We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic native American art jam packed and passionately curated!”
Review of Kachina House

Kachina House
Ranked #2 of 112 Shopping in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kachina House in Sedona is the largest distributor of Native American art and artifacts in Arizona. Our 5,000 square foot showroom/warehouse in West Sedona, nestled among the famous red rocks, offers pottery including Horsehair, Acoma, Hopi, Navajo, Santa Clara, and Zuni; artifacts; jewelry; Hopi Traditional "Old Style" Katsinas and Hopi Full-Figure Contemporary Katsinas; Navajo Kachinas; Hopi Baskets; sand paintings; original art; prints; and much more. Our authentic native products made in the Southwest are signed and/or come with Certificates of Authenticity. We have also expanded and now carry gourd art by Robert Rivera as well as Mata Ortiz handbuilt pottery from Mexico. We are your source for arts and crafts from the greater southwest.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic native American art jam packed and passionately curated!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We found this place tucked away in the neighborhood near the secluded Adobe Grand Villas. It seemed off the beaten path and we wondered who visited there. Well it turns out, lots of people know about it and you should too. Patty snd the sisters are intimately familiar with every object in the packed six rooms and will enthusiastically guide any new visitor through the intricate collection of Navajo, Hopi, Anasazi, Zuni and other tribal works.many of them precious, many of them one of a kind beautifully crafted works.

We bought two Hopi Katsinas and two fetishes, each unique and by named artists. Patty shipped them to us and they arrived within 36 hours in perfect condition.

Not a souvenir store, but a personalized art experience. If you buy, get the trip advisor discount. If you don't, enjoy the beautiful work, the.shopkeepers. And tell your friends to go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gorobingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    5
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Native American art”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Beautiful work done by local artists (except for well-marked pieces). Helpful, friendly staff. Huge range of prices suitable for all budgets. Took our three kids here to buy their souveniers instead of uptown. One Kachina doll, one bone knife and a hatchet (yes, we remembered to check those!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank audreyerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Gem in the red rocks”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I'm so glad I found this shop! The sisters were wonderful, friendly and easy totalk with. I've never had so many beautiful choices of authentic Native American art! When I win the lottery, this is my first stop. It is also top,of my Xmas wish list for presents. Hint hint my lovely family. It was great shopping and talking with you Pittsburgh gals. Thanks again, the Philadelphia gals. Go eagles!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Native American store that I have ever visited!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

While honeymooning in Sedona my husband and I checked out the Kachina House. We are so glad that we did! The shop sells a very wide variety of authentic Native American items. They sell everything from pottery, Kachinas, jewelry, rugs, dream catchers, spears and on and on the list could go. There is absolutely nothing kitschy or touristy about this store. They take great care to ensure that the items that they sell really are made by Native Americans. This is a wholesale store, so their prices are very reasonable. I have visited the Heard Museum store, as well as many other stores that sell authentic Native American items, and the Kachina House beats them all. Not only is this a great store, but it is also a wonderful place to visit to learn more about the Native American culture. The ladies that work there are not only super nice and friendly, but they are also very knowledgeable in Native American culture and are more than happy to share their expertise with you. So whether you want to purchase some souvenirs, are a collector of Native American items, or would like to learn more about the Native American culture, be sure to check out the Kachina House. You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“#1 shop/stop for authentic Native American pottery, jewelry, weavings, spiritual figures and anything else Native in the Sedona/”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited Kachina House while on our Honeymoon in Sedona. The owners were extremely kind, helpful and genuine. This store sells wholesale Native American Art. No tourist mark-ups, no false advertisement of Native American items, and not an ounce of gimmicks. THIS SHOP IS A MUST SEE IN SEDONA!!!!! Amazing quality, nothing compares to it. Easy to find right off 89A, turn onto Tortilla Rd- close to Safeway! We went to the Kachina House on our 1st day and returned again on our last day to purchase a couple more christmas ornaments for family because nothing else compared. I don't know how else to convince you to go- amazing pieces of affordable art, 6 fascinating rooms which you can get a tour and description of different types of Native work, and unbeatable quality and prices. A HIDDEN GEM IN SEDONA!!! Thank you again !!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JelDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kachina House also viewed

 

Been to Kachina House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing