We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Pinon Pointe was so relaxing!”
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hyatt Pinon Pointe was so relaxing!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family visited the Hyatt Pinon Pointe in June 2012. We stayed in a one bedroom condo that was wonderfully clean, spacious and had everything we needed for a 4 night stay! First, upon check-in, we were greeted warmly and personally shown to our room. All the features of the property were pointed out to us and we felt very comfortable. Our condo had a full kitchen, large eat-in area, laundry, living room, balcony (with table/chairs for eating outdoors) and bedroom/large bathroom. Our room was kept very clean by the housekeeping service and they were all very friendly. I would say the the bed was not the best bed I've encountered on a vacation, but certainly not the worst. After a long day of hiking, tennis and swimming, it was still very satisfactory! The bathroom is huge with a very large sink area, huge walk-in shower and there was a seperate tub in the master suite. Our son slept on the pull out sofa bed and he said it was pretty comfortable. We loved the large pool (note: no lifeguards and a pool bar would be nice). The hot tubs were great in the evening and we played tennis everyday with the most amazing views of the red rocks! The club house at the property has ping pong and pool tables and kids can check out board games. They also offer featured speakers who talk about Sedona, history,wildlife, etc...The location of the hotel is fantastic because you can walk many places for dining (I recommend WildFlower Bread Company and Cowboy Club) and shopping in town. We also drove to a Safeway and got some groceries so we wouldn't have to eat out for every meal. We reserved a grill at the resort and they provided all the grilling utensils. It was so convenient! We went hiking at the West Fork Trail (beautiful hike) and we went on a Pink Jeep Tour (a MUST)! Also, my husband rented a mountain bike at Bike & Bean and rode with a guy from Sedona Destination Adventures. He had an amazing time and his guide, Will Guertz, was very friendly and made sure he took my husband to fun trails that were challenging, but safe! We absolutely love everything about Sedona! The scenery is magnificent, sunsets are unbeatable and the people in Sedona are very laid back and friendly! We recommend visiting Sedona and staying at the Hyatt Pinon Pointe....we will be back!

Room Tip: A room with close proximity to the pool is great and a room with a view is even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pokerpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    257
    77
    44
    23
See reviews for
355
316
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I would be reviewing the Hyatt once a month if TripAdvisor let me. We stay that often. We're young, we're business people, and this is our retreat when we want a quick getaway.

We've probably stayed here a month each calendar year! In fact, it's the Hyatt that has rekindled our love for Sedona. So much so that we're getting married in Tlaquepaque this spring. Of course, we'll be booking the rooms at the Hyatt when we do.

Thanks staff and everyone for always making us happy when we come over.
Matt & Melinda

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChatWithMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I never vacation in cold weather destinations but decided to go to Sedona solo for a personal retreat. IT WAS FABULOUS. The hotel was beautiful, clean, cozy and the view was amazing.I was in a two bedroom. The bed and pillows were perfect for me. They had CD docks in bedrooms which made it nice. OH, the oversized jacuzzi tub in the room --ooh la la. One day it was actually about 70 degrees and sat outside by the pool reading a book with soft piped in music in the background and gentle waterfall ambience with a awesome view of the mountains. How does it get any better than that in winter? Next day was 40degrees but prepared for that too :-)
The staff were all first class. The activities were great: free wine tasting, a musician, lectures on local history. The fitness room was great. It was off season so quiet but enough friendly guests to meet new friends (several of whom had been there many times before and loved it as well). The restaurants had fabulous food, hotel was very centrally located for walking. I felt safe even though it was very dark on the property but they provided flash lights. What else can I say?? Okay, the only negative I can pull out of my hat is that I hated the smell of the soap-so there! I will return! (with my own soap) :-)

Room Tip: My unit was on the second level and was beautiful despite not being the most recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Other then the staff being somewhat clueless - it was an excellent stay - right in the middle of everything. Rooms were a good size and facility was great. One of the best time shares of many we've been to.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leroyjonesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This used to be such a gem! Unfortunately since transitioning to a timeshare property, the quality of this hotel has nose-dived. We stayed in a 2br suite and had to sleep with pillows over our ears. The amount of loud guests in their 20's and 30's was disproportionate compared to prior visits to say the least. The floors vere very dirty and we wore shoes indoors to keep our feet from turning black. Just the general cleanliness of the property was low compared to past stays. Annoyingly, the staff seemed like they would prefer to socialize with each other rather than assist guests. Althought they were more helpful at checkout. There aren't many hotel type amenities such as breakfast or coffee or hospitality from the staff at the property because it is a timeshare and the warmness of the place has certainly gone. On a positive side, the pool looked nice and clean, but we didn't swim because of the low temperatures, it would probably be nice in April or May. I suppose the old addage of "you get what you pay for" is true, but overall we were still expecting a bit more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnRein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Not all places in Sedona allow children. However, Hyatt Pinon Pointe does and had reasonable rates and availability upon short notice. We stayed in a studio on the ground floor, which was dark and a bit cramped. If you are not going to spend much time in the room, the studio for 2-3 people would be fine (there's a mini-sofabed). Otherwise, book the larger rooms and ask for a higher floor.

Because this is a timeshare hotel, there aren't many amenities. It lacks the welcoming feel you get at other Hyatt hotels. The lobby, upon check-in, was quiet and deserted but had 4 employees sitting around (2 concierge) with nothing to do. No coffee, cookies, and no complimentary breakfast. There is a Starbucks and Wildflower Bread Co. restaurant on the property, and could be a pleasant walk to when the weather is fine. But in the winter, I recommend packing some breads and fruit and using the kitchenette in the hotel room to prepare breakfast. There is complimentary coffee in the room.

Am glad that I brought a pair of slippers, because the floors were filthy. We weren't sure if the carpet or tile was the culprit, but the bottoms of our feet were black when you walk barefooted.

The location is great and close to many restaurants, shops and places to book tours. Overall, this hotel was adequate but not comfortable nor memorable enough for me to return to. Would be open to trying another hotel next time in Sedona.

Room Tip: Studios on the ground floor were dark. Choose a room on a higher floor for more light and better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SD_gallivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at Hyatt. Our studio apartment was quite a big hotel room in European standards. There was a nice pool area, which we didn't visit due to temperature and e.g. Wildflower Bread Co was part of the complex and had very good breakfast and lunch options. Only negative thing was a slightly poor noise insulation between the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleksiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
2.0 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2.8 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
2.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Amara Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Property: Hyatt Pinon Pointe
Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#10 Family Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing