We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great motel would stay again”
Review of Sedona Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sedona Motel
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great motel would stay again”
Reviewed October 31, 2008

owner very friendly, uncomplicated, and knowledgeable about the region - I went on all the recommended hikes he gave me the first night, and they were wonderful. I got a room with a silent fridge, one that does not go on and off the whole night. payment in advance requested. Room heated up quickly (it was December). AC is located in the back room and does not blow onto the beds. For this reason alone I'd stay there also in summer. Very pretty view of snoopy rock out the front window, pointing east, sun rising above. Walking distance to uptown Sedona (3-15 minutes, then you're at the North end) and to a very pretty hiking area at the foot of snoopy rock. Several breakfast/coffee places with free wireless only one block towards uptown, a 3 min walk across the crossing and up the stairs to a little shopping area. My forever choice for Sedona. I've looked at other motels and this is by far the best location.

  • Liked — friendly careful owner
  • Disliked — no wireless, but cafes are close
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank scmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    110
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
65
183
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Smith Arkansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

This is our second stay at the Sedona Motel. We also experienced the 'late night partiers' on Sep 13th. I suggest the owner Bill put his cell phone number in the rooms. He was very apologetic and immediately said we should have called him. The group checked out so it wasn't an issue. We stayed 3 nights. It's always clean and it just feels 'comfortable'. Twice we sat on the balcony and gazed at Snoopie' (rock formations) and had a glass of wine. The owner Bill is extremely pleasant and helpful with recommendations on 'local' things to do and where to eat. We ate at the 'Raw food' place one night just to try it. The food was pretty good and it was fun!. One night we asked for a simple pizza and beer place. Bill recommended the 'Hideaway' right across the street. It was excellent and we got 20% off!!

Check out the Magic shop next door... good for kid gifts.

The Sedona Motel is what Sedona is all about.

  • Liked — relaxing !!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank perkark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stayed at Sedona Motel for 1 night. It was very nice and clean but do not get the room by the patio. Not really the motels fault but- very noisy guests on patio kept us up from 2:30AM-5AM! This was a Saturday night and they were probably coming from a bar but this is no excuse for rudeness. Rooms were comfortable, clean and they have a fridge and microwave. Bill, the host, was very helpful and informative. Over all I would recommend this motel.

  • Liked — Clean, well kept rooms, location
  • Disliked — noisy guests, parking
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank adrenlinejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

I picked this little motel because of the reviews on this site. They were right! It was affordable, peaceful, clean, quiet. Just what we needed. The parking lot was a little strange...if you had a big van you would have a bit of trouble if you were parked at the far end. The views were great and the covered patio right outside our room (we were on the end) was nice. Sedona was quite expensive, the restaurants, the shops. It was nice to save a bit of money on lodging so I could spend more on Zuni jewelry!

I have always said I would never move to Arizona. Too much brown, too many critters that bite,crawl, and creep me out. Then we went to Sedona. I loved the area! It was so beautiful, peaceful and tranquil. Made me think twice...but, must admit, great place to visit, not for me to live there. Want to go back! Just couldn't get enough of those red rocks!

  • Liked — the price, the location, the view
  • Disliked — not their fault - road construction right outside motel
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCBMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

I contacted many, more pricey, hotels in Sedona, about my serious allergies to chemical vapors. I have a chemical injury in my respiratory system, and can't inhale even the slightest chemical perfumes or fragrances. I needed the hotel I was to stay to allow me to bring my own sheets, blankets, and towels, and asked that they don't shampoo the rugs with any fragranced rug cleaner, prior to my arrival. No other hotel in the area was willing to help with my issue. The owners of the Sedona Motel were very compassionate, thoughtful, and went out of their way to make my 5 night stay very comfortable. They had the room shampooed with water only, and had the room stripped of all linens and soaps prior to my arrival. I had 5 nights of healthy sleeping, and no respiratory problems.

The Sedona Motel is located within a half block of the "Y", which makes it accessible to everything in the area. The rooms are clean and the bed was very comfortable. They have maps of the area in the lobby, with directions to all the sites, and have menus to many of the local restaurants, that you can look at before you go out. The view of the red rocks from the motel parking lot is awesome too! You can see Snoopy Rock and Teapot Rock, very clearly, and a few other towering spires that I don't know the names of.

The owners and staff were all friendly and helpful

If you don't mind that they don't have a pool, and you are looking for a comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay, do yourself a favor and save some cash and stay at the Sedona Motel!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank PeaceChannel711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

The Sedona Motel is right at the Y, where 179 and 89A meet. A superb location when wanting to travel by foot to restaurants, shops, Tlaquepaque and more and a quick drive to nearby rock formations. Bill, the host, was wonderful in providing information on where to eat, where to hike, and everything in between. The rooms aren't fancy but they have all the accommodations I needed and more, such as a closet to hang up clothes along with iron and ironing board, a cool fridge, microwave and coffee maker, a full size bath and hair dryer, and more. For a great value and great location, plus warm and intelligent staff I would definitely recommend the Sedona Motel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Allumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

I stayed here March 6-10 while I attended an Angel Workshop at the Sedona Creative Life Center which is less than a 5 minute drive away. This no-frills motel is perfectly situated in the heart of Sedona with easy access to wherever you want to go. I was warmly greeted by a lovely lady named Eliah (not sure if I spelled that right! It's pronounced Aleeya!). She is also who I spoke with to book my room. She happily answered any questions I had and even lent me the hotel's book about the Vortexes!

I paid $109 per night and had room #30, which has two double beds. The room was neat, clean, smoke-free and had everything I needed for my stay there - including a mini-fridge and microwave. I turned the t.v. on when I got there, just for kicks really, and the picture was horrible, LOL! It didn't bother me a bit though because I didn't care to watch t.v. at all during my stay.

Overall, I had a great experience and would definitely stay here again! I posted pictures and would be happy to answer any questions anyone may have! =)

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — All of the single rooms were booked, so I had to go with the double.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Amberlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona
0.1 mi away
Cedars Resort
Cedars Resort
#44 of 48 in Sedona
223 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Views Inn Sedona
The Views Inn Sedona
#13 of 48 in Sedona
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Petite Sedona
La Petite Sedona
#45 of 48 in Sedona
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Portal Sedona Hotel
El Portal Sedona Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sedona
547 reviews
5.9 mi away
Desert Quail Inn
Desert Quail Inn
#6 of 48 in Sedona
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Motel

Property: Sedona Motel
Address: 218 State Route 179, Sedona, AZ 86336-6114
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sedona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sedona Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona Motel is a small family owned and operated property located in the heart of Sedona. We are dedicated to providing each guest information on the remarkable natural beauty of the Sedona area. We are walking distance to restaurants and shopping areas and have great views of the red rocks from our covered patio. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. As members of the Green Hotels Association since 2005 we are helping to preserve the natural beauty of Sedona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sedona Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing