We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Definitely very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sedona Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sedona Motel
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definitely very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I arrived at the Sedona Motel with a migraine. The owners were very helpful. I went right to bed and was able to get the room dark, cool, and quiet. The room was comfortable and affordable for the location. Thanks to the owners' suggestions, I was able to go hiking in the morning, and the checkout time was late enough so that I could shower afterward. Without a doubt, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank National_park_fan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    102
    19
    2
    5
See reviews for
61
174
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

With a little thoughtfulness and effort, this could be, well, I guess it would still be a low end motel. The owner, Bill, ,was a nice enough guy, but put us in a room next to a room that was undergoing renovation. We were assured that noise would not be a problem, and that the crew would not be starting work until after 9 the next morning. He was a little off there. The tile guy showed up around 6:30am, backed his pickup right up to our door and opened up the tailgate. There was a noisy faucet under our window, the worker kept running buckets of water and and carting them to the room next door. The other workers showed up around 8am. When we complained about the noise, Bill apparently thought complaints about noise were amusing and laughed in our faces. He did however, move us to a quieter room. This place does have a good location going for it, but that's about it. There are a lot of other places to stay in Sedona, I would suggest trying one of them.

Room Tip: Try another hotel! If you feel compelled to stay here, be sure to ask about construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jho2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedonamotel, Owner at Sedona Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We would like to thank our guests for their understanding and support during the recent renovations and through Bill's injury (he's healing nicely)!

In addition, we are pleased to announce that the renovations are over! (Please check out the new pictures.) Unfortunately the construction ran about six weeks longer than we expected. New carpet, new, furniture, new fixtures, fresh paint - it all takes awhile. Guests have been very pleased with the results.

We apologize that the guest mistook Bill's jovial nature for anything less than concern. As stated, the guest was immediately moved to a different room. There did not seem to be any further distress for the rest of his stay. Sedona is so breathtakingly beautiful and lovely that most people allow their troubles to fade away.

As always, we strive to offer quality accommodations (hence the renovations) at a reasonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here based on reviews. Don't stay anywhere else. Clean rooms right in the middle of town within walking distance to the best shopping and restaurants. Price is perfect. Bill and his wife were so helpful on what to do. Because of them we changed our route and ended up being able to "see" the Grand Canyon during the monsoon season. Stayed Friday night, went to canyon Saturday. Came back and stayed again Monday night. You can't go wrong here!!!! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here based on other reviews. Very glad we did as superb views of sedona hills, location good for restaurants and shops, all within walking distance. Clean, comfortable rooms and professional friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Grand Canyon and decided to add Sedona to our trip. We selected this motel based on location and price. What a gem! Our King bed room was spacious, very clean and quiet. The views are spectacular and it is in walking distance to the best of Sedona. The owner Bill was friendly and helpful and the cleaning staff were great! Our spacious room had all the amenities and an updated bathroom. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Outstanding value!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KingstonRhoderunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon Sedona Motel on our honeymoon road trip and were very pleased with the friendly manager, location and reasonably priced quiet room.
Clean and tidy with a decent sized queen bed, fast free Wifi connection, large TV, fridge/freezer, microwave, coffee machine, bath/shower and hairdryer. Sweet little covered patio area to relax in at the end of the terrace too. Best view of 'Snoopy Rock' in town!
We extended our stay in Sedona by an extra night due to the sheer beauty of the area and the relaxed vibe.
The manager had excellent local knowledge and we can attribute our lovely visit to his enthusiastic advice! Whoever said the manager was creepy may just be a miserable soul unused to encountering joy in others...
Check out Sound Bites for live music, tasty food and good wine. We went to an organic Italian restaurant the next night and it was meh. Who puts sweetened walnuts in a pear & walnut salad?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmelineLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just got back from a great week in Sedona, last several years have move from high dollar low value Hotel/Motels to a nice secret, the Sedona Motel is clean well run, great family owned motel. The owner is informed on the local area and more than helpful. Highly recommend the Sedona Motel. Mel

Room Tip: All the rooms offer quite, clean, good sleeping. Patio on end gives you a nice view of the setting s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedona hotels
0.4 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
5.2 mi away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#28 of 49 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedars Resort
Cedars Resort
#38 of 49 in Sedona
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Views Inn Sedona
The Views Inn Sedona
#12 of 49 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Vista Motel
La Vista Motel
#42 of 49 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Sedona
Days Inn Sedona
#30 of 49 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Motel

Property: Sedona Motel
Address: 218 State Route 179, Sedona, AZ 86336-6114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sedona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sedona Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedona Motel is a small family owned and operated property located in the heart of Sedona. We are dedicated to providing each guest information on the remarkable natural beauty of the Sedona area. We are walking distance to restaurants and shopping areas and have great views of the red rocks from our covered patio. Each room has a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker. As members of the Green Hotels Association since 2005 we are helping to preserve the natural beauty of Sedona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sedona Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Sedona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing