We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to View Sunset”
Review of Airport Mesa

Airport Mesa
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.39*
and up
Sedona Red Rock Highlights Jeep Tour Including Cathedral Rock
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Scenic Sedona Tour
Ranked #13 of 158 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Place to View Sunset”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The best place to view sunset is to climb the rocks on the left side of the road. on the first overview of Sedona. Get there early or you won't find a place to parkd

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovetotravelPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,358
    556
    178
    30
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must do for panaramic photos”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

In these days of the internet. the best advice still came from the Park Rangers who know these areas so well. Butch in the Oak Creek Canyon visitors centre told us about this and the view from the Chapel. Both worthwhile.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank shortstraws-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Airport sunset”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very nice place to get to. Beauitful sunset. We did not hike up to the vortex. Not a lot of parking for the vortex hike. You can park at the airport and then do the hike.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Different kind of sunset”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Depending on where you come from, you may be expecting a different kind of sunset. At first, we were looking forward to the beautiful sunrise/sunset in Sedona. But as we watched a few we realized that the lack of humidity and moisture in the air means a much less colorful sunset than what we were expecting.

The airport mesa is a beautiful lookout. We went about 45 minutes before sunset and the lot was just starting to fill up. It was a great view of the city and we did watch the sunset. But it was just watching the sun go down...no beautiful sky changes. No charge, not a long drive, easy access, just walk across the street from the parking lot and you are there, so no great loss if you aren't overly thrilled with it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank enelrahce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Am I missing something?”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved Sedona, but must say I was disappointed in the sunsets. I have read that the beauty is in the changes of color, but although this may offend some, I was not impressed. I have seen such glorious sunsets in Florida and expected to be awed in Sedona.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airport Mesa also viewed

 

Been to Airport Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing