We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fay Canyon Trail

Fay Canyon Trail
Ranked #22 of 153 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
319 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Easy hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was hot and dry - so take water. We packed in a small lunch to enjoy at the end. The trail of 1.1 miles has an elevation rise of only 190 feet. It ends at a big rock fall that blocks the entrance to the canyon. Adventurous people could climb over and go further. The trail ends next to a rock tower that is (maybe) 150' tall.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    113
    29
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We hiked up to the Arch, and stood on top of it for a bit. The hike to the Arch may look a bit scary, but you just have to watch where you are stepping. It is a bit aerobic but the views are well worth it. Make sure that you climb up a little bit further to the top of the arch for a truly breath taking experience. Also, make sure to take a sprig or two of the sage plant that is growing at the start of the trail from the road, to keep in your car to make it smell amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConsciousGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Never Found the Arch.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

It was a nice two mile hike. It is totally flat unless you take the fork to the arch. We tried but the trail really did not look safe. Bummed we missed the arch since it is spectacular.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bescolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“An easy and lovely walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

A simple, flat easy walk through some beautiful country and it ends at a spectacular site where one can climb higher and go further (we didn't). We're walkers, not hikers so we are not overly adventurous. My wife who loves vegetation found no end of interesting plants along the way. I wait patiently on the trail for her to continue walking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Easy trail wth options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We walked this trail twice. At the end of the trail are some big rocks to climb over--this is where we stopped. I have read that if you keep going over the rocks, there are some 'glyphs on a cliff. Also, there is an alternate path that goes to an arch. We tried this, but it became too steep for my kids. The main trail is mostly flat and easy and there are plenty of other people there--but not crowded. Parking is free here and there are some other trails by the parking lot. There is a sign saying there is heavy bear activity in the area, but we didn't see any bears or tracks either time we were there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank montyl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fay Canyon Trail also viewed

 

Been to Fay Canyon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing