We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good two days stay”
Review of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Pinon Pointe
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Hyatt pinon pointe at Sedona on August 5-7, 2012. the hotel is situated in an excellent location in Sedona, it is close to the shoppes and restaurants, the customer service was good, the only complaint we have is that the air conditioner or vent fan is very loud.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank loveamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 926 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stopped in for the day in Sedona, AZ and decided to start finding a room. We stopped here to see by chance if a room was available. We didn't have reservations or a Hyatt club member. We got a studio for the night. This studio was amazing. A little kitchenette is right inside the door. We had a king bed, separate living room space, the bathroom was huge, and a walk out patio with table and chairs. Very clean and very nice staff. The only problem we found was that the studio adjoined another room, which we assumed was a closet. No, it led into the next room and it wasn't locked on either side. That was a little shocking since we had left and gone to dinner and it was unlocked while we were gone. We made double sure it was locked when we went out later. Other than that surprise, we loved the place!

Room Tip: If available, get a room with a view of the red rocks or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOb07544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a good resort in a great location. Situated at the crossroad of 89A and 179 it is within walking distance of an entire range of dining, shopping and entertainment experiences. The staff are super nice and helpful and do not beat you to death with timeshare tours....they simply invite you once and leave it up to you. The rooms are spacious and well eqipped but some are below the hotel walkway levels so you have to climb 2 flights of stairs to get to the walkways.If you are at all physically challenged these rooms would be impossible for you. We had such a room but, since we are blessed with good health, it wasn't a big deal for us. We just look at our room as a place to hold our stuff while we adventure outside. The pool, though incredibly small, looks out onto beautiful red rock formations as do most of the room balconies. All in all, a very nice place to stay but I would not be averse to trying out something different next time.

Room Tip: Just ask to get a room on the uppermost level so you are even with the elevated walkways and your st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Pinon Pointe with my daughter in a two bedromed condo. The location of the development is perfect, right in the centre of Sedona, and with fabulous views. Easy to walk to the shops, restaurants and other attractions.

What I was disappointed in was the lack of natural daylight in the condo which meant that in order to do/see anything you had to put on a light! An irritation and not exactly energy saving. After a few days of this I found it a real pain that if you wanted to do anything inside you had to put on a light to see.

My other disappointment was the poor standard of bed linen. Having just stayed at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas where the bed linen was superb, it was a shock to find at the Hyatt sheets that were rough and also not ironed. I have stayed at many Hyatt hotels and I didn't expect this poor quality. I think a little investment in up-graded linens is needed.

The pool is centrally located on the development, and quite small and of irregular shape so swimming laps is out. It is perfectly fine for a cooling dip though.

The staff are lovely, helpful and very friendly as are the shop owners on the site.

I totally recommend the Jeep tours from 'A day in the west' (yellow jeeps). Super service, enormous fun, great value. Our guide Gif was fantastic in every way and extremely knowledgeable about the area, its history and geology. They even collect you from the hotel so super easy trip to organise.

Ttake a drive to Jerome, the old mining town. Absolutely fascinating. The mountain road is quite a challenge to drive particularly if it rains heavily as large rocks then suddenly appear in the road.

I would certainly return to Sedona, it is truly magical.

Room Tip: Try and get a condo that has more natural light but with the design of the development that might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lelizabethg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This resort is even nicer in person than it is on-line. The idea of getting up in the morning and seeing Snoopy Red Rock from my balcony is more than I could ask for. The same views while sitting at the pool are breathtaking. Sitting at the fire pit at night is a great way to spend your time right before bed.

Had a red eye flight at night so spent the day at the pool and was able to use the locker room to shower and get ready for the drive and flight. It was hard to leave.

All staff members where accomodaitng and friendly. Lots of ammenities. I was in a 2 bedroom lockoff. The smaller of fhe units had a decent size fridge and microwave. No stove top. Bigger unit had everything you would need. Flashlights were also available in all units.

Locally, I was not used to shops that close around 5/6pm. Not sure if they stay open later at other times of the year. But, relaxing evenings at the pool or activity room is not a bad option either.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yowza14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have been planning our trip to Sedona for awhile and decided to stay at the Hyatt Pinion Point. We were really excited even hoping that this would be a new favorite to come back to. The night before our stay we had 2 phone calls from the concierge asking if we would be interested in a 90 minute session regarding timeshares on the property. We declined. The next day we arrived an hour early before check in which is at 4pm and were told that our room was not ready. The couple before us was told the same thing. Hmmm - poor things they must really need that last hour? We then got to meet with the concierge she asked us again about the 90 minute session. We declined - again. We finally got our room. To give them credit they did allow us to go into our room a half an hour early. Our room: First we had to go down 4 flights of stairs. I was worried we were stuck in a basement. But our room did have a balcony with a view of a hill/mountain. Not the grogeous red rocks. The room had a very nice presentation when we first entered. However it is far from being comfortable. The couch is the most uncomfortable thing you could ever hope to sit on. So no relaxation there. The bed was also very uncomfortable. My husband kept clomplaining of lying in a hole. They tried adjusting it but no better. The lighting was very dim. We went up in the summer and decided to pay a little more for lodging hoping that even if it was too hot to hike and shop at least we could lounge in our room. No Way! The only comfortable thing was the jet tub. But you could only stay in that for so long before pruning. We were very disappointed. Another thing. The property was not kept up well. The sidewalks were not swept and the ceiling fans in our room had a heavy layer of dust (picture below). The walls must be very thin for we could hear the neighbors next to us. While my husband and I was sitting in the room we heard a sneeze. We looked at each other and then across the room. Noone was there but it sure sounded like they were right there in the room with us. To top it off - woke up to find we were not alone - another extra visitor had come and perished during the night - a SEWER ROACH at the entry of our bedroom. We expected so much more from a reputable establishment like the HYATT. Not impressed. Will not be returning.
P.S. - They gave us $20 because of our complaint. Wow.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deewip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Staying at the Hyatt Pinon Pointe felt like I was staying at my own private club;convenient, casual, comfortable and nicely appointed. Actually the property is a Hyatt Residence Club Resort and for those lucky enough to belong, the condo units and amenities are very nice. Some units like the one I stayed in (with a small kitchenette) are availabe to rent.The units are clustered and connected by landscaped paths and the High Desert architecture of the property and view form the pool (red rocks of Sedona) are amazing. Relaxing music on the pool deck, great jacuzzi and landscaping around the pool. Enjoyed sitting around the fire pit at night with the scent of pinon pine in the air. Location is perfect for exploring Sedona on foot or car (or in this case a Pink Jeep).Gallery shops and the Wildflower Bread Company cafe are a short walk from your room. Some rooms have better views and locations than others so ask before booking. Also at night it can get very dark on the grounds. The front desk will give you a flash light which you will need to get around but then again the stars are so beautiful you won't seem to mind.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2.0 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
952 reviews
2.8 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 48 in Sedona
903 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Address: 1 North Highway 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#10 Family Hotel in Sedona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $177 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Pinon Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Pinon Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Pinon Pointe Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Sedona
Hyatt Hotel Pinon Pointe
Sedona Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing