We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great day hike with outstanding views”

Bear Mountain Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.83*
and up
Sedona Red Rocks Jeep Adventure
Ranked #30 of 153 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
boston, ma
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great day hike with outstanding views”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hike is on the moderate to stenuous side, but well worth it. Make sure that you get to the top, it feels like you are at the top fairly early, but it keeps going, up and down for quite a bit until the actual summit. The trail is well marked with cairns and at the summit, you have 360 degree views including the San Francisco peak.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dreamplango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    27
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Hike of the Trip”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were in Phoenix as well and climbed/hiked Camelback. If you love Camelback - this is a must-do. This is a must-do for anyone who likes a strenuous hike with some challenging uphill parts. The view is not to be beat. Either go for the full round trip or opt for 3/4 of the way up which ends up on a plateau/mesa. The views even from 3/4 of the way up are breathtaking. You never feel that you are in danger - you are not hiking along cliffside - you are heading straight up.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Bear kicked our butts.”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great trail but not for the meek.Wilderness and elevation gain make this a tough trail.Trail is not marked the best so keep your eyes open for cairns.Excellent views from all over on this trail.Take plenty of water and have sturdy hiking shoes.A word of caution, tougher coming down then going up.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Strenuous not treacherous even with kids”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a long hike. We did it with three kids ages 8, 9, and 11. The guide stated it would take 5 hours and we did it in 4.75 hours. At no point in time were there drop offs that were dangerous and as long as you stuck with the trail things were safe. We had five people and five 24 ounce bottles of water with a gatorade. We hiked in March where the temperature was 65 degrees and we had just enough water. DEFINITELY BRING ALOT OF WATER. The path was mostly marked with white arrows and every 15 minutes we paused for thirty seconds to make sure we were still on the trail. I think it gets dangerous when you venture off the trail. The trail keeps going higher and higher and it's deceptive. Every time you think you're at the top your not and it keeps climbing. The only injury was my eight year old got a good scrape on her leg.
The views are absolutely SPECTACULAR and well worth the effort to the top.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Spiro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bear Mt is a bear”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great hike but it is a tough one so be prepared. Great views and would recommend the hike but you better be in shape!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kgrotenhuis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Mountain Trail also viewed

 

Been to Bear Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing