We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Cozy and Better than Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sedona Pines Resort
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quaint, Cozy and Better than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We selected this resort (we rent and do not own timeshares) for its proximity to family who live in Phoenix area and Flagstaff.

CASITA:
+Free standing manufactured 'cabins' seemed to give us a sense of personal space
+Our particular unit appeared to be one recently re-done as I noticed our windows had blinds (not draperies), the outside doors had built-in blinds (not draperies) and our kitchen countertops were Corian
+Free standing also seemed to reduce outside noise, but we were there during a quiet time so I don't know if this is true or just my imagination
+Compact; good use of space
+Very nice deck of our own with patio furniture
-BE AWARE SECOND BEDROOM IS NOT ATTACHED TO THE CASITA; IT IS ACROSS THE DECK WITH ITS OWN OUTSIDE ENTRANCE
-While the designers made very good use of the limited space in the casita it remains VERY small and I would not recommend this property for anyone who requres the use of a wheelchair, walker or is a very large person

KITCHEN:
+Well stocked with pots/pans/utensils/etc. I like to cook rather than dine out; found everything I needed to prepare meals
+Corian countertops
-The microwave is also a convection oven unit; there is no traditional oven -- only this unit. Took a bit of getting used to
-Very narrow (if the dishwasher or fridge is open, you can't get through to the bedroom)
+/-Dining area small but adequate when we had another couple join us for dinner

MASTER BEDROOM:
+Lots of little drawers and cupboards for storage
-Bedroom so small you can't keep your suitcase next to the bed; not enough room
-Lots of little drawers, etc meant I was constantly trying to remember where I put stuff
-The bed itself is close to the fridge/dishwasher -- noisy

MASTER BATHROOM:
+Whirlpool tub and shower (combo unit; not separate shower)
+Energy and water efficient
+Lots and lots of clean towels
-Very small

SECOND BEDROOM:
+Actually is larger than the master bedroom; came with table and two chairs, own coffee maker and bathroom
-Is not attached to the main casita (however, this did give our guests a little more privacy, I think than if it had been attached; but if you have young children this would be a big disadvantage)

WIFI:
+I have a very old laptop, nonetheless the WiFi worked fine for me. No problems.

PROPERTY ITSELF:
+Well maintained; we always saw folks out and about cleaning the little yards around the units
+We did not use the main pool only the adult spa, but it was very clean
+Exercise room wasn't huge, but adequate and very clean
+Free mini-golf on property
+Located away from the town of Sedona so it's relatively a quiet location
-Far enough away from Sedona that you must drive everywhere
+Barbeque grill for each casita (they're charcoal and you must provide your own) however, each morning someone came by and cleaned out the ashes for us
+Trash pick up is great; just put your bag on the deck and someone whisks it away each morning
+/- Restaurant on the property which looked good but pricey
++Very friendly and helpful staff

Overall, this was not the most luxurious timeshare we've ever rented but it was adequate. For our purposes, it was conveniently located for family to visit us. We prefer to be in a more 'out of the way' location and not in the thick of things, so this was a bonus to us as well.

If you want to go on a vacation where you lounge-about indoors in luxury, this isn't the place. The casitas are cozy, quaint and VERY small -- but we like being outdoors anyway so it was fine for us.

Room Tip: The way we rented we were not given a choice as to unit. However, others have commented that those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keyboardlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    207
    65
    31
    35
See reviews for
139
255
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Yes, the units are small but sufficient in our opinion. You don't go to Sedona to spend all your time in your resort, after all. But furnishings, appliances and rooms were nice and useful -- even the queen bed in the relatively small bedroom. The restaurant (not owned or run by the resort) was slightly expensive (as most restaurants in Sedona) but we enjoyed our one meal and the Margaritas there. The pool was either closed and/or the weather was too cold to bother. Free use of laundry facilities, free wi-fi -- very rare and appreciated. Resort is outside of city limits, so further than other resorts to shopping, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bern157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOUNT HOREB
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

These separate units are perfect for a couple. They are very compact "homes" that have everything you need for a week's stay. Fully furnished kitchen, bed, bath, & living room. Lots of storage space for as small as it is. Really nice decor and well kept up. Comfortable bed. Shower was good enough, and the jacuzzi tub was very welcome after all the walking/hiking we did.

We stayed as an exchange through RCI in a 1 bdrm unit - #100 in mid-Dec. Although it says you can have 4 stay in a 1 bdrm, I wouldn't. The pullout sofa would require moving the rest of the furniture in the living room to open & you'd barely be able to get to the door then or move around the rest of the room. Would definitely have to close & reopen it every day.

Nice deck, table & chairs for each unit and a charcoal grill (we didn't use it) to share between units. Property was landscaped nicely and there were constantly staff around cleaning or doing landscaping work. The pool area looked nice, and the free mini-golf, but it was too cold to use while we were there.

Sedona Pines was just a short distance from town and close to scenic drives & hiking (Red Rock Loop and Red Rock State Park), although all of Sedona was scenic driving to us. It did have a restaurant (the Bistro), but we were only there twice. Once was for our free margaritas in the bar (very tiny, but good) and the second was for the free breakfast / info about area activities. The scrambled eggs were sitting in water in the server - not good. The french toast casserole was a better option, but still not terrific food. Staff in the bistro were very friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay at Sedona Pines again if I go back to the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOJOWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is NOT a resort in any sense of the word. It is a trailer park. The units are SO tiny that the one-bedroom is a squeeze for 2 people. Don't think you can use that pull-out couch for a 3rd! The 2 bedroom is a one bedroom unit with a little box (bed and bath) across a deck. You can't use it as a 2-bedroom unit. The front desk staff are the rudest people I've ever encountered. I have to report this to RCI, but I doubt they'd do anything about it. Our one and only family vacation was a disaster.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cstotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the resort this past week (Dec 2-9, 2012-room 313) and I agree with a lot of people. The cottages are small but very well equipped. The bedroom is small with a full wall of cabinetry to help out. Bathroom not so big either. Lots of windows though so if you want to sleep in bring a sleep mask. :) Full fridge with ice already made so that was very nice. Living room and bedroom both had tv’s . Two doors to get out to deck was awesome. the deck had a table and two chairs and a built in seat the length of the deck. Barbecue’s were briquette though so never used. There is only one parking stall per unit. Garbage pick up was daily for 10 am. They provided recycling bags as well for paper products. I believe the resort was 5-7 miles from Sedona so a car is definitely needed. It was hard to find coming from Phoenix at night and we missed the turnoff and went in to Sedona and had to turn around. Apparently the navigator wasn’t paying enough attention, or so I was told. Ha ha

The adult hot tub was big and fantastic! I think you could get 30 people standing in it maybe. Loved the fact that they stayed open until midnight. There is one unfortunate thing as our room was right next to the hottub and we TOTALLY could hear the conversations. The wall around the pool seemed to amplify the sounds instead of being a buffer. We just turned up our tv to compensate. At night it was hard to hear the fabulous creek that they have running through the property too because of the hot tub generators. They do provide plastic glasses for the pool area to use.
The laundry was okay. Washing machines worked great but had to try two dryers and neither one worked. As the other dryers were being used we just hung our stuff up in the room. They do provide a laundry basket which is at the top shelf in the bedroom. That was very nice.

Ate at the Bistro one night and the tenderloin was to die for!! Salmon good as well. The veggies left something to desire. the presentation was there though. It seemed like the veggies had been on the plate a while or something. There is new ownership as of last week at the Bistro so maybe there will be some changes that they will make. They were friendly owners. Food came very, very quick. Price was a bit expensive BUT the tenderloin was to die for!!!!! They are not open all the time and close at 8:15. They do hand out two free Margarita drink tickets and they were good although a mix only.
We had no internet problems at all. On cel or Blackberry playbook. We did use their internet in the main office as well and it was fast.
There is RV parking spots available.
We did not do any of their courses that they offer each day but there was a lot of activities to try.
Sunday night was a jewellery show. Decent prices.
We did not go to the Monday morning information session as we arrived so late Sunday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALEM
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at Sedone Pines Resort in November. The weather was cool but very sunny as expected for Arizona! The resort is wtihin 2 miles of Sedona and a very nice little resort. The "cottages" are a type of modular home and very small (399 square feet) but super comfortable for two people. The furnishing and decor are very nice and the kitchen is very well equipped with the exception of a real oven. They do have a microwave/convection oven which I really didn't like using for baking of any kind but it was certainly adquate for our needs during our stay. We didn't eat at the restaurant except for the welcome breakfast (food was good and inforamtion was helpful.) The front desk staff was helpful and when we needed maintenance they were right on it.

If a timeshare presentation is offered, DO NOT TAKE IT! The free gift isn't worth the agonizing 90+ minutes with the pushy sales people.

The two pools and spa are nice but we only used the spa once since the weather was a little chilly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montanagirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

As others have said, the "cottage" as small. They are very well-equipped and clean. But not great for a very long stay or for more than two people in the one bedroom. The bedroom is especially small with virtually no room for more than one suitcase. There are lots of built-in cabinets and drawers but the closet is very small, thus it would be difficult for a stay of longer than a week or so. It sort of is like the space one would find in an Embassy Suites, but with a fully equipped kitchen area and a much smaller bedroom. The deck and grill is a nice feature. Major drawback is that although all the units are said to have wifi - the signal is very weak and goes in and out a lot. Cellular service is non-existent, even though it is only 5 miles out of town. In case this is needed, one should also note that the Starbucks in Sedona must be the only one in the US without wifi! Rated rooms as poor only because so small. As a Hilton Grand Vacation Club member using RCI I'm very disappointed that we only seem to be able to access moderate properties out of season, nothing more luxurious. Seems like it is manipulated.
As noted, it is not hard to get into Sedona but one does need a car. It gets very dark once the sun goes down. Staff was very friendly. Only went to restaurant for last breakfast before left. It was excellent - should have probably tried it for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CNPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Sedona
Wyndham Sedona
#34 of 49 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#19 of 49 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 1,435 reviews
5.2 mi away
Poco Diablo Resort
Poco Diablo Resort
#14 of 49 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Pines Resort

Property: Sedona Pines Resort
Address: 6701 W State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9757
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#27 Family Hotel in Sedona
Hotel Class:3 star — Sedona Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sedona Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Pines Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing