We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shady and peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fay Canyon Trail

Fay Canyon Trail
Ranked #22 of 149 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shady and peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a very pretty, easy hike that could be combined with another hike--maybe before or after Doe Mountain. No passes required, flat and short--a nice change of pace.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank belisaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    106
    27
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
metro NYC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Easy and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My mother and I hiked this trail one morning on our vacation. Neither of us are in top shape, so some friends recommended this trail. It was very easy but still very beautiful. Also, as an FYI, this is one of the only trails you do not need to buy the park pass for so it's a bargain, too!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NY_Michigander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Peaceful trail”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Nice, peaceful trail which we enjoyed hiking, but not the best Sedona hike. Also, I'm thinking the "arch" is an urban legend. We couldn't find it and we searched almost every off trail. No one else we spoke to on the trail found it either. It was fun looking, though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladydi50CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“novice hike. for the area, below average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a hike that is basically a flat walk up a canyon with only a few decent views of the canyon wall at the very end. It used to go further up the canyon, about 3 miles, but a rock slide shortened it to about a mile each way. With all the many great hikes in the Sedona area, don't waste your time on this one.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JPG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Little Hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hike is touted as an easy trail for people who just want to get out and hike around in the beautiful Red Rock Country. It is just that. The hike is easy with a slight elevation increase going into the canyon which makes for an easier trip back to the car. The trail is partially shaded and provides a great oportunity to view some good red rock formations.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank oicrnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fay Canyon Trail also viewed

 

Been to Fay Canyon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing