We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Hidden Jewel on Oak Creek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Houses Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Houses Resort
Save
You added Forest Houses Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel on Oak Creek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I’m not sure why this place doesn’t have more reviews but my guess is that persons staying here don’t want to let folks in on their little secret. This is a really nice place!

If you’re tied to your cell phone, have to have Internet capability 24/7 and TV then look elsewhere. If not and you value a clean, comfortable cabin in a serene setting then look no further.

It is very clear that the owner takes great pride in this property.

This is not roughing it. Our cabin (Bridge House) was well equipped with all the necessary cookware, Bar-B-Que grill, and cooking utensils. Outside there’s a table, chairs and chaise lounge on the front porch overlooking beautiful Oak Creek just a few feet away.
Our bathroom was a little small but we adapted.

The property is located about 7 miles north of Sedona on Highway 89A.

We stayed with our pet.

I’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    14
    0
    4
    10
See reviews for
21
45
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The “resort” was a little smaller than I anticipated. It’s a wooded area. However, the houses are fairly close to each other and the road/driveway is narrow. I guess maybe I just expected more privacy/seclusion. We barely ran into any other guests at all and it was quiet. The guy at check-in (Tom) was friendly and loaned me a flashlight when I mentioned I didn’t bring one. We stayed in the cozy Tree House for 2 nights. The furniture was different than what was pictured on the website. Instead of a small wood frame sofa and chair there were two huge chairs. Slightly less spacious than it appeared in the picture (due to the huge chairs) but still fine for two people. The furnishings/décor was somewhat random and mismatched but the place was exceptionally clean and all kitchen items were in good condition and well organized. The back balcony needed some maintenance as the unfinished plywood floor needed fixing/replacement. Unfortunately, there wasn’t a binder in the cabin with any instructions but I washed, dried and put away the dishes which (I found out later at check-out) was expected. However, the check-out person mentioned that they rewash everything anyway after each guest. The bathroom was older but the tub tile was handmade and really cool. Not to mention, the bathroom was very clean. I didn’t use the woodstove but there was free wood nearby.

We could see and hear the cars on the highway from The Tree House which was kind of a bummer. You could almost see the creek from the house’s balcony but there appeared to be a tree/weed in the way.(We also had a view of the garden plot for a neighboring cabin (Rock House) but it seemed like it was weeds. There were areas around the property that were nicely planted/landscaped, however. There also appeared to be a nice green lawn for lawn games. We walked over to the creek and took a dip which was nice. There were lots of games and puzzles in the office that you could borrow. There was a restaurant binder in the office but we found it was a bit overstuffed and outdated.

Note the website gives a 21 day cancellation policy but the confirmation letter says 30 days.

Overall, this was a reasonably priced, basic but very clean cabin in quiet surroundings. This review is based on one 2-night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank beergarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stay here twice a year to rejuvenate, relax, and get in touch with nature. This resort is a treasure. No cell phone reception, no smart meters, no WiFi, no electronic smog. The pine trees are real and not camouflaged cell towers.
We love the creek, love the cabins (we've stayed in many different ones over the years), love the meadow and hiking trails, love Bob (the owner) and the entire staff. Of course, being just a few miles from Sedona is just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MCLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay in the Creek house. It was beautiful and the porch was so relaxing. The house was great the resort was great and Bob was wonderful. We will be going back next year. We were there in March a few days after the snow and the waterfalls were a sight to see. I just love Sedona. One day I hope to bring my 2 daughters here for a girls weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We came to Sedona for a romantic get-away. Lots of choices of where to stay. The place is quiet, simple, and clean. The area is beautiful and quiet. Most importantly, the hospitality is second to none anywhere in the world. We arrived late to find a note on the door welcoming us, the cabin had been warmed up, the lights were on, there was firewood ready for a fire, and the note said "sometime tomorrow just drop by the office and we'll finish the check-in process". The next morning we met Bob, who knew us by name, and was a friendly grandfatherly-like man; he treated us like we were family. It snowed while we were there, and there was Bob that morning in his back-hoe clearing our driveway. Our last day we wanted to get in a helicopter ride but thought we had to check out at 11. Bob said, "no problem, we don't need the cabin vacated till later today anyway" and he let us stay until 4! All the firewood, kindling, newspaper, charcoal, games, linens we could want. We stayed in the most rustic "Bridge" cabin, and it was perfect! No cell service, and this was a very pleasant inconvenience (forced me to focus on what was important and unplug). You can find luxury anywhere. But old-fashioned hospitality is a rare find. I can't imagine a more perfect place to stay and a more perfect setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mc2011a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We enjoyed our recent stay in the Tree House, a "studio" on stilts. The porch overlooked beautiful trees and flowers alongside Oak Creek, and, although you could hear traffic drive by on 89A, it was still very relaxing. The kitchen had every convenience, and the firewood station even had newspaper and kindling (although we could find no matches and were glad we happened to have some of our own). We loved the dog-friendliness of the property and hope to return with one or two of our own. About halfway between Sedona and Flagstaff, so more touristy sites were easily accessible but far enough away so that we got a sense of a true, rustic getaway. Look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatieAZ1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have been coming to Forrest Houses for over 10 years and absolutely look forward to our visits. We bring books, games and lots of food. there are great hiking trails nearby and great patios to enjoy a good book on. We always feel welcomed and Bob is very gracious. We have all of the modern convenience in a great setting. Our absolute favorite house is the cloud and we enjoy this every May. There is no AC, but this has never been an issue. The weather is always cool in the mornings and evenings.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
4.1 mi away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
1.2 mi away
Garland's Oak Creek Lodge
7.4 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Inn Above Oak Creek
8.8 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.8 mi away
Junipine Resort
Junipine Resort
#17 of 49 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Houses Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Houses Resort

Property: Forest Houses Resort
Address: 9275 N State Route 89a, Sedona, AZ 86336-9635
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#28 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Forest Houses Hotel Sedona
Forest Hotel Sedona
Forest Resort Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing