We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Nice hike- longer than expected

Great hike - but we ended up doing a huge loop all the way to the Chapel of the Holy Cross. The end... read more

Reviewed May 11, 2019
staceyp87
,
San Diego, California
Little horse

What a great trail to start off our trip! Not difficult at all. I do recommend going up to... read more

Reviewed April 26, 2019
KatHartman
,
Oneonta, New York
Read all 249 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Sedona
from $218.60
More Info
from $122.22
More Info
Sedona Vortex Tour
155 Reviews
from $98.26
More Info
from $25.00
More Info
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
193
45
8
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
193
45
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken great hike bell rock moderate hike elevation changes parking lot holy cross broken arrow easy hike elevation gain miles round trip courthouse butte red rocks cathedral rock beautiful vistas ranger station pink jeep tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 249 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Unbelievable views throughout but amazing once you reach Chicken Point.

Date of experience: March 2012
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

After losing my way around some of Sedona"s trails, I was very pleased with this trail. My husband and I headed towards Chicken Point and got a close and awesome view of what some locals call the "two nuns" as well as the famous Chapel. This trail offers inclines to give you a good workout with both smooth and rocky paths. It has enough cairns to keep you on the right track. In my opinion it is not as scenic as Bell Rock Pathway, but I am curious to see what this trail has to offer when it has water on the creeks. Waterfalls? Swimming holes?

Date of experience: January 2012
Thank Mercy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is a beautiful easy-to-moderate hike (2-3 hours roundtrip) that will take you up between Bell Rock and Chapel Rock to Chicken Point for a spectacular vista. Mountain bikes can also be used on the path.

Although it has easy access (just off 179 north of Oak Creek) with vistas of Cathedral, Bell, Courthouse and Chapel rocks, it is rarely crowded. I've hiked this trail at different times of the year and rarely meet more than a few hikers/bikers in the morning.

Before you go, make sure to stop at the Red Rock ranger station just south of Oak Creek on 179 for some great hiking tips and maps, as well as the $5 day permit for the trailheads.

Afterwards (or for anyone in your party worried about the climb), there is another trail (easy, level) leaving from the same parking area that will take you around bell rock and courthouse butte. It's about the same distance, but little elevation change.

Toilet facility at the trail head is no-flush.

For another great trail in a different part of the red rock district, try Doe Mountain trail.

Date of experience: May 2011
2  Thank Crapgame2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Started at Little Horse to Chicken Point, back down trail doing a loop to llama trail to Bell Rock Trail to Mystic Trail back to Little Horse Trail. Not challenging, rocky at parts, vistas breathtaking, horses/bikers also on the paths. Magical!

Date of experience: November 2011
1  Thank lyfeworksjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Great views. Good for middle-aged hikers. We ended up at the same place as the pink jeep tours.

Date of experience: October 2011
1  Thank PhiladelphiaMicromom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews