We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hike for all with a great rock climb (optional) at the end”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fay Canyon Trail

Fay Canyon Trail
Ranked #22 of 153 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
310 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Perfect hike for all with a great rock climb (optional) at the end”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The concierge at Best Western Sedona Inn recommended Fay Canyon - and we are so glad they did.

We are not a hiking family, but we did want to enjoy the Sedona outdoors.
This was a very basic hike thru the canyon with most of the tail with shaded trees and tall Sedona red rock in the close distance.

The best part was climbing the large rock at the end. This was our 6 year old sons favorite part to scale up the rock.

We did not wear special shoes, just basic tennis shoes and they were fine
Dont forget to bring a bottle of water for each as the round trip is about 1.5 to 2 hours.

We arrived at 10am on Thanksgiving with only 3 cars in the parking lot.
However, by the time we left at noon - the parking lot was full and the trail was quite busy.
If you want less tourists, then arrive before 10am.

Plus there is no fee for parking.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ALinCA5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    113
    29
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaforth, Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A relaxing hike.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hike is flat and the scenery very different. For a beginer or someone in not too good a shape this is ideal. Some of the rock formations are amazing.
The length of time you spend on this hike depends on how often you want to "stop and smell the roses." I found the hike very relaxing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scenic hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a nice flat hike with intermittent shade and views of the canyon until you reach the mountain. You can traverse the rock barrier below and find a narrow 2-rock gate and continue on another path. This path is not flat and has some climbing over rocks. This entire hike has great scenery. Next trip we'll attempt to climb the mountain and find the hidden arch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank zen2peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hoke fabulous sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Great beginner hike. Flat in the begining.beautiful scenary. Hidden arch. Many hideen treasures. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Apriel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This was our favorite hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hike in flat and after the about 10 minutes you begin to see the sides of the canyon. After you walk to end of the flat area, the trail goes up the canyon, after you are up about 150 feet, you get a great view of the valley below and bell rock and Court House Butte in the distance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fay Canyon Trail also viewed

 

Been to Fay Canyon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing