We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here July 2012. Absolutely beautiful location/view. The rooms are quite large and very comfortable. We had breakfast at the restaurant here and it was delicious, although they kept forgetting our order. I had to go to the front desk to get towels for the hot tub. It took over 15 minutes before someone arrived at the front desk to help me (there was no pool attendant even though it was July). My only other complaint was that the pool was freezing! It was unbearable and not a single person was able to enjoy it, which is too bad because it's an awesome infinity pool! The hot tub was nice and rather spacious. They have a shuttle service to take you around town, which is very nice. The drivers were very friendly. With some fine tuning, this place would be exceptional. I would definitely return, and plan on doing so in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFinals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    278
    110
    18
    17
See reviews for
265
521
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights mid-september. Service is friendly and attentive, there's a homey feeling to that hotel, we had breakfast and dinner, the restaurant is quite good.
We picked a quiet room by the creek, at night we slept with our french doors wide opened to the sound of the river, lovely. The beds are just great !! We were very pleasantly surprised !
My husband and I both had massages, the spa is beautiful and our treatments were excellent.
Next door is the much more expensive Auberge of Sedona, you can take an easy, short walk there at night to have a very romantic dinner by the river, I recommend it, it's an experience ! We liked it so much that we ended up having breakfast there once.

Room Tip: definitely a room creekside, ideally upper floor to have a glimpse of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgailloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We splurged on two nights at this well upgraded facility. Agree with others that it is off the main drag and further down a hill but this adds to its exclusive atmosphere. Note that there is a series of building that are interconnected and some rooms a bit cumbersome to access as previously mentioned by other reviewers. Our patio room was on the first floor and although it did not face the Red Rock view, we spent most of our time in the hot tub, salted pool and cabanas enjoying it nonetheless. I found the room to be spacious and well appointed, and our dog enjoyed the 25-yd green strip, albeit it overwatered, right outside our patio. Although the receiving staff at check-in were cold and snobbish because we had booked through a third party, the valet and the wait staff at Hundred Rox were exceptionally trained and attentive. The food was also exceptional and we were entertained with live music both nights. Their gym, spa and massage rank up there with other high-end spas that I have enjoyed. I think this hotel has made an effort to live up to its 4-star rating since its renovation (and association with Kimpton), and hopefully once all their staff come up the training curve, they will provide an exceptional experience to their clientele.

Room Tip: Our room 115 was convenient to the pool and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at Amara a couple of weeks ago for a company retreat, and had an absolutely great stay. For one, the location (right next to L'Auberge) is terrific, the property line goes right up to the creek, one of the prettiest spots in Arizona. The staff and service were great throughout, and I can't say enough about the food. They have a great outdoor courtyard area with an infinity edge pool, and there's an overall friendly, approachable vibe to the resort. I've stayed at other spots in Sedona where the service verged on too formal, the Amara seems to have found a great balance - everybody was professional, but also genuine and friendly.

Room Tip: Views from the higher floors are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psny1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
psny1971,
I wanted to thank you for taking time to share your experience. I'm glad you felt at home in our home and that the staff were relaxed and made you feel like a friend. Chef Ric thanks you for the kind words, as he takes great pride in his food. We hope you see you next time you are in Sedona.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I were pleased with our stay at Amara this past weekend. We booked a garden side basic room and were a little underwhelmed with the room itself and size. But we weren't in Sedona for the room so that wasn't a big deal. When I booked the room, the staff suggested that the garden side room was a little quieter since it didn't face the pool and it was, but our view was just of a tree and another building. In the future we would pay the up charge for a better view.

The standout feature of this hotel is the staff. From the time we checked in until the time we checked out, all staff members went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. They have a very pampering attitude.

We loved the free wine tasting hour daily at 5p and the fact that we could do yoga for free on site in the cute little spa. Also, valet is included which was really nice especially when returning from a long day of hiking.

The location is ideal right on the main drag but down a little hill making it feel more secluded. With the creek right behind, we were able to wander down from the pool area onto some big boulders creek side and enjoy the view. And speaking of the pool, the infinity salt water was a nice change. The view from the pool was awesome.

All in all, a great place to stay if you want an upscale feel while still maintaining a relatively practical value for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyNoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick G, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
AmyNoelle,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Amara. We appreciate the kind words about the team here; they love what they do and where they do it. We are very lucky. I’m glad you enjoyed the wine hour, I love hosting it on Wednesdays and it is the best part of my week. You get to meet some really incredible people and hear about their adventures for that day or week. I love it. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Patrick Gaskin
General Manager
Amara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My partner and I had an excellent stay at the Amara Resort and Spa. After a long 8 hour drive from San Diego we were greeted with complimentary valet and warm smiles from the woman pouring wine. Check in was quick and easy and the customer service excellent. We stayed in a creek side room on the 2nd floor. The room was nice and the patio facing the creek was exactly what I wanted. Every morning I sat out on that patio and watched the creek flow and the birds sing. The creekside room was nice and quiet and I didn't experience the same level of noise that other travellers have mentioned with the rooms that face the courtyard and have the red rock view. Our creekside room had no red rock view, however, the peace and quiet was well worth it. Although it rained throughout our stay we enjoyed it very much! We still dipped in the pool and the jacuzzi and the rain didn't keep us away from the pool side cabanas. The staff throughout our stay were excellent, they were always helpful and accomodating. Everyone we spoke to was kind and friendly and eager to suggest different Sedona activities. My only complaint is that the complimentary morning coffee was terrible but it's free coffee, so it came with a catch. We will definitely be back to Sedona, it was beautiful and the Amara resort added to the wonderful experience.

Room Tip: creekside rooms provide more patio privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruz619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel and all its facilities are exactly as described - nothing was less than top-quality.
The surrounding views were spectacular, the room was quiet and peaceful, yet the hotel is only 200 yards from Sedona's main street
The staff were all friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
As an example, we mentioned at the desk that our room-safe didn't work; it wasn't a problem for us, but might be for the next guest.
We returned about 4 hours later to find that a brand new safe had been installed!
I don't know many businesses that could source and install a new piece of equipment in that short time.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms overlook the spa and/or the outside dining area, but you can always look up at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesHrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.1 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#18 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing