here and one not so much great breakfast. I guess it depends on the chef and who was working.
There was a free yoga class that we went to and it was for everyone..good and not so good. Nice touch.
Food and sunsets are abundant in this beautiful area. So for the short stay at a fair price..this was good.

Room Tip: Tell them you want quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappy12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Amara for two nights in mid-September. We had a clean, spacious room with two Queen beds. We also had a small balcony and a walk-in closet. The beds in the room were very comfortable, and the decor was nice and appropriate for a spa hotel in Sedona. The bathroom was also very nice, but the faucet on the shower was hard to operate (they really should include instructions!) The pool area is beautiful with gorgeous red rock views (the pictures on the website don't lie!). There's a salt water infinity pool and a hot tub with plenty of comfy lounge chairs and even some cabanas (first come first serve, no charge). They also have food and drink service at the pool during busy times. We had dinner in the Hundred Rox restaurant and it was delicious - I highly recommend it. The hotel has a free wine happy hour in the lobby every evening - take advantage of that if you like wine! The location is great - it's right off the main strip and you can walk into Uptown Sedona to many shops and restaurants. They also have a shuttle that will take you to town. The only downside I could see is that there are a lot of stairs, so if you have trouble getting around, request a first floor room. Last piece of advice - join Kimpton InTouch Rewards and you'll receive at $10 voucher to "raid the mini bar" as well as free wi-fi in your room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamigirl1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing