We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Start of the Day Hike” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fay Canyon Trail

Fay Canyon Trail
Ranked #23 of 149 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Start of the Day Hike”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hiked Fay trail early in the morning. 7am on Oct 1st. Arrived in the parking lot, which is across the street from the trail head, and chatted with a few balloon ride support teams.This was one of their check points for the morning tours.
As others have indicated the trail is flat and not very rocky and had tree covering. But you can still look up and see the ridge line as you enter the canyon. I choose an early hike so I could see the sun hit the rocks in the morning. That itself made the hike worth it. A hike doesn't have to be difficult to be enjoyed. I passed 1 couple leaving as I entered, other then them I didn't see anyone until I was in the parking lot. All together the hike, the sunrise, the picture taking and general siteseeing took no longer then 2 hours. Which gave me time to hit the Airport Mesa afterwards.
I would recommend this as a good start of the day excerise. Especially if you dont have much planned until the afternoon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010Golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    106
    27
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Too crowded like most of Sedona”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Beautiful but tight canyon and too many tourists to be enjoyable most of the time. Add to the the helicopter tours and you wont feel like you are in the wilderness. Call the USFS and complain about the noise from the aircraft.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Attavanti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Jaw dropping red rock beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Fantastic easy hike. Unbelievable beauty surrounds you. From the parking lot, continue about 3/4 mile to one of the side trails on your right (marked by a cairn). This trail leads to the impressive arch which you can climb up to. There's elevation here and the trail can be a bit unsteady with the scree in spots. It's worth it though. There are apparently some small petroglyphs around there that we did not spot. You can climb around the area but be warned, some areas can be a little dangerously steep in the scree with not much to grab onto except a cactus.

Outstanding views and the whole reason why Sedona is so popular.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great short hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

A great place to take a short hike, with sparkling rocks and trails the ground literally sparkles with the content of the sand and rock.
With easy parking opposite the trail head and well signed access the route is generally flat with a few minor dips and rises, easy walking for all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good hike to warm up for all of the other great Sedona hikes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This hike was easy and didn't really have any spectacular scenery, but it was our first hike and was a perfect warm-up for our remaining hikes. The only exciting thing was trying to find the side trail up to get a better view of the Fay Canyon Arch. We missed it on our way into the canyon so were determined to find it on the way out, which we did!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationqueen1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fay Canyon Trail also viewed

 

Been to Fay Canyon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing